The Fey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Fey is a series of epic fantasy romance novels written by Kristine Kathryn Rusch. The books were first published in the early 1990s and they introduced readers to a world where the Fey had conquered half the world.

Get notified when Kristine Kathryn Rusch releases a new book at

Order of The Fey Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sacrifice ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1995 Description / Buy
2 The Changeling ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1996 Description / Buy
3 The Rival ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1997 Description / Buy
4 The Resistance ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1998 Description / Buy
5 Victory ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1998 Description / Buy
6 The Black Queen ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 1999 Description / Buy
7 The Black King ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2000 Description / Buy
8 The Reflection on Mount Vitaki (Short Story) ( By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2022 Description / Buy
9 The Kirilli Matter (By: Kristine Kathryn Rusch) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jewel is the granddaughter of The Black King. The Black King rules the Fey, a race of beings who possess magical powers. When readers first meet her in The Sacrifice, the first of the Fey novels, Jewel has accompanied her grandfather on his journey to the Blue Isles.

For centuries, their magical gifts made the Fey the most powerful tribe in the world. And under the leadership of figures like the Black King, the Fey saw fit to dominate others with their power.

When the Fey series first kicks off, the Fey have an empire that spans half the world. However, their vast dominion has done little to quench their thirst for conquest. They intend to bring the other half of their land under Fey control.

When Jewel and the Black King set off for the Blue Isles, they do not expect to encounter much of a challenge. The denizens of the Blue Isle are just humans; frail people with no significant means of fighting off the Fey assault.

They were such a none-threatening kingdom for the Fey that it came as quite the shock when the Blue Isles not only countered the Fey assault against their borders but they actually succeeded in repelling the Black King’s armies.

It took some time but the Fey eventually discovered that the humans had a special power of their own, one that mirrored that of the Fey in some fashion and which granted them access to incredible gifts when push came to shove and their lives where threatened.

The Sacrifice sets the stage for the Fey series as a whole. It lays out the nature of the Fey, their traditions, cultures and philosophies; the book also provides a glimpse into the lives of the humans on the Blue Isle and the power that makes them such a threat to the Fey.

The rest of the series then busies itself with exploring the conflict that eventually breaks out between the Fey and the Blue Isles; the attempts at peace that follow once the Fey realize that the people of the Blue Isles can match them in strength.

This book uses multiple POVs from both sides of the conflict. The author makes an effort to make her warring armies sympathetic by delving into the personal lives of some of the key players.

The Fey series has been commended for creating a decent balance of War and Romance. It has also been criticized for being overly long.

The Fey novels must be read in order. They tell a singular story, though Rusch will take detours from time to time.

Best The Fey Books

The Fey books are designed to appeal to readers that enjoy action and fantasy but who also want a little bit of romance in their stories, with some of the best novels in the series including:

The Rival: A long time ago, the Fey were the undisputed power of the world. Then they tried to make their conquest of the land complete and, in the process, encountered the Blue Isle, an island of seemingly weak humans whose magical strength matched their own.

With their invasion stalled, attempts were made to broker a peace between the Fey and the Blue Isle. And for a little while, that kept the Fey at bay. But War is here once more.

And King Rugad has every intention of finishing what was started so long ago.

Victory: The Black King of the Fey has never wavered in his determination to see the Blue Isle conquered. For a while, an uneasy truce succeeded in keeping the inevitable at bay. But now that the Blue Isles are in mortal danger, its people must take drastic measures.

They have a weapon, one that could destroy the Black King. But uncertainty surrounds its capabilities. No one knows if this weapon will destroy the Black King or grant his people ultimate power.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another great read is the “Hidden Saga” Series by Amy Patrick. Ryann Caroll was just another seventeen-year-old girl trying to survive her parent’s messy divorce in a small town in the south. Then she stumbled upon a mysterious boy; the same boy who saved her life years ago; a boy she thought didn’t exist and who, it turns out, is a member of an ancient race from the time of myths and legends.

You should also enjoy the “Return of the Elves” Series by Bethany Adams. These novels explore the lives of the elves and the fae, magical beings living outside the mortal realm, doing what they can to survive the supernatural threats that lurk in their world even as they strive to find those souls they are destined to bond with.

What Is The Next Book in The Fey Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Fey Series. The newest book is The Kirilli Matter and was released on February, 21st 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *