Linda Castillo Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Linda Castillo is originally from Ohio, and knew early on that she wanted to write for a living. It was at the age of thirteen that she wrote her first novel. In her free time, she likes barrel racing and enjoys trail riding. She lives with her two rescued Blue Heelers and two Appaloosa horses.

Order of Family Secrets Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Phoenix Encounter 2003 Description / Buy
2 The Secret Encounter 2003 Description / Buy

Order of High Country Heroes Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Hero To Hold 2001 Description / Buy
2 Just A Little Bit Dangerous 2002 Description / Buy
3 A Cry in the Night 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Lights Out Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Royal Lockdown ( By: Rebecca York) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Safe Before Dawn (Short Story) 2007 Description / Buy
3 A Baby Before Dawn 2007 Description / Buy
4 Anything for His Son ( By: Rita Herron) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Meet Me at Midnight ( By: Jessica Andersen) 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Kate Burkholder Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sworn to Silence 2009 Description / Buy
2 Pray for Silence 2010 Description / Buy
3 Breaking Silence 2011 Description / Buy
4 Gone Missing 2011 Description / Buy
5 Her Last Breath 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Dead Will Tell 2014 Description / Buy
7 After the Storm 2015 Description / Buy
8 Among the Wicked 2016 Description / Buy
9 Down a Dark Road 2017 Description / Buy
10 A Gathering of Secrets 2018 Description / Buy
11 Shamed 2019 Description / Buy
12 Outsider 2020 Description / Buy
13 Fallen 2021 Description / Buy
14 The Hidden One 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Kate Burkholder Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Long Lost (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
2 A Hidden Secret (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Seeds of Deception (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Only the Lucky (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
5 In Dark Company (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
6 In Plain Sight (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
7 The Pact 2020 Description / Buy
8 Disappeared 2021 Description / Buy
9 Blood Moon (Short Story) 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Kate Burkholder Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Simple Murder 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Operation: Midnight Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Operation: Midnight Tango 2005 Description / Buy
2 Operation: Midnight Escape 2005 Description / Buy
3 Operation: Midnight Guardian 2006 Description / Buy
4 Operation: Midnight Rendezvous 2006 Description / Buy
5 Operation: Midnight Cowboy 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Linda Castillo Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Remember the Night 2000 Description / Buy
2 Cops And ... Lovers? 2001 Description / Buy
3 Lay Down the Law 2001 Description / Buy
4 The Perfect Victim 2002 Description / Buy
5 Uncharted Waters 2003 Description / Buy
6 The Shadow Side 2003 Description / Buy
7 Midnight Run 2003 Description / Buy
8 Fade To Red 2004 Description / Buy
9 Dead Reckoning 2005 Description / Buy
10 Depth Perception 2005 Description / Buy
11 A Whisper in the Dark 2006 Description / Buy
12 In the Dead of Night 2007 Description / Buy
13 Overkill 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Castillo has written the “Kate Burkholder” series, the “Operation: Midnight” series, and the “High Country Heroes” series. Her work is from the crime thriller, romantic suspense, and romance genres.


She has won many awards, some of which include: the Holt Medallion and the Daphne du Maurier Award of Excellence. Her novels have made the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists.


Neve Campbell played Kate Burkholder in a two hour movie called “An Amish Murder” that was based on the novel “Sworn to Silence”.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Linda Castillo, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Sworn to Silence”, “Pray for Silence”, and “Breaking Silence”.

Sworn to Silence: This is the first novel in the “Kate Burkholder” series and was released in the year 2009. A serial killer hits Painters Mill, Ohio and the signature used is like that of four killings that went unsolved sixteen years ago. The signature includes Roman numerals carved into the abdomen of each victim.

Kate Burkholder (police chief) does not really want to dredge up the past has to conceal the fact that she knows why the murders stopped back then. Local politicos are not pleased with how things are going and set up a task force that is part of multiple jurisdictions. All so that they can assist, it includes a law enforcement agent that is fighting with his own stuff.

There is added scrutiny in the case, and a rising body count that might just send the chief over the edge.

Pray for Silence: This is the second novel in the “Kate Burkholder” series and was released in the year 2010. The members of the Plank family left Lancaster, Pennsylvania to join Painters Mill just a year ago. It is a small Amish community and it seemed like the model of Plain Life, but then it ended. It ended on an October night that was quite cold, and the entire family was found killed on their farm.

All seven of them, slaughtered. Kate Burkholder and her team do not have a motive, no suspect, and little clues. She is formerly Amish herself, and is not a stranger to the things that the Amish keep from the English (not to mention each other). This is a crime that is extremely out of the ordinary.

John Tomasetti (an agent with the state) shows up to provide assistance. Him and Kate worked together before and they started a volatile relationship because of it. This case is going to test their emotional limits, and will have to face the things from their
troubled pasts that still haunt them. In Kate’s case, this will include a personal connection which is hard for her to bear.

She finds a diary that belonged to a teenage daughter, and is surprised to find that the girl was keeping some dark secrets. The girl may have been leading a colorful double life. Who is the stranger that stole the girl’s heart?

Breaking Silence: This is the third novel in the “Kate Burkholder” series and was released in the year 2011. Model Amish farmers that are hardworking and prosperous; they have a happy extended family and four kids. That is a great way to describe the Slabaugh family. An uncle and the parents are discovered in their barn and are dead. It looks like a simple accident, just methane gas asphyxiation due to a cesspit that was poorly ventilated.

During the autopsy, the coroner finds that one of the deceased had a head injury that they suffered before death. A sign of foul play. Who would want to orphan the Slabaughs’ children? Is this related to the new string of hate crimes that have been committed against the Amish?

Kate grew up Amish and wants the killer brought to justice. The other attacks are ruled hate crimes, and once again, the state sends John Tomasetti to help Kate catch the killer. They look to link the crimes together, and are able to find a dark secret at play underneath the seemingly placid veneer of the peaceful Amish community.

When Does The Next Linda Castillo book come out?

The next book by Linda Castillo is The Hidden One and will be released on July, 5th 2022. It is the newest book in the Kate Burkholder Series.

1 thought on “Linda Castillo”

  1. I just finished “Outsider” & to me, it rates up there with Harlon Coben who is also a great mystery writer I like very much. I have collected all but 2 (Sworn to Silence” & “Fallen”). I plan on getting those later this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.