Marcia Muller Books

Marcia Muller, who had a stint as a journalist and is married to a fellow writer, is an American author of several series, standalone books, short stories, and anthologies. Marcia Muller, who has co-authored some of her work with husband Bill Pronzini, is most notably renowned for the Sharon sleuthing-related Sharon McCone series of novels. Sharon McCone, a female inquiry agentm is the featured protagonist of the “Sharon McCone” series of books authored by Marcia Muller. Muller’s first book portraying character Sharon McCone was published in 1977 called Edwin of the Iron Shoes, and the series of novels is shelved as mystery and suspense-cum-thriller genre.

Order of Cape Perdido Series

# Read Title Published
1 Point Deception 2001
2 Cyanide Wells 2003
3 Cape Perdido 2005

Order of Carpenter and Quincannon Mystery Series

Order of Elena Oliverez Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Tree of Death 1983
2 The Legend of the Slain Soldiers 1985

Order of Joanna Stark Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Cavalier in White 1986
2 There Hangs the Knife 1988
3 Dark Star 1989

Order of John Quincannon Series

# Read Title Published
1 Beyond the Grave 1986

Order of Marcia Muller Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 Duo 1998
2 Somewhere in the City 2007

Order of Marcia Muller Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 A Century of Mystery 1997
2 Crucifixion River 2007
3 The Lighthouse 2011
4 Kindling Point (Short Story) 2014

Order of Sharon McCone Collections Series

# Read Title Published
1 Beyond the Grave 1986
2 Deceptions 1991
3 The McCone Files 1995
4 McCone and Friends 1999
5 Time of the Wolves 2003

Order of Sharon McCone Series

# Read Title Published
1 Edwin of the Iron Shoes 1977
2 Ask the Cards a Question 1982
3 The Cheshire Cat's Eye 1983
4 Games to Keep the Dark Away 1984
5 Games to Keep the Dark Away 1984
6 Leave a Message for Willie 1984
7 Double 1984
8 There's Nothing to Be Afraid Of 1985
9 Eye of the Storm 1988
10 The Shape of Dread 1989
11 There's Something in a Sunday 1990
12 Trophies and Dead Things 1990
13 Where Echoes Live 1991
14 Pennies On a Dead Woman's Eyes 1992
15 Wolf in the Shadows 1993
16 Till the Butchers Cut Him Down 1994
17 A Wild and Lonely Place 1995
18 The Broken Promise Land 1996
19 Both Ends of the Night 1997
20 While Other People Sleep 1998
21 A Walk Through the Fire 1999
22 Listen to the Silence 2000
23 Dead Midnight 2002
24 The Dangerous Hour 2004
25 Vanishing Point 2006
26 The Ever-Running Man 2007
27 Burn Out 2008
28 Locked In 2009
29 Coming Back 2010
30 City of Whispers 2011
31 Looking for Yesterday 2012
32 Skeleton in the Closet 2012
33 The Night Searchers 2014
34 Merrill-Go-Round (Short Story) 2014
35 Tell Me Who I Am (Short Story) 2016
36 Someone Always Knows 2016


# Read Title Published
1 The Web She Weaves 1983
2 Witches' Brew 1984
3 Child's Ploy 1984
4 She Won the West 1985
5 Kill or Cure 1985
6 Chapter and Hearse 1985
7 Deadly Arts 1985
8 Wickedest Show on Earth 1985
9 Beyond the Grave 1986
10 A Woman's Eye 1991
11 Criminal Intent 1993
12 Women on the Case 1996
13 Detective duos 1997
Print: Print PDF

Sharon McCone is a seasoned and much sought-after San Francisco-based private sleuth. She is an ambitious private detective who soon realizes that she has been carried away excessively by the investigative tasks which she undertakes.

The first book in the Sharon McCone series, Edwin of the Iron Shoes, starts by showcasing Sharon McCone who recently joined a law firm known as All Souls Legal Cooperative. This kick starts McCone’s private sleuthing career. Unfortunately for her, she has acquired little knowledge concerning her initial assignment which is all about investigating an antique dealer’s gory murder. The assignment takes her to an antique-belt which is also dotted with curio stores. But Marcia Muller must tread softly because that locale is not only stirring fear in the wake of vandalized shops, but she has also chanced upon a secret which, in the quest to hush it up, might possibly lead to a series of murders.

She goes to the antique shop whose then proprietor is the deceased person she is mandated for sleuthing. It is while she is there and amid a mannequin, dummy and stuffed pet, that she learns about the secret. In this serialized Sharon McCone, Marcia Muller has crafted a trend-setting book which buttresses her reputable storytelling prowess, and culminated in her being honored during the 2005 award ceremony of the Edgar Awards. In 2004, Marcia Muller’s Wolf in The Shadows had been nominated for the Edgar Awards.

Marcia Muller Awards

Marcia Muller has won varied awards and been nominated for others for her decades-long writing career which dates from her formative years. Incidentally, she first produced her self-published book while aged 12. Most notably, in 2005, Marcia Muller clinched the Grand Master Award which was proffered to her by the New York-based Mystery Writers of America group.

In 1993, Marcia Muller clinched the Lifetime Achievement award from The Private Eye Writers of America, truncated The Eye. What’s more, Muller had won the 1991 editions of the Shamus Awards for story titled Final Resting Place (this is in the serialized Sharon McCone) in the Best PI Short Story category. In 2010, her story titled Locked In, also a part of the Sharon McCone series, won a Shamus Award in the Best PI Hardcover category; similarly, the character Sharon McCone won a Shamus Award, under the Hammer category.

In 2008, Marcia Muller and her co-author-cum-husband won the Spur Award for their Crucifixion River, in the Best Short Fiction Story category. Did you know that Marcia Muller has clinched the Anthony Award six times? Lastly, Marcia Muller’s non-fiction has also won the Macavity Awards in the Best Crtical/Biographic Mystery Work category.

Marcia Muller Books into TV Shows/Movies

In the past, there have been alleged plans to adapt the Sharon McCone series authored by Marcia Muller for TV series. Spring Creek Productions, in conjunction with CBS-TV, was reportedly working on the film adaptation.

According to Marcia Muller’s 2007 collection titled Somewhere in the City, her 2003 work titled Time of the Wolves was adapted into the adventure action film titled Into the Badlands. Even then, Marcia Muller intuits that the specific part which forms the basis of the film was incorporated into the work of someone else and placed deep into the said film. The starring in that part is actor Bruce Dern.

Best Marcia Muller Books

Naturally, the following are the best books by Marcia Muller by virtue of winning the awards. The first, Locked In, is the 27th in the Sharon McCone series. Hereby, McCone is wounded and nearly paralyzed, prompting her to investigate about the mysterious attacker. The second, Wolf in the Shadows, is the fourteenth in the series; here McCone has succeeded in her sleuthing and is in a relationship with a little-known spouse.

Other Books You May Like

Readers who read the series written by Marcia Muller also read the following. One, Linda Barnes’ Carlotta Carlyle series; this revolves around a former law enforcer and private eye called Carlotta Carlyle who has an innate ability of sensing problems, especially when prompted by an elderly woman offering money in her quest for knowing where the brother is.

Two, Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski; almost like Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone, this series revolves around a Chicago-based private eye. Like the aforementioned, the third book, Karen Kijewski’s Kat Colorado, has a protagonist who is a private detective.