Detective D.D. Warren Books

Detective D.D. Warren is the featured character in the “D.D. Warren” book series by Lisa Gardener, a New York Times bestselling novelist. This book series is within mystery and thriller genre. The first novel in the D.D. Warren series titled Alone, was published in 2004. The series starts with Bobby Dodge, a Massachusetts state trooper watching a tense hostage standoff through his sniper rifle. An armed man has barricaded himself with his wife and child.

Order of Detective D.D. Warren Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Alone 2004 Description / Buy
2 Hide 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Neighbor 2009 Description / Buy
4 Live to Tell 2010 Description / Buy
5 Love You More 2011 Description / Buy
6 Catch Me 2012 Description / Buy
7 Fear Nothing 2014 Description / Buy
8 Find Her 2016 Description / Buy
9 Look For Me 2018 Description / Buy
10 The Guy Who Died Twice 2019 Description / Buy
11 Never Tell 2019 Description / Buy
12 When You See Me 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Bobby kills Jimmy during this hostage situation at the Gagnon’s to save Catherine and Nathan. This is a tough moment for the dangerously sexy Catherine Rose Gagnon. She has been underground for 25 years after being abducted and abused. Now her husband has just been killed and her father-in-law, Judge Gagnon blames her for his son’s death. Judge Gagnon and his wife Maryanne, think Bobby murdered their son out of lust for Catherine.

The influential judge is determined to take away Nathan from Catherine, who they see unfit to mother their only grandchild. The combination of past memories of abduction, emotionally absent parents and birth of Nathan had left Catherine mentally paralyzed. These two are brought together by a moment of crime but they seem to be connected by a deeper and dangerous passion. Bobby Dodge denies all claims about Catherine being a monster as he falls under the spell of this manipulative widow. Meanwhile, Mr. Bosu, a man sentenced to life in prison is back in the streets. This smart and well-built ex-con is murdering for hire; no one is safe. Alone is a great book and start to the series.


D.D. Warren series of novels have won many awards. This book series was nominated for the Romantic Times Reviewers Choice Award. Detective D.D. Warren is also featured in the award winning books namely; Love You More, Catch Me and The Neighbor. These three novels won the International Thriller of the Year Award. Alone was also a finalist in the 2013 Thriller Award for Best Novel.


Four of Lisa Gardner’s novels have made into films and movies – one of which is from a Warren novel. Three of them were made for television movies. At The Midnight Hour is a TV movie that premiered in the 1995. It is about a love affair developing between a wealthy widow and a woman he hires as a nanny. Instinct To Kill is a movie based on the novel The Perfect Husband released in 2001. The Survivors Club novel was made into a movie in 2004 where three women from “The Survivors Club” who raped by a serial killer try to get justice. The killer is assassinated on the first day of his trial. These three victims end up becoming suspects. Detective D.D. Warren is featured in the Hide Tv movie released in 2011. He investigates the mummified remains of six women.


The best, highly rated books in the series are Love You More, The Third Victim and Gone. The award winner Love You More is regarded as one of the best novels in D. D Warren series. It is the 5th book in the series where Tessa Leoni shoots his Brian Darby in self-defense. This seems conclusive for D. D .Warren but their six year old daughter is missing. This book grabs the reader from the first page and keeps them guessing until the final chapter.

Hide is also regarded as one of the best books in the series. This 2nd book features Bobby Dodge and a woman who casts herself in the center of a 20-year old crime with terrifying repercussions. Live To Tell is also one of the highly rated novels in the series. This is the 4th book in the series where crime rocks a working-class neighborhood in Boston. A father who is prime suspect of four dead family members appears to be lying in the intensive care unit. This book focuses on family murders and psychologically disturbed children. Once again, Lisa Gardner proves to be a great storyteller.


Many fans of D.D. Warren series are also fans of Side Effects” novel written by Jeff Menapace. This is the first novel in the “Maggie Allen” series. Maggie Allen is an FBI agent who has the gift of catching killers but her life is also full of nightmares. D.D. Warren fans also enjoy The Killer Inside by Kerry Wilkinson. This series is about Detective “Jessica Daniel” who is involved in solving strange crimes. It is a gripping serial killer thriller with a brilliant twist.

What Is The Next Book in The Detective D.d. Warren Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Detective D.d. Warren Series. The newest book is When You See Me and was released on January, 1st 2020.