Lisa Gardner Books

Lisa Gardner, a number 1 New York Times crime thriller novelist, started her career in food service. However, after catching her hair numerous times on fire, she took that hint and decided to focus on writing instead. As a self-described research junkie, Lisa’s work as a research analyst for an international consulting company parlayed her interest in police procedures, twisted plots and cutting edge forensics into a streak of internationally bestselling novels.

Lisa Gardner lives in New Hampshire together with her black-diamond skiing daughter and auto-racing husband. She spends most of her days writing inside her loft with a young and adventurous terrier.

Order of Detective D.D. Warren Series

# Read Title Published
1 Alone 2004
2 Hide 2007
3 The Neighbor 2009
4 Live to Tell 2010
5 Love You More 2011
6 The 7th Month 2012
7 Catch Me 2012
8 Fear Nothing 2014
9 3 Truths and a Lie 2016
10 Find Her 2016

Order of Family Secrets Series

# Read Title Published
1 Maggie's Man 1997
2 MacNamara's Woman 1997
3 Brandon's Bride 1998

Order of FBI Profiler Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Perfect Husband 1997
2 The Third Victim 2001
3 The Next Accident 2001
4 The Killing Hour 2003
5 Gone 2006
6 Say Goodbye 2008
7 The 4th Man 2017
8 Right Behind You 2017

Order of Guiness Gang Series

# Read Title Published
1 At the Midnight Hour 1995
2 Hiding Jessica 1995
3 Quiet One 1996
4 The One Worth Waiting For 1996
5 One Who Almost Got Away 1996

Order of Lisa Gardner Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Waking Nightmare 1994
2 Partners In Crime 1998
3 The Other Daughter 1999
4 Marrying Mike... Again 2000
5 The Survivors Club 2002

Order of Tessa Leoni Series

# Read Title Published
1 Love You More 2011
2 Touch & Go 2013
3 Crash & Burn 2015

Order of Walking After Midnight Series

# Read Title Published
1 Walking After Midnight 1992
2 Shadow's Flame 1994


# Read Title Published
1 I'd Kill For That 2004
Print: Print PDF


With more than 22 million books in print, Lisa Gardner is published in close to 30 countries. Her success has crossed into the small screen with 4 of her novels having become movies (The Perfect Husband; At the Midnight Hour; Hide; The Survivors Club).


Lisa Gardner’s books have also received many awards from across the world. Her book, THE NEIGHBOR was recognized as being the Best Hardcover Novel from International Thriller’s Writers in the U.S and the Grand Prix des lectrices, prix du policier held in France. Lisa was also recognized with the Daphne duMaurior Award that was presented by RWA back in 2000 for her novel THE OTHER DAUGHTER.


Two of the best appreciated books in the Det. D.D. Warren Series are:

Alone: Bobby, NYPD sharp-shooter, is called to a domestic incident. It is an address that the police have visited before – a volatile wife and husband who regularly battle out their marriage. However, this time it’s quite different. Through his views from the building opposite, he can see the volatile husband pointing a gun at his child and wife. As he moves to shoot the wife, Bobby manages to get a clear shot and he shoots the husband in the head. The wife, terrified and shaking, turns and faces Bobby through the window and shouts the words ‘thank you very much’. Then all hell breaks loose.

The man that Bobby has shot is actually the son of one of the most important judges in the city. Catherine, his wife, has long been suspected to have been abusing their son. It seems that Bobby has just killed the one and only man who would have protected the kid. In the meantime, Mr. Bosu is back again on the streets. A man who committed heinous crimes, he was later sentenced to life imprisonment at the tender age of 22. A man who is so seriously committed to destruction and death, he found ways to continue committing murder even while still behind bars. A man who’s so feared in fact, his fellow prisoners consider Mr. Bosu as a sort of inmate bogey.

Now he has been “accidentally” released. Over the past years, Mr. Bosu has been preying on children. Now, being a freshly released felon, he is trying something quite new – murder for hire. Mr. Bosu knows that he’s good at killing. As such, he always needs cash, so why not combine the 2 interests? He is smart, he is unbelievably strong, and after spending 25 years behind the bars, he possesses a little bit of rage. Mr. Bosu, Bobby and Catherine are all tied together in the devil’s pact, in a way that they can’t actually imagine.

The Neighbor: This novel highlights what happened in the last 6 hours of the world. It was about a case which was guaranteed to spark the media feeding frenzy – a younger mother, pretty and blonde, disappears without any trace from her Boston home, leaving behind a 4-year-old daughter as the lone witness, and her secretive, handsome husband as the main suspect.

However, from the moment that Detective Sergeant D. Warren arrives at Joneses’ little bungalow, she senses something off regarding the picture of the wholesome normality that the couple worked very hard to create. On the surface, Sandra and Jason Jones are like other hardworking young couples raising a child. However, just under the surface most things grow murkier. With time moving on the life of the missing woman and the media firestorms building, Jason Jones appears more intent on isolating his daughter and destroying evidence than on looking for his wife. Is the husband trying to hide away his guilt or is he just trying to hide? And will the lone witness to that crime be the killer’s next victim?