Paul Doiron Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Paul Doiron is an American novelist best known for the writing of a series of very popular mystery thrillers – the Mike Bowditch series. He is a retired editor of the “Down East: The Magazine of Maine”, where he served between 2005 and 2013, before quitting to pursue a full-time career. Born and raised in Maine, he went to Yale University for his Bachelors in English and proceeded to Emerson College, where he graduated with an MFA in Creative Writing. He is a member of the Maine Humanities Council and the Maine Arts Commission. He is also a Registered Maine Guide and lives near a trout stream where he spends most of his time fly-fishing.

Order of Mike Bowditch Series

1The Poacher's Son 2010Description / Buy
2Trespasser 2011Description / Buy
3Bad Little Falls 2012Description / Buy
4Massacre Pond 2013Description / Buy
5The Bone Orchard 2014Description / Buy
6The Bear Trap (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
7The Precipice 2015Description / Buy
8Widowmaker 2016Description / Buy
9Knife Creek 2017Description / Buy
10Rabid (Short Story) 2018Description / Buy
11Stay Hidden 2018Description / Buy
12Backtrack (Short Story) 2019Description / Buy
13Almost Midnight 2019Description / Buy
14The Imposter (Short Story) 2020Description / Buy
15One Last Lie 2020Description / Buy
16The Caretaker 2021Description / Buy
17Dead by Dawn 2021Description / Buy
18Hatchet Island 2022Description / Buy

Order of Paul Doiron Non-Fiction Books

1Eating Between The Lines 1998Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Paul Doiron’s made his name with the Mike Bowditch series of novels. The first novel in the series was the 2010 published “The Poachers Son”, which went on to spawn many more novels. One of the most popular and critically acclaimed thriller novels out there, the novels have been nominated for and won many prestigious awards over the years.


Paul Doiron’s novels have won him many awards over the years. The first novel in the series “The Poachers Son” was nominated for the Best Fiction of 2010 at the Maine Literary Awards, Best Novel at the Thriller Awards, a Macavity, an Anthony, and an Edgar Award. It was the winner of Best First Novel at the Strand Critics Award and the Barry Award. “Trespasser” his second novel was a winner of the Maine Literary Award. The third novel was on the shortlist for the Maine Literary Award and the RT Reviewers Choice Award. “The Bone Orchard” was the recipient of the Down East Best of Maine award while the fourth novel “Massacre Pond” made the final shortlist for the Maine Literary Award, in addition to being an Indie Favorite and an Indie Next Pick.


With some of the most prestigious accolades awarded to his novels, Paul Doiron writes some of the most incredible mystery novels. Nonetheless, three of the most appreciated of Paul Doiron novels include:

Knife Creek: The eighth novel of the Mike Bowditch novels is an electrifying novel that sees Mike Bowditch the Maine game warden, charged with getting rid of the wild boars causing havoc on farms and forest in the district. He makes a shocking discovery when he stumbles upon the body of a child in the forest. DNA tests show that the infant is related to a young woman that had disappeared on a rafting trip a few years earlier, presumed dead. Opening his investigation, Bowditch learns that the people he has trusted for many years may just not be who he thought they were. But now the violence comes closer to home with his detractors willing to do anything to ensure their dark secrets do not come out into the open.

The Bone Orchard: The fifth novel in the series is a suspense-filled tragedy. After experiencing a family tragedy, Mike Bowditch quits the Maine Warden Service to go work as a North Woods fishing guide. However, when Kathy Frost his former Sgt and mentor is involved in a cop suicide he thinks he may have to go back. Kathy is now in the sights of not only the dead cop’s platoon mates, but also an unknown sniper. It is not long before Kathy is shot while on a trip to her farmhouse and Mike is forced into the hunt for the shooter. To get to the bottom of the mystery, he needs to dig into his ex-mentor’s dark past, even as he deals with complications in his love life. With Frost on the throes of death, Bowditch must make difficult choices if he is to apprehend the dangerous shooter spreading terror in central Maine.

Massacre Pond: The award-winning novel sees Mike Bowditch called to investigate a weird crime scene. Elizabeth Morse a rich animal rights activist just discovered seven moose killed, cut up, and their parts spread on her vast estate. What may seem like a sense killing of harmless moose soon turns out to be not so simple. It would seem that the locals are angry at Morse’s plans to buy up huge tracts of land to establish a new game park. Things come to a head when a dead body is discovered on Morse’s estate, resulting in a massive hunt for a ruthless killer. However, if he is to solve the case, Bowditch has to risk the loss of everything precious to him, including the love of his life, his career, and his best friends. It is a moving novel of ruthless cruelty set against the strong will of a woman with missionary zeal.

When Does The Next Paul Doiron book come out?

The next book by Paul Doiron is Hatchet Island and will be released on June, 28th 2022. It is the newest book in the Mike Bowditch Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *