Laurie R King Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Laurie R. King is a renowned American fiction author. King was born on September 19th, 1952 in Oakland, California. She schooled in California and earned a bachelor’s degree in Comparative Religion from the University of California, Santa Cruz in the year 1977. Laurie R. King proceeded for her masters and eventually graduated with a Master in Theology in 1984 from the Theological Union graduate school. While doing her masters, she formulated a thesis on Feminine Aspects of Yahweh. Later, Laurie R. King received an honorary doctorate from the Church Divinity School of the Pacific. Laurie R. King was married to a historian Noel Quinton King and together have two children, Zoe and Nathan. Until he met his death in 2009, the couple resided in Watsonville, California, the hills above Monterey Bay at the southeast of Santa Cruz.

Order of Kate Martinelli Series

1A Grave Talent 1993Description / Buy
2To Play the Fool 1995Description / Buy
3With Child 1996Description / Buy
4Night Work 2000Description / Buy
5The Art of Detection 2006Description / Buy
6Beginnings (Short Story) 2019Description / Buy

Order of Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series

1The Beekeeper's Apprentice 1994Description / Buy
2A Monstrous Regiment of Women 1995Description / Buy
3A Letter of Mary 1996Description / Buy
4The Moor 1998Description / Buy
5O Jerusalem 1999Description / Buy
6Justice Hall 2002Description / Buy
7The Game 2004Description / Buy
8Locked Rooms 2005Description / Buy
9The Language of Bees 2009Description / Buy
10The God of the Hive 2010Description / Buy
11Beekeeping for Beginners (Short Story) 2011Description / Buy
12Pirate King 2011Description / Buy
13Garment of Shadows 2012Description / Buy
14Dreaming Spies 2015Description / Buy
15The Marriage of Mary Russell 2016Description / Buy
16The Murder of Mary Russell 2016Description / Buy
17Mary Russell's War 2016Description / Buy
18Island of the Mad 2018Description / Buy
19Riviera Gold 2020Description / Buy
20Castle Shade 2021Description / Buy

Order of Harris Stuyvesant Series

1Touchstone 2007Description / Buy
2The Bones of Paris 2013Description / Buy

Order of Folly Island Series

1Folly 2001Description / Buy

Order of Laurie R. King Standalone Novels

1A Darker Place 1998Description / Buy
2Keeping Watch 2003Description / Buy
3Califia's Daughters 2004Description / Buy
4My Thesis Being... (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
5Lockdown 2017Description / Buy

Order of Laurie R. King Short Stories/Novellas

1Hellbender 2011Description / Buy
2Mila's Tale 2014Description / Buy

Order of Laurie R. King Non-Fiction Books

1The Arvon Book of Crime and Thriller Writing 2012Description / Buy
2Laurie R. King's Sherlock Holmes 2013Description / Buy

Laurie R. King Anthologies

1 Wild Crimes2004Description / Buy
2 Unusual Suspects2008Description / Buy
3 A Study in Sherlock2011Description / Buy
4 Writes of Passage: Adventures on the Writer's Journey2014Description / Buy
5 Echoes of Sherlock Holmes2016Description / Buy
6 For the Sake of the Game2018Description / Buy
7 In League with Sherlock Holmes2020Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Laurie R. King was the bestselling New York times author with 25 novels among other standalone books. King released her first book, A Grave Talent in 1993 which won her multiple awards. Laurie R. King is the brains behind numerous series, standalone novels, and other nonseries books. Her writing genre is mainly mysteries and thrillers, gay and lesbian write-ups and historical fiction novels. Among King’s best performing works include the series Mary Russell featuring Sherlock Holmes, Kate Martinelli series and Harris Stuyvesant and Bennett Grey series. Some of her recent standalone books include keeping watch and Califia’s Daughter.

Laurie R. King Awards

Laurie R. King has received multiple awards which clearly shows that she is among some of the best authors in the industry. Her first book, A Grave Talent, won the Edgar Award being the best first novel in 1994, one year after its release and the John Creasey Memorial Award in 1995. Other awards won by Laurie R. King include: The Nero Award in 1996 for her novel A Monstrous Regimen of Women, The Macavity awards in 2002 won by the novel The Folly, The Lambda Award for the best Lesbian mystery won by the novel The Art of Detection in 2007 and The Agatha Award in 2015 for her historical novel, Dreaming Spies. Besides this, Laurie R. King was also nominated for two Anthonys, a Barry, Two Edgars, four RT Reviewers’ Choice awards, Orange prize and another Macavity.

Laurie R. King Books into Movies

None of the books authored by Laurie R. King have been adapted to movies and feature films.

Best Laurie R. King Books

The Beekeeper’s Apprentice: The first installment of Laurie R. King’s series, Mary Russell. The Mary Russel series, has 14 installments, with the first installment introducing Sherlock Homes, a 54-year retired beekeeper residing in Sussex Downs. Mary is the other main character in the book living with her aunt, whom she doesn’t get along well. She is a 15-year young, witty and intelligent woman. Despite being retired, Sherlock is still sharp and assists the police in solving simple, local cases. The two meet as Mary was wandering downhill reading Virgil while Sherlock tenders his bees. Sherlock notices this woman and immediately identifies that she is like-minded.

Mary and Sherlock develop a relationship each learning from one another. Despite her young age, Mary becomes the sidekick to Sherlock, learning all the tricks Sherlock learned during his tenure. Mary starts as an apprentice and quickly wades her way up to being not only equal to Sherlock but also someone of immense value to him. Sherlock asks her to begin by solving local cases before introducing her to daunting and rather complex issues. Sherlock considers the college-aged Mary ready to help in various important cases. Their first mission together involved a trip to Wales, in search for a kidnapped senators’ daughter. As you will find out in the book, a lot goes on in their escapade, each becoming the confidant of the other.

With that said, Laurie R. King authored books are certainly a good read. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, for instance, depicts her ability to create exquisite stories and also provide a perfect pace for the story. This series was set in the wake of the first world war, around 1915, thus was based on the enjoyable historical mysteries, which the author brings out excellently. Laurie R. King develops her characters in a way that will make you not only enjoy the novel, but also look forward to continue with the series. Other novels in this series include A Monstrous Regiment of Women, A Letter of Mary, The Moor among others.

When Does The Next Laurie R. King book come out?

Laurie R. King doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Castle Shade and was released on June, 8th 2021. It is the newest book in the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *