Operation: Midnight Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Operation: Midnight is a series of suspense romance novels written by Linda Castillo. Even though the Operation: Midnight series was first published in 2005, the books only found fame in the early 2010s.

Get notified when Linda Castillo releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Operation: Midnight Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Operation: Midnight Tango ( By: Linda Castillo) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Operation: Midnight Escape ( By: Linda Castillo) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Operation: Midnight Guardian ( By: Linda Castillo) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Operation: Midnight Rendezvous ( By: Linda Castillo) 2006 Description / Buy
5 Operation: Midnight Cowboy ( By: Linda Castillo) 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Castillo, the author, wrote a series of Amish-centric novels surrounding the character of Kate Burkholder and they attracted such a fervent fanbase of readers that Castillo’s publishers saw fit to re-release the Midnight novels, the idea being to take advantage of the author’s newly minted collection of followers by introducing them to Castillo’s previous works.

The ruse worked well enough. Though, while Castillo’s new readers admitted to enjoying her earlier works, they noted that her characterization was a little thin, a weakness she had solved by the time she wrote the Burkholder books.

The Operation: Midnight series follows the exploits of a group of elite CIA agents operating under the umbrella of a project known as MIDNIGHT. MIDNIGHT agents are the best of the best, only ever deployed to resolve particularly complex problems.

Readers get their first taste of the group in Operation: Midnight Tango, the first of the Operation: Midnight novels. Zack Devlin is an undercover operative stationed in an incarceration facility that has grown rife with rumors of mysterious figures experimenting on inmates with a mysterious drug.

When the inmates begin to either die or disappear, Zack is called upon to unravel the conspiracy. His life takes an unexpected turn when he is forced to take Emily Monroe, a corrections officer, hostage.

Zack is so hellbent on finding and stopping the bad guys that he never stops to ponder the consequences his actions might have on Emily’s life. Before long, the pair is in a fight for their lives.

To survive, they must learn to trust one another. The fact that love has begun to ignite between them only makes things worse.

The Operation: Midnight novels share a theme. You always have a MIDNIGHT agent colliding with a civilian for reasons that are beyond either of their control.

Both protagonists fall in love the moment their eyes meet. Then some nefarious element comes into play, an antagonist that the agent has been charged with stopping.

The protagonists do not necessarily trust each other, and the fact that their chemistry is so strong only augments that mistrust. One or both of them have been hurt in the past, so they are not necessarily prepared to expose their hearts to further pain.

But the more time they spend in one another’s arms, the harder it becomes to keep their emotions in check. Before long, they are fighting tooth and nail to protect their lives and their hearts.

The Operation: Midnight novels are short and straightforward.

Best Operation: Midnight Books

The Operation: Midnight novels stand out because of their fast pace, suspenseful plots and engaging heroes and heroines, with some of the best novels in the series including:

Midnight Escape: Leigh’s boyfriend was an arm’s dealer and a very bad man. So Leigh stepped up and provided the testimony that imprisoned him. But then she had to go into witness protection.

Special Agent Jake Vanderpool worked tirelessly to put Leigh’s boyfriend behind bars. And over the course of their time together, they grew quite close. But then Jake used Leigh as bait to catch his target and she rejected him for his betrayal.

Now Emily is in danger. Her former boyfriend has escaped prison and Jake will do anything to keep her safe, even if she wants nothing to do with him.

Operation: Midnight Cowboy: Special Agent Rachel Armitage’s husband died in the line of duty. Her husband’s partner, Bo Ruskin, retired and reclaimed his quiet life as a cowboy. Now Rachel has been stationed at his ranch.

She has an urgent mission and nothing will keep her from accomplishing it. And yet, for the first time since her husband died, she finds herself drawn to another man, his partner Bo and the former agent that has been tasked with keeping her safe.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another series you may like is the “Still Waters” Series by Dawn Lee McKenna. Lieutenant Evan Caldwell moved to a boat in the quiet town of Port St. Joe in the hopes of finding peace after an accident put his wife in a coma. When the local sheriff dies, Evan inadvertently lands the position of interim sheriff. He must keep the peace in St. Joe.

Be sure to check out the “Ettie Smith Amish Mysteries” Series by Samantha Price as well. Ettie Smith is surprised to learn that a friend of hers who passed away left her a house. Ettie’s decision to move into the house exposes her to all sorts of Amish-related mysteries and murders, most of which she finds that she is more than capable of solving.

What Is The Next Book in The Operation: Midnight Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Operation: Midnight Series. The newest book is Operation: Midnight Cowboy and was released on January, 9th 2007.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *