Anna Travis Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Anna Travis is the main character in series mystery novels written by United Kingdom bestselling author Lynda La Plante. Travis is a Detective Inspector based in London where she is regularly tasked to solve crimes in her vicinity. The character made its first appearance in 2004 when the first novel in Anna Travis series was published.

Get notified when Lynda La Plante releases a new book at

Order of Anna Travis Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Above Suspicion ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Red Dahlia ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2006 Description / Buy
3 Clean Cut ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2007 Description / Buy
4 Deadly Intent ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2008 Description / Buy
5 Silent Scream ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2009 Description / Buy
6 Blind Fury ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2010 Description / Buy
7 Blood Line ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2011 Description / Buy
8 Backlash ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2012 Description / Buy
9 Wrongful Death ( By: Lynda La Plante) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


Anna Travis author has received many awards over the course of her writing career thanks to her prolific writing. She was awarded two Emmy Awards for her work on Prime Suspect and also an Edgar Allan Poe Award for the best mystery television episode. In 2001 she was awarded Dennis Potter Award by the British Academy of Film and TV arts for television writing.

Subsequently, in 2008 she was appointed the commander of the Order of the British Empire and later in the same year she was awarded TV Spiefilm Award during the International Film and TV conference held in Germany thanks to the adaptation of her book Above Suspicion.


Anna Travis novels have been adapted into a British crime drama titled Above Suspicion. The series features Ciaran Hinds and Kelly Reilly as the main characters James Langton and Anna Travis. Four seasons were aired for over four years; the first episode premiered on January 2009 while the last episode aired in January 2012. The first three seasons all were aired on consecutive nights while the fourth season aired on a weekly format.


These are two best books in Anna Travis series by Lynda La Plante, Above Suspicion and The Red Dahlia.

Above Suspicion: In the first novel of Anna Travis series, we are introduced to Anna, a rookie detective who is about to start off on her first murder case. The murders are gruesome, and the method of killing is also identical, and the backgrounds of the crime victims are also identical- they are all prostitutes. As the novel opens up, a seventh victim is found brutally murdered using the same killing method but this time the victim is a young student. Subsequently, Anna comes across a crucial piece of information that connects one man to the brutal murders- a well known and loved actor. His “showcasing” of innocence is convincing, and Anna might just succumb to his flattering attention.

The first novel in Anna Travis is an exciting series opener; it is well written and a great page turner. The characters in this book are interesting, and the author has vividly described them. The story will take you to full throttle through the glamorous task of identifying the serial killer. The main suspect in these murders is a well-known actor, but if he is wrongly accused, it could ruin not only his acting career but also that of the officers investigating him. The main character Anna is a brilliant, fallible and a believable character.

The Red Dahlia: The second novel in Anna Travis series, as the story opens up, a paperboy named Danny Fowler is on his way back home for breakfast when he spots what appears to be a blow-up doll on a river bank. Upon his close examination, it turns out that what he at first thought it was a doll was a murder victim, and his shocking discovery sparks a series of investigation in what later comes to be known as The Red Dahlia Murder.

DI Anna is part of the team conducting the investigation, and soon DCI James Langton is called in to head the inquiry. It is a year since Anna and James worked together, and the two once had a romantic relationship that went sour since James would not commit. At first, Anna is afraid of working with James that the investigation takes over everything.

The woman found on the river bank is referred as the Red Dahlia, and her body has been gruesomely cut in half, and also her blood has been drained as well. Anna soon makes a connection between this murder case and the unsolved case of the black dahlia back in California. Soon everything takes a twisted turn when the killer begins sending communications to the police and the newspapers. Anna and James must forgo their past if they need to catch the killer and prevent more deaths.


If you love Anna Travis series, you will find “Tom Thorne” Series by Mark Billingham and “Joe Plantagenet” by Kate Ellis a great match for you. Tom Thorne series features a main character named Tom Thorne, a detective inspector based in London, England while Joe Plantagenet features a London based Detective Inspector Joe Plantagenet.

What Is The Next Book in The Anna Travis Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Anna Travis Series. The newest book is Wrongful Death and was released on August, 29th 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *