Mary Ellen Taylor Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mary Ellen Taylor is an American author that writes mystery and romance. Mary is a native of Richmond, Virginia, though she has fond memories of Alexandria and the Eastern Shore. The Southern author’s home state is very important to her.

Get notified when Mary Ellen Taylor releases a new book at

Order of Alexandria Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 At the Corner of King Street 2015 Description / Buy
2 The View from Prince Street 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Union Street Bakery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Union Street Bakery 2013 Description / Buy
2 Sweet Expectations 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Mary Ellen Taylor Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Winter Cottage 2018 Description / Buy
2 Spring House 2019 Description / Buy
3 Honeysuckle Season 2020 Description / Buy
4 The Words We Whisper 2021 Description / Buy
5 The Brighter the Light 2022 Description / Buy
6 When the Rain Ends 2023 Description / Buy
7 The Promise of Tomorrow 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It influences the stories she writes. This is why the first novel in ‘The Union Street Bakery’ series was set in Alexandria. She has also written novels in and around the Eastern Shore. Mary’s family appreciated stories, be they anecdotes or longer tales. The fact that she eventually turned storytelling into her career did not come as a surprise.

Though, some people were probably caught off guard when she chose to leave her marketing job for publishing. Mary made the leap because she understood the power of stories. She realized early on that stories could move people in ways that few other things could, filling them with love, sorrow, fear, joy, and so much more.

She wanted to write novels that could induce those same emotions in other people. Her goal was to connect with her readers in profound ways, and she succeeded. People that have read Mary’s contemporary mystery and romance novels might not know that she also writes suspense novels as ‘Mary Burton‘.

‘Mary Ellen Taylor’ is a pen name. Even though the author writes in two genres, keeping them separate isn’t a challenge for her because they are so different. Mary Ellen Taylor’s novels have so many historical elements.

On the other hand, Mary Burton’s books are suspenseful. They also emphasize the investigative components of the work that her protagonists do. When Mary is developing a new novel, she starts by setting her sights on an interesting character that she can build her novel around.

Once she understands her central character, her goals, motives, and dreams, and the conundrum that is threatening to upend her life, Mary can start constructing the rest of the story. She will plot her books out beforehand. Once her editor approves her synopsis, she will start writing.

But things don’t always go according to plan. On one occasion, she wrote the first two hundred pages of a book, and then she threw them all out because an unexpected character had entered the picture. Mary realized that she could make the story better by starting over. The author is not afraid to give her characters the freedom to dictate the direction her story will take.

Most of her writing is done in the living room. Mary’s children were still young when she started writing. She decided to write from the living room because, from that position, she could hear everything that happened in every corner of the house. Her children grew up and left the house but Mary was too accustomed to her makeshift office to leave. The table on which she writes came from her father. He gave it to her after he retired from the legal field.

Best Mary Ellen Taylor Books

Writing isn’t Mary’s only passion. She cooks and bakes. In fact, she joined the Culinary Arts program at the University of Richmond, graduating with a Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate. Mary’s best books include:

Winter Cottage: When her mother died, Lucy Kincaid expected to find a quaint bungalow in Cape Hudson, Virginia. She knew that she had inherited the property from her mother. She never expected a grand estate with numerous shadows and a treasure trove of secrets.

Now, Lucy has a chance to find the truth. If she can unravel the secrets of Winter Cottage, she may finally drag her family’s legacy to the surface. If she’s lucky, Lucy may also find a home, the one thing she has always wanted.

Honeysuckle Season: If the dead marriage and multiple miscarriages were not enough, Libby’s father was now dead. She couldn’t remember feeling so alone. She had no idea that Elaine Grant was about to change everything.

Elaine owned the historic Woodmont estate. Libby was supposed to photograph a wedding at the estate. Elaine decided that she wanted Libby to photograph the work that Colton Reese, a young widower, was doing to restore the grounds. For reasons she barely understood, the old greenhouse caught Libby’s eye.

It wasn’t the only part of the estate that intrigued her. She was still trying to explore it all when she found the letter in her father’s office and realized the truth about herself and her parents.

When Does The Next Mary Ellen Taylor book come out?

The next book by Mary Ellen Taylor is The Promise of Tomorrow and will be released on June, 1st 2024.

2 thoughts on “Mary Ellen Taylor”

  1. Just read Union Street bakery. I am enthralled by its unusual twists and turns , characters, lack of one protagonist (strictly according to me) various distinctions like forgiveness, love and acceptance. Oh i loved it. Thank you for the lovely work you have produced, kept me intrigued and enthralled for so many hours.

  2. Will there be a third book in the Union Street bakery series?? I love the three sisters and would be eager to read about Daisy and Gordon’s lives together with their baby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *