The Six Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Six is a series of science fiction YA Novels written by Mark Alpert. The books tell the stories of a group of terminally ill children who become earth’s only hope against a technological threat.

Get notified when Mark Alpert releases a new book at

Order of Six Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Six ( By: Mark Alpert) 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Siege ( By: Mark Alpert) 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Silence ( By: Mark Alpert) 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Adam, the protagonist, who readers first meet in The Six, the first novel in the series, has muscular dystrophy. The disease stole his mobility and his social life. And at 17, Adam knows that he doesn’t have long to live.

And yet, the teenager has refused to let the illness beat him. Adam might be incapable of living the life that the average boy has been gifted but that doesn’t keep him from enjoying his existence.

The teenager spends his days in the virtual landscapes his games provide, jumping, running, and fighting better than anyone.

Adam’s life was progressing towards a fairly predictable end. His father was working day and night to keep Adam alive. But they both knew he was living on borrowed time. It wasn’t until Sigma escaped that the hero finally saw a light at the end of the tunnel.

Adam’s father had designed Sigma, a highly advanced AI, to serve mankind. But the program proved to be far smarter than any of its creators could have ever imagined. Sigma escaped the confines of its prison, took control of the world’s nuclear weapons and proceeded to threaten civilization.

Adam’s father knew that the world’s only hope was a series of synthetic machines that could match Sigma’s mental and physical strength. However, the weapons could only be mounted by minds that had been sourced from living bodies that they could never inhabit following their departure.

When Adam was recruited to stop Sigma, all he saw was an opportunity to escape death. He knew that his body would be destroyed and that he would inhabit the physical form of a machine forever, never to retake human flesh again.

But Adam didn’t care. The transition would assure his survival. But then he actually took his new robotic form and the boy realized that so much more was at stake. The protagonist hadn’t merely escaped his incurable illness.

He had been chosen to stand between mankind and an AI that was far smarter and stronger than he could ever be. It was a mission for which he was ill-prepared but which he couldn’t afford to fail.

The Six series is Adam’s story. It follows his journey as he acclimates to life as a machine. These novels try to explore the philosophical and moral implications of Adam’s situation.

The author drives his readers to question whether Adam is still human or if he has become something entirely different.

Some emphasis is also placed on the hero’s companions. Adam is merely one of several terminally ill children who are given robotic bodies and sent out to fight Sigma.

Because these are YA novels, a lot of time is spent looking at Adam’s friendships and romantic relationships.

Mark Alpert, the author, wrote these novels because he wanted to use their story as a tool to introduce pre-teens and teenagers to science.

Best The Six Books

These novels have been praised for their action, character development, and inventive concepts, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Six: Adam was born to die. He spent his teenage years certain that the disease that had stolen his mobility would also steal his life. But then an AI called Sigma escaped and Adam’s father called upon him and a few other terminally ill kids to save the day.

Adam would abandon his human body forever in favor of inhabiting a new synthetic form. In doing so, Adam would have the strength to save the world. But he would also lose his soul.

The Siege: Adam is a machine, or rather he inhabits the body of a machine. His old body was terminally sick. And he was chosen to take his new synthetic form so that he could fight an evil AI.

The battle against Sigma continues. But the enemy keeps learning, and this time it looks like he has found a way to turn one of Adam’s colleagues against him.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Dark Stars” series by A.K DuBoff. Elle lives in a universe where special technology has made it possible for people to reset reality to past moments. A routine reset on her homeworld somehow lands Elle in a new body, one that has magic. Now she is being told that the fate of civilization sits on her shoulders.

You should also enjoy “The Last Sanctuary” Series by Kyla Stone. Gabriel is a ruthless fellow who hates the elites. He sneaks aboard the Grand Voyager, a ship that has promised decadence to the wealthy members of society, determined to bring about terrible change. But then unexpected circumstances throw the Grand Voyager into a terrible nightmare and now all Gabriel cares about is survival.

What Is The Next Book in The Six Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Six Series. The newest book is The Silence and was released on July, 1st 2017.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *