Jurassic Park Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jurassic Park is a series of two novels written by a bestselling American author of sci-fi & fantasy, literature & fiction and mystery & fiction novels Michael Crichton. The author began the publication of Jurassic Park series in 1990 when the Jurassic Park the first book in the series was published. The second novel book The Lost World was published in 1995.

Order of Jurassic Park Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jurassic Park ( By: Michael Crichton) 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Lost World (By: Michael Crichton) 1995 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When Jurassic Park was received so well as a book, many fans began lobbying Michael Crichton for a sequel. He had never written a sequel to any of his novels before and was hesitant to do so. After the success of the Jurassic Park film, Crichton had a new fan interested in making a sequel: Steven Spielberg. Crichton eventually decided to do it and had a lot of trouble with it structurally as he tried to make it similar to the first book without just re-writing the first book. It was also difficult him because he didn’t need to explain the scientific probability of such a situation since he did that in the first one and this one was more action than he may have been used to.

The Lost World title is an homage to Arthur Conan Doyle‘s novel of the same name that he used as an inspiration for this story. Both stories feature an expedition to an isolated island where dinosaurs roam. Of course, if you’ve read both or see both movies you know that similarities pretty end there. The Lost World ended up being the only sequel to one of his novels that Michael Crichton ever wrote.


Jurassic Park, the first book in the series was award the Secondary BILBY Award. The BIBLY Awards are awarded annually by the Queensland Branch of the Children’s Book Council of Australia. BILBY is an acronym of Books I Love Best Yearly.


The first book in the series, Jurassic Park was adapted into a 1993 American sci-fi adventure movie produced by Kathleen Kennedy and directed by Steven Spielberg. The movie is set in a fictional islet of Isla Nublar situated off Central America’s Pacific Coast proximal to Costa Rica. The film won more than 20 awards, and it is considered as a landmark in the development of computer generated.

The Lost World was essentially written for the purpose of being a sequel film and that’s exactly what it became. The film starred Jeff Goldblum back in his role as Dr. Ian Malcolm as well as Julianne Moore and Vince Vaughn.

Jurassic Park 3 would take moments that were unused from the earlier books, but it wasn’t based on any book. Nor were the later sequels, Jurassic World and Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom.


These are two best books in Jurassic Park series by Michael Crichton, Jurassic Park, and The Lost World.

Jurassic Park: The year is 1989 when a series of bizarre animal attacks happen in Costa Rica. In the nearby fictional island Isla Nublar, a worker is seriously injured on a construction project- whose employers deny to disclose any information about.

One of the animal species is identified as Procompsognathus, and Alan Grant and his apprentice are quickly contacted to confirm the identification. However, they are abruptly lured away by John Hammond the founder of International Genetic Technologies to visit his biological preserve that he has established on Isla Nublar.

Upon arrival, it is revealed that the preserve is a theme park known as Jurassic Park showcasing cloned dinosaurs. The theme park animals are recreated using contaminated dinosaur DNA found in blood inside ticks and gnats fossilized and preserved in amber.

The recent attacks in the park have spooked John’s investors- and to counteract this, John enlists Grant and Sattler as his new consultants. The two stand in counterbalance Donald Gennaro and to Ian Malcolm who are pessimistic about the theme park prospects.

Malcolm, having been consulted before the park was created believes that it will collapse. Countering Malcolm’s prediction, Hammond groups his new consultants with his grandchildren Alexis and Tim. While touring around Jurassic Park they find Velociraptor eggshell- and this proves Malcolm’s earlier predictions that the recreated dinosaurs have been breeding against genetics predetermination.

In the meantime, Dennis Nerdy, the chief programmer of the park attempts secret spying for Lewis Dodgson. He activates a backdoor, shuts down the park security system and steals frozen embryos for a contact waiting deep in the park. However, he is killed by a dinosaur before he meets his contact.

In the absence of Nerdy to activate the security system, the electric fence remains off, and dinosaur escapes the park. They attack guests on tour while Grant and his friends and children become lost in the theme park. Malcolm is severely wounded in the incident, but fortunately, he is found by Robert Muldoon and Gennaro.

On the other hand, John Arnold, Hammond and Muldoon struggle to restore power to the Jurassic park while Dr. Harding attends to the wounded Malcolm. They manage to restore the computer system and temporarily get the theme park back in order.

While to restore the Jurassic’s power, they fail to discover that the system had been running on auxiliary power and soon runs out thus shutting the park for a second time resulting the parks most aggressive and intelligent raptors escape their confinement.

In the meantime, Grant and his children make their way back to the Visitor’s Center. They manage to recall the supply ship that had left the island with some raptors on a boar. Gennaro orders the island to be destroyed, but Grant demands that they must first inspect the whole situation.

The Lost World: The Lost World is the second in Jurassic Park series. The action starts six years after the incidents in the first book- six years since the dream of imagination and science came to a crashing end. The park dismantled, dinosaurs destroyed and the island indefinitely closed to visitors.


If you like Jurassic Series by Michael Crichton, then you will like these two novel series, “Jack Ryan Universe” by Tom Clancy and “Extraordinary Voyages” by Jules Verne.

What Is The Next Book in The Jurassic Park Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Jurassic Park Series. The newest book is The Lost World and was released on September, 17th 1995.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *