Linda Howard Books

Linda Howard is a writer of Romance that was born Linda S. Howington in 1950 in Alabama. The best-selling author began life as an avid reader. She distinctly remembers becoming infatuated with Gone with the Wind, though her love for reading did not immediately drive her to write professionally.

Order of Western Ladies Series

# Read Title Published
1 A Lady of the West 1990
2 Angel Creek 1991
3 The Touch of Fire 1992

Order of Patterson-Cannon Family Series

# Read Title Published
1 Duncan's Bride 1990
2 Loving Evangeline 1994

Order of Blair Mallory Series

# Read Title Published
1 To Die For 2004
2 Drop Dead Gorgeous 2006

Order of Spencer-Nyle Co Series

# Read Title Published
1 Sarah's Child 1985
2 Almost Forever 1986
3 Bluebird Winter (Short Story) 1987

Order of Mackenzie Family Series

Order of CIA Spies Series

# Read Title Published
1 Kill and Tell 1998
2 All the Queen's Men 1999
3 Kiss Me While I Sleep 2004

Order of Rescues/Kell Sabin Series

# Read Title Published
1 Midnight Rainbow 1986
2 Diamond Bay 1987
3 Heartbreaker 1987
4 White Lies 1988
5 Trouble 2010

Order of Vampire Series

# Read Title Published
1 Blood Born 2010

Order of The Men from Battle Ridge Series

# Read Title Published
1 Running Wild 2012

Order of Linda Howard Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 All That Glitters 1982
2 An Independent Wife 1982
3 Against the Rules 1983
4 Come Lie with Me 1984
5 Tears of the Renegade 1985
6 The Cutting Edge 1985
7 The Way Home (Short Story) 1991
8 Overload (Short Story) 1993
9 Heart of Fire 1993
10 Dream Man 1994
11 Lake of Dreams (Short Story) 1995
12 After the Night 1995
13 Shades of Twilight 1996
14 Son of the Morning 1997
15 Upon a Midnight Clear 1997
16 Now You See Her 1998
17 Mr. Perfect 2000
18 Open Season 2001
19 Strangers in the Night 2001
20 Strangers in the Night 2001
21 Dying To Please 2002
22 Cry No More 2003
23 Killing Time 2005
24 Cover of Night 2006
25 Up Close and Dangerous 2007
26 Death Angel 2008
27 Death Angel 2008
28 Burn 2008
29 Veil of Night 2010
30 Prey 2011
31 Ice 2011
32 Shadow Woman 2012
33 Troublemaker 2016
34 Frost Line 2016
35 The Woman Left Behind 2017


# Read Title Published
1 Heart's Desire 1998
Print: Print PDF

It is worth noting that Linda began writing when she was nine. However, her efforts were never meant to pave the way for a professional career in publishing, which is why the author spent the next twenty-one years writing stories for her own personal enjoyment before she eventually took that difficult step of submitting her first manuscript for publication.

The mother of three stepchildren and a trio of grandchildren attributes her writing success and, in particular, her ability to produce engaging romance to her experience in the workforce. After dropping out of community college, Linda Howard landed a job at a trucking company.

The situation availed her access to a myriad of individuals, building her understanding of people in general; she was especially enamored by the men and everything she came to understand about their nature and their habits.

Linda Howard met her husband at the same trucking company at which she was working. He eventually moved on to bass fishing and she too decided to quit to focus on her writing. Even though she is best known for romance, Linda Howard has experimented with every genre of fiction one can think of, this including fantasy, adventure and science fiction.

Though, the author has always given horror a wide berth and she has never expressed any interest in pursuing the genre, admitting on a number of occasions that those sorts of stories give her nightmares. A Charter member of Romance Writers of America, Linda Howard’s success can be imputed to her love for writing.

She is one of those authors that would keep writing even if her books were not being published. She lives for the craft.

Linda Howard Awards

Linda Howard has been writing novels professionally since 1982 and she has been rewarded financially and critically for her literary efforts; she has also won accolades for her work, with the most prominent being a Romance Writers of America Career Achievement Award in 2005.

Linda Howard Books into Movies/TV

Loving Evangeline is a short story from Linda that was released in 1994. The story was adapted into a 95-minute movie in 1999 directed by Timothy Bond and starring Nick Mancuso, Shari Belfonte and Kelly Rowan. The movie followed the exploits of Evangeline Shaw, a woman who is suspected of the murder of her husband, and his brother’s attempts investigating the crime lead to romantic intrigue between the two.

Best Linda Howard Books

Since she began writing in the 1980s, Linda has established herself as a force to be reckoned with in the arena of romance, with some of the best books from the author’s bibliography including:

Mr. Perfect: Jaine Bright and her three girlfriends were just having fun, concocting a list of all the attributes that would constitute the perfect man. The conversation was tongue-in-cheek, nothing worth killing over. But that was before the checklist spread along email lines to become an overnight sensation, and one of the four friends ended up dead.

With a murderer on the prowl, Jaine gets help from an unpredictable police officer in order to determine the identity of the killer.

Mr. Perfect is a blend of romance and mystery. The story kicks off with four friends who meet for lunch and decide, for one reason or another, to make a list of all the attributes the perfect man would have.

Their list finds its way into the public arena and the four friends find that they have garnered the ire of a psychopath that is offended by the requirements the women collected. His idea of punishing the women is to commit a little bit of murder.

After the Night: Faith Devlin always had a thing for the golden boy of her small town in Prescott, Louisiana. It didn’t matter that he had a few unpleasant words for her the day he lost his wealthy and attractive parents.

Gray Rouillard had dug his way into Faith’s heart and he refused to let go.

Gray Rouillard never thought much of Faith, too busy misusing his family money and raising hell wherever he went. TO Gray, Faith Devlin was merely the girl he would use all his power to ruin.

This Linda Howard novel explores the lives of two disparate souls that cannot quench their passion for one another.