Lynda La Plante Books

Lynda La Plante (born with the name Lynda Titchmarsh) was born March 15, 1943 in Liverpool. She studied at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art where some of her classmates were people like Ian McShane, Anthony Hopkins, and John Hurt. After she got done with school, she began an acting career, and acted with the Royal Shakespeare Company in different productions (using Lynda Marchal as a stage name).

Order of Jane Tennison Series

# Read Title Published
1 Tennison 2015
2 Hidden Killers 2017
3 Good Friday 2017

Order of Prime Suspect Series

# Read Title Published
1 Prime Suspect 1991
2 A Face in the Crowd 1992
3 Silent Victims 1993

Order of Anna Travis Series

# Read Title Published
1 Above Suspicion 2004
2 The Red Dahlia 2006
3 Clean Cut 2007
4 Deadly Intent 2008
5 Silent Scream 2009
6 Blind Fury 2010
7 Blood Line 2011
8 Backlash 2012
9 Wrongful Death 2013

Order of Trial and Retribution Series

Order of Lorraine Page Series

# Read Title Published
1 Cold Shoulder 1994
2 Cold Blood 1996
3 Cold Heart 1998

Order of Legacy Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Legacy 1987
2 The Talisman 1988

Order of Dolly Rawlins Series

# Read Title Published
1 Widows 1985
2 Widows: No. 2 1994
3 She's Out 1995

Order of Lynda La Plante Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Bella Mafia 1990
2 Civvies 1992
3 Framed 1992
4 Entwined 1992
5 Seekers 1993
6 The Governor 1995
7 Sleeping Cruelty 2001
8 Twisted 2014
Print: Print PDF

Her biggest acting credit is for her work on “Rentaghost” (which is an English program for children), where she played a ghost (named Tamara Novek) that suffered from hay-fever. While she worked on “The Gentle Touch”, she worked on a treatment that was meant for a television series about a bank robbery that gets botched. It got some of the highest ratings in the early part of the eighties.

This led to her being a sought after writer and would make her debut in crime fiction writing with “The Legacy” which was released in 1987. From the year 1979 until the year 1996, she was married to Richard La Plante (who is a musician); the marriage ended with the couple getting divorced, after they were married for seventeen years.

La Plante writes novels and for the screen (she is most known for “Prime Suspect”, a television series). She has written the “Trial and Retribution” series, the “Jane Tennison” series, the “Legacy” series, the “Dolly Rawlins” series, the “Anna Travis” series, some short fiction, and some stand alone novels.


She was given a Dennis Potter Writers Award from BAFTA. She also won an Edgar Allen Poe Writers’s Award. “Prime Suspect” was given an Emmy for best mini series. For her services to Charity, to literature and drama, she was made Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the year 2008.


The “Anna Travis” series was made into a series, that La Plante wrote and produced. Ciaran Hinds and Kelly Reilly starred.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Lynda La Plante, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Above Suspicion”, “The Red Dahlia”, and “Clean Cut”.

Above Suspicion: This is the first novel in the “Anna Travis” series and was released in the year 2004. Anna Travis is a rookie female detective who has just been given her first murder case to investigate. It is quite a gruesome case. All the killings are identical, all the girls have the same background as they all work as prostitutes.

When the book starts, body number seven is found, same method, but the killer has killed a sweet young student. Anna finds a piece of information that links the killings to a much loved (not to mention well known) actor.

He protests in a convincing way, and Anna might just be giving in to his attention. What if he is put in jail for the crime, but he is innocent? Will he be able to deal with the media attention from that?

The Red Dahlia: This is the second novel in the “Anna Travis” series and was released in the year 2006. A young girl’s body is found on the banks, near the Thames, and the police are even shocked by how brutal she was killed. She was horribly mutilated, drained of ever ounce of her blood, and cut in half. It mirrors the famous Black Dahlia murder that happened in Los Angeles in the forties.

Anna Travis (a Detective Inspector) has to fight time to catch the copycat killer. She turns to James Langton (a brilliant Detective Chief Inspector and Anna’s mentor); the rough patch they are going through in their relationship complicates things. And then a second girl turns up dead.

Clean Cut: This is the third novel in the “Anna Travis” series and was released in the year 2007. James Langton is hunting some illegal immigrants who killed a young prostitute; he is ruthless in his search for them. One of the immigrants almost kills him, and Anna bears most of the frustrations he has and helps get his wounds healing. All the while, she puts her own career, not to mention life, on hold for him.

One of the cases that she is working on, that involves the murder of a quiet woman (there seems to be no motive that they can find), turns out it is linked to James Langton’s. She is now the gang’s next target.