Kristine Kathryn Rusch Books

Author Kristine Kathryn Rusch has written many things, in many different pen names, some of which under her own; something that has led her to win quite a few awards for. She writes mainstream, romance (Kristine Grayson), science fiction, fantasy, non-fiction (one that includes a book about writing), and mystery (Kris Nelscott); which by the way, is just about every genre there is out there. Her husband, Dean Wesley Smith is also a writer, and together have written some things together that they publish under the names of Kathryn Wesley or Sandy Schofield. Her fictional work is published in over ten languages and over ten countries around the world. She has also worked as an editor.

Order of Black Throne Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Black Queen 1999
2 The Black King 2000

Order of Diving Universe Series

Order of Fates Series

Order of Kristine Kathryn Rusch Non-Fiction Books

Order of Kristine Kathryn Rusch Short Story Collections

Order of Kristine Kathryn Rusch Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Looking for Miriam (Short Story) 1989
2 The White Mists of Power 1991
3 The Midbury Lake Incident (Short Story) 1991
4 Afterimage 1992
5 Heart Readers 1993
6 Alien Influences 1994
7 Sins of the Blood 1994
8 Hitler's Angel 1998
9 Aftershock 1998
10 Coolhunting 2001
11 Boz 2005
12 The Moorhead House 2010
13 Stille Nacht (Short Story) 2010
14 The Taste of Miracles (Short Story) 2010
15 Doubting Thomas (Short Story) 2010
16 Substitutions (Short Story) 2010
17 Recovering Apollo 8 2011
18 Traitors 2011
19 Safety Tests (Short Story) 2012
20 Killer Advice 2012
21 The Tower 2013
22 Little Miracles (Short Story) 2013
23 Sing (Short Story) 2013
24 Snipers 2013
25 Spree 2013
26 Show Trial (Short Story) 2013
27 The Enemy Within 2014
28 The Last Surviving Gondola Widow (Short Story) 2015
29 The Streets Where We Live (Short Story) 2015
30 Embedded (Short Story) 2015
31 The First Step (Short Story) 2015
32 After the Wedding (Short Story) 2016
33 Un-Familiar (Short Story) 2016

Order of Oregon Coast / Seavy Village Series

Order of Retrieval Artist Series

Order of Smokey Dalton Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Dangerous Road 2000
2 Smoke-Filled Rooms 2001
3 Thin Walls 2002
4 Stone Cribs 2004
5 War at Home 2005
6 Days of Rage 2006

Order of Star Trek: New Earth Series

# Read Title Published
1 Thin Air 2000

Order of Star Wars Universe Series

# Read Title Published
1 The New Rebellion 1996
2 Diplomatic Corps Entrance Exam 1997

Order of The Fey Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Sacrifice 1995
2 The Changeling 1996
3 The Rival 1997
4 The Resistance 1998
5 Victory 1998

Order of X-Men Series

# Read Title Published
1 X-Men 2000


Print: Print PDF

She writes novels that take place in the “Star Trek” universe. Some of these novels are in the original line, some are from “Enterprise”, “Voyager”, “Next Generation”, and “Deep Space Nine” lines. Rusch also pens “The Fey” series, the “Retrieval Artist” series, and some stand alone works. Rusch’s work has also found its way onto the USA Today bestseller list as well as other ones.


Rusch’s work has won quite a few awards for her works. Kristine Kathryn Rusch is a Hugo Award Best Novellette winner for her story “Millennium Babies” in the year 2001. She would an Endeavour Award in 2003 for “The Disappeared. “Recovering Apollo 8” was awarded Sidwise Award for Alternate History in the short form in 2008 and won an Asimov Readers Choice Award. It also got a Hugo nomination As editor of Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, she won a Hugo for Best Professional Editor. Rusch and Smith won a World Fantasy Award in the year 1989 for editing a hardback version of Pulphouse Magazine. Her short fiction has been selected for eighteen different best of the year compilations. She has won and been nominated for so many awards and prizes that this is just a summary of them all, as she has many more that could be listed.


This section is to help readers who want to get into Rusch’s work do so. This will provide a summary of these novels: “Buried Deep”, “Paloma”, and “The Sacrifice”.

“Buried Deep”

This is the fourth book in the “Retrieval Artist” series that was released in the year 2005. Aisha Costard, who works as a forensic anthropologist, is called to Mars so that she can look at human remains that are found under a building that is being worked on by Disty aliens. The remains belong to someone that took off with her kids thirty years ago. Aisha is believed to be a kind of outlaw that are wanted by alien civilizations for crimes known as the Disappeared. Aisha calls on Miles Flint, a Retrieval Artist for help in the case. He uncovers a secret while looking into things that could mess up the stability of the entire solar system.


This is the fifth book in the “Retrieval Artist” series that was released in the year 2006. Miles Flint helps those who are oppressed by the Earth Alliance, and Disappeared. He is loyal and owes his life to one woman whose name is Paloma. She set him on the right path, and now she has been murdered. Paloma sends out a desperate call to him but it reaches him too late for him to be able to help her. The indifferent police force does not really care about investigating the case and does not want the assistance that he has to offer them. He decides that the only way that the killer can be brought to justice is to look into things on his own. He finds that there is a connection between her death and a large law firm on the Moon. There are ruthless executives there and a secret that they would be willing to kill to keep.

“The Sacrifice”

This is the first novel in “The Fey” series that was released in the year 1995. The Fey are quite unstoppable, as they have gone through three continents and have never faced defeat from anyone. They have taken their talents to the Blue Isle, where they find people of faith and simplicity and are untainted by war. The people of the island face invasion and they find a power they did not know that they had within them. This begins the war that will destroy one or both of them.