Mark Alpert Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Mark Alpert works as a contributing editor at a publication called Scientific American. He has had a long journalism career, in which he explains scientific ideas to the readers and simplifies complex ideas like parallel universes and extra dimensions, so they can be easily understood. He weaves different scientific ideas into his novels, combining them with top notch thrillers that use real technologies and theories. He earned his MFA from Columbia University in the subject of poetry, and before that, he went to Princeton and majored in astrophysics.

Get notified when Mark Alpert releases a new book at

Order of Six Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Six 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Siege 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Silence 2017 Description / Buy

Order of David Swift Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Final Theory 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Omega Theory 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Mark Alpert Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Extinction 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Furies 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Orion Plan 2016 Description / Buy
4 The Coming Storm 2019 Description / Buy
5 Saint Joan of New York 2020 Description / Buy
6 The Doomsday Show 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Alpert wrote his undergraduate thesis while at Princeton that would later be published and cited in one hundred other scholarly articles. He began writing as a journalist for a small paper (Claremont, N.H. Eagle Times), before he worked for Montgomery (Ala.) Advertiser. He would begin writing for Fortune Magazine, as a reporter, in 1987, writing about new technologies and the computer industry. He would also contribute to Popular Mechanics in a freelance capacity in the nineties. In 1991, he would sell his first story to Playboy Magazine (“My Life with Joanne Christiansen”). By 1998, he began working for Scientific American, where he was on the board of editors; he worked editing feature articles and wrote about exotic high tech gadgets for his own column. It was not until the year 2008, when he began publishing novels, with the release of the novel “Final Theory”.

He has written the “Final Theory” series and “The Six” series; Alpert has also written some stand alone novels. He writes both for adults and for young adults.


“Final Theory” was considered one of the best thrillers by Borders, American Booksellers Association, and Booklist in the year 2008.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Mark Alpert, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Six”, “The Siege”, and “The Silence”.

The Six: This is the first novel in “The Six” series and was released in the year 2015. Adam has muscular dystrophy, which steals his mobility, all of his friends, and it will soon kill him. His way of forgetting about his problems are playing virtual reality games; Adam can beat anyone, and he is always the hero, whether he runs and jumps or scores touchdowns.

Sigma, an artificial intelligence program, is able to hack into his game. Sigma was designed by his father, who is a computer genius, and the program has gone rogue and wants to kill Adam and take over the world. The technology that Adam’s dad designed to preserve Adam’s mind is about the only thing that will help stop Sigma.

Adam and five other teens who have a terminal illness, become The Six. These six have given up their bodies so that they can live in weaponized robots. They have to hurry to master their powers and train to work as a team so that they can defeat Sigma, who is just about to destroy the world.

The Siege: This is the second novel in “The Six” series and was released in the year 2016. The government gave Adam his freedom; they also made him smarter, faster as well as better than the average teen. He owes the program that gave him these things, and that comes with a price tag attached.

The Six Pioneers, vowed to defend humanity from Sigma. These six are all that stand in Sigma’s bid to take over the world. Sigma has learned all about humans, and has found a giant weakness. It has gained a new weapon, which is betrayal.

Someone is about to switch sides in this war of good and evil.

The Silence: This is the third novel in “The Six” series and was released in the year 2017. The Six protect the world against Sigma. They were unstoppable when working as a team, but they were also family. Adam has a power in his circuits that goes against the laws of physics. He should not have it, he can not control it, or the consequences that come with him using it. He has never felt so alone.

The newest Pioneer, who is named Amber, knows how it feels to be an outsider. She understands Adam in a way that most people do not. Her software has been corrupted, and until Adam is able to figure out what she has turned into, everyone (both the world and the Pioneers) is in danger.

When Does The Next Mark Alpert book come out?

Mark Alpert doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Doomsday Show and was released on October, 4th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *