Michael Crichton Books

Author Michael Crichton was born in Chicago, Illinois (on October 23, 1942); he grew up on Long Island in Roslyn, New York. He had a strong interest in an early age, at just fourteen, he a travel column in The New York Times. He began studying at Harvard in 1960, after always planning on becoming a writer. His problems with an English professor at Harvard led him to get a bachelor’s degree in biological anthropology in 1964. He was later initiated into the Phi Beta Kappa Society. Due to the fact that he was six feet nine inches tall, he felt alienated from other people, and was keenly aware of his own intellect.

Order of Jurassic Park Series

# Read Title Published
1 Jurassic Park 1990
2 The Lost World 1995

Order of Michael Crichton Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Odds On 1966
2 Scratch One 1967
3 Easy Go 1968
4 A Case of Need 1968
5 The Venom Business 1969
6 Zero Cool 1969
7 The Andromeda Strain 1969
8 Drug of Choice 1970
9 Grave Descend 1970
10 Five Patients 1970
11 DEALING or the Berkeley-to-Boston Forty Brick Lost Bag Blues 1972
12 The Terminal Man 1972
13 Binary 1973
14 Westworld (Short Story) 1974
15 The Great Train Robbery 1975
16 Eaters of the Dead 1976
17 Congo 1980
18 Sphere 1987
19 Rising Sun 1992
20 Disclosure 1994
21 Airframe 1996
22 Timeline 1999
23 Prey 2002
24 State of Fear 2004
25 Next 2006
26 Pirate Latitudes 2009
27 Micro 2011
28 Dragon Teeth 2017

Order of Michael Crichton Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Electronic Life 1983
2 Travels 1988
Print: Print PDF

Michael Crichton was a workaholic; he would work for about six or seven weeks on drafting a novel , and towards the end of the process, he would wake earlier and earlier and get only about four hours a night. Crichton was married five times, only one of which did not end in divorce; it ended when he died of Lymphoma on November 4, 2008 when he was 66 years old. His fifth wife, Sherri Alexander was pregnant with their son at the time; he was born in early 2009.

He wrote many scripts (some of which he directed himself), created the television series “ER”, wrote “Jurassic Park” (including the sequel “The Lost World”), and wrote many stand alone novels. He also wrote some short stories and non fiction; Crichton wrote under his own name and with the name John Lange and with his brother, he wrote a novel as “Michael Douglas” (the name is a combination of their first names). His work is from the techno-thriller, science fiction, adventure, and action genres.


His novel “A Case of Need” won best novel from Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Award in the year 1969. He won another Edgar for “The First Great Train Robbery” for best motion picture. His show “ER” won a Peabody and an Emmy.


Crichton’s work was adapted into many movies (“The First Great Train Robbery” was done by Crichton himself). “Jurassic Park” and “The Lost World” were both made into a movie by Steven Spielberg. “The Andromeda Strain” was made into a movie in 1971. Barry Levinson made adaptations of “Disclosure” (released in 1994) and “Sphere” (released in 1998). Blake Edwards made “The Carey Treatment” into a movie in 1972. In 2003, “Timeline” was made into a movie that was directed by Richard Donner.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Michael Crichton, this section will help with that. .

Jurassic Park: This is the first novel in the “Jurassic Park” series and was released in the year 1990. A billionaire is able to clone dinosaurs. His ace team of scientists are able to extract DNA from the dinosaurs, and grow them in his laboratories. He then locks them on an island, secured behind electric fences. This will create a sort of theme park for people to visit.

He has a group of different scientists, from different fields, to see the park, however, something goes terribly wrong. Someone that works on the island becomes a traitor and turns the power to the fences off. This allows the dinosaurs to get out.

The Lost World: This is the second novel in the “Jurassic Park” series and was released in the year 1995. Six years have gone by since the disaster at Jurassic Park. Ian Malcolm (mathematician and chaos theorist) works with Richard Levine to find a lost world of dinosaurs. This comes after rumors come out about some animal corpses that are found on the shores of Costa Rica.

They find out about Site B, located on Isla Sorna; which is the production facility that InGen (the no longer functioning company responsible for bringing back the dinosaurs) use to hatch and grow them. It is near Isla Nublar, or Jurassic Park.

Disclosure: This is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 1994. In just one day (just 24 hours) Thomas Sanders’ entire world falls apart. He gets passed over for a promotion, his new female boss comes onto him while they have a drink after work, and then, she claims that he sexually harassed her the night before.

She demands that he transfers, this would cut him off from the millions that he would have made when the company he owns was floated on the stock market.