Lindsey Davis Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lindsey Davis is bestselling English author of historical novels and popularly for Falco series, historical crime stories themed in ancient Roman Empire. The author was born in Birmingham, England and graduated with a degree in English Literature from Oxford University. After graduation, Davis worked as a civil servant and quit the job thirteen years later to write novels when a book she had written made to the runners of Georgette Heyer Historical Novel Prize in 1985.

Order of Marcus Didius Falco Series

1The Silver Pigs 1989Description / Buy
2Shadows in Bronze 1990Description / Buy
3Venus in Copper 1991Description / Buy
4The Iron Hand of Mars 1992Description / Buy
5Poseidon's Gold 1993Description / Buy
6Last Act in Palmyra 1994Description / Buy
7Time to Depart 1995Description / Buy
8A Dying Light in Corduba 1996Description / Buy
9Three Hands in the Fountain 1997Description / Buy
10Two for the Lions 1998Description / Buy
11One Virgin Too Many 1999Description / Buy
12Ode to a Banker 2000Description / Buy
13A Body in the Bathhouse 2001Description / Buy
14The Jupiter Myth 2002Description / Buy
15The Accusers 2003Description / Buy
16Scandal Takes a Holiday 2004Description / Buy
17See Delphi and Die 2005Description / Buy
18Saturnalia 2007Description / Buy
19Alexandria 2009Description / Buy
20Nemesis 2010Description / Buy

Order of Marcus Didius Falco Non-Fiction Books

1Falco: The Official Companion 2010Description / Buy

Order of Flavia Albia Mystery Series

1The Ides of April 2013Description / Buy
2Enemies at Home 2014Description / Buy
3The Spook Who Spoke Again (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
4Deadly Election 2015Description / Buy
5The Graveyard of the Hesperides 2016Description / Buy
6The Third Nero 2017Description / Buy
7Pandora's Boy 2018Description / Buy
8Invitation to Die 2019Description / Buy
9A Capitol Death 2020Description / Buy
10The Grove of the Caesars 2020Description / Buy
11A Comedy of Terrors 2021Description / Buy

Order of Lindsey Davis Standalone Novels

1The Course of Honour 1997Description / Buy
2Rebels and Traitors 2009Description / Buy
3Master and God 2012Description / Buy

Order of Lindsey Davis Short Stories/Novellas

1A Cruel Fate (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
2Vesuvius by Night (Short Story) 2017Description / Buy

Order of Lindsey Davis Non-Fiction Books

1There Are Good Ships 2013Description / Buy

Lindsey Davis Anthologies

1 The Detection Collection2005Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rebels and Traitors (2009), is a novel dedicated to Davis late husband and her closest of friends. According to a newsletter on her website, her husband died in October in 2008.

The author’s interests in archeology and history sparked an interest in writing a novel about Vespasian and Antonia Caenis in a book titled The Course of Honor. Unfortunately, she could not find a publisher for this story. She once tried her luck once again and wrote her first novel The Silver Pigs (1989) featuring Marcus Didius Falco, and this book marked the beginning of success for Lindsey Davis.

Falco series consists of over 19 novels. Other novels written by the same author include Rebels and Traitors (2009), The Course of Honor (1998), Master and God (2012).


As a published writer, Lindsey Davis has been novels have won several awards as well as nominations. Here are some of the notable awards and nominations of the distinguished author.

In 1989, Davis won the Authors Club Prize for The Silver Pigs for the best first novel category. In 1999, she was the winner of Crime Writers Association: Dagger in the Library. Subsequently, in 2000, she was announced the winner of Sherlock Award for the Best Comic Detective, Didius Falco. In 2010, she was awarded Premio Colosseo by the city of Rome and in 2011, she was the winner of Cartier Diamond Dagger from the CWA and in 2013, she was the winner of the first Barcelona Historical Novel Prize.


These are two best books by Lindsey Davis

The Silver Pigs: Lindsey Davis presents an excellent series of historical crime books that are set in during the Roman Empire. The protagonist, Marcus Didius Falco, a private detective, stumbles upon a scheme to trade the silver pigs to the contraband market at the end of the year of the four emperors. Falco is made aware of the plan by a young girl, and days later, she is killed. Emperor Vespasian hires Falco, the private detective to bring to light the entire scheme while the young lady’s father simultaneously hires him to find the killer of his daughter. His investigative journey takes Falco to Britain to a province he detests where he gets to meet Helena Justina the girl’s sister and begin a journey together to unravel the entire plot.

The debut novel is superb one, the two lead characters; Falco and Helena are very right to their love for one another, they argue and disagree and also do all the things couples do but without cutting deep when they do. The style is great while the settings are interesting and appear accurate. As you peruse through the novel, you get to see many aspects of the ancient society, from the slave mines and tenements up to palaces and nobility.

Three Hands in the Fountain: Book number 9 in Marcus Didius Falco series, Marcus comes back home only to find out that his longtime buddy, Petronius Longus thrown out of his home after he had an affair with Balbina Milvia and the affair has become publically known, and his wife cannot endure humiliation any longer.

Despite this painful domestic situation, there are even more horrific things happening. Several human parts have been showing up in the water fountain in the city and the torsos drifting down river Tiber. Falco begins investigations and finds out that these appendages have been showing up for years, this discovery tells him that he is dealing with a serial killer, a man who preys on beautiful women in public places. When Claudia Rufina a lady betrothed to Helena brother Aelianus disappears, the hunt for the serial killer becomes personal. Can Falco be fast enough to find the killer before the killer kills Claudia?

In this novel, the author does an excellent job in providing a brilliant and vivid description of the Roman water supply. She again hits the right note by describing the Roman love for sport.

When Does The Next Lindsey Davis book come out?

Lindsey Davis doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Comedy of Terrors and was released on April, 1st 2021. It is the newest book in the Flavia Albia Mystery Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *