Mike Bowditch Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mike Bowditch is a series of mystery suspense novels written by Paul Doiron. Mike Bowditch is also the primary protagonist of the series.

Order of Mike Bowditch Series

1The Poacher's Son2010Description / Buy
2Trespasser2011Description / Buy
3Bad Little Falls2012Description / Buy
4Massacre Pond2013Description / Buy
5The Bone Orchard2014Description / Buy
6The Bear Trap (Short Story)2014Description / Buy
7The Precipice2015Description / Buy
8Widowmaker2016Description / Buy
9Knife Creek2017Description / Buy
10Rabid (Short Story)2018Description / Buy
11Stay Hidden2018Description / Buy
12Backtrack (Short Story)2019Description / Buy
13Almost Midnight2019Description / Buy
14The Imposter (Short Story)2020Description / Buy
15One Last Lie2020Description / Buy
16The Caretaker2021Description / Buy
17Dead by Dawn2021Description / Buy
18Hatchet Island2022Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When readers meet Bowditch in The Poacher’s Son, the first novel, the 24-year-old is just trying to get by as a Game Warden in Maine.

Bowditch’s childhood was a horrible one. His parents divorced when he was nine, and Jack was the worst man a father could ever be. When he wasn’t indulging in all manner of vices, the fellow was all too eager to take his son along on his poaching trips.

It was only by sheer luck that Bowditch grew up to become a responsible, law-abiding citizen. The young man wanted nothing to do with his father. And for two years, the pair had respected one another’s boundaries.

So when Jack suddenly reached out, Bowditch was hesitant to reconnect. Things took an even more disturbing turn when the young man learned later on that his father had committed murder.

Jack was many things but Bowditch couldn’t bring himself to believe that the man would ever take a life. So, despite his better judgment, the protagonist put his mind to the task of solving the murder.

Bowditch believed that if he could find the real killer, the police would call off the manhunt and his father would live to see another sunrise. The hero had no idea that his actions would put his life and his career in jeopardy.

Even though many of the Mike Bowditch books can be read independently, one is better off starting the series from the very beginning. It is true that each installment has its own mystery that Bowditch must solve.

While a few supporting characters appear throughout the series, most mysteries are surrounded by an entirely new cast. That being said, the Mike Bowditch series tells Mike’s story.

The books are an exploration of his journey and character, and you cannot hope to appreciate the development he undergoes unless you read his stories in the order that the books were published.

Bowditch is a fascinating character. As a Game Warden, he is often drawn into cases whose crimes are perpetrated in the wood of Maine. In many situations, Bowditch is only ever called upon to act as a consultant.

Because he knows the wilderness of Maine, Bowditch’s experience often proves essential to the investigative efforts of the police. Things keep going wrong because the hero is always overstepping his boundaries.

He always looks deeper than the police permit, growing so entangled in each case and determining to solve each crime no matter the cost that he ends up stepping on all the wrong toes.

Bowditch also makes a lot of poor decision. But over time, he matures, learning to proceed more carefully.

Mike Bowditch Awards

The Poacher’s Son won the Barry Award and the Strand Critics Award. It also received an Edgar and Anthony Award nomination.

Best Mike Bowditch Books

These novels have been praised for the time they spend bringing the great outdoors to life and explaining the work of a Game Warden, with the best books in the series including:

Massacre Pond: Elizabeth Morse was buying up large parcels of land, determined to create a new park. And that made her quite unpopular among the people whose jobs would be lost as a result.

So when seven moose were butchered and left on her estate, Bowditch was called upon to investigate. At first, Bowditch thought he had a prank on his hands. But then a ruthless killer emerged and Bowditch realized that hunting him down would involve losing everything he loved.

The Bone Orchard: Mike Bowditch was done with investigative work. He had abandoned the Maine Warden Service. But then his mentor killed a troubled war veteran and the dead man’s friends took offense.

Now, Sgt. Kathy Frost has been shot and Bowditch will stop at nothing to find the person responsible.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the Cork O’Connor Series by William Kent Krueger. Cork doesn’t have much. Part Irish, Part Indian, he lost his marriage, his children and his position as chief of Aurora, Minnesota. However, people keep coming to Cork with their violent problems.

Another good read is the Elvis Cole Series by Robert Crais. Elvis Cole and Joe Pike are private eyes working out of Hollywood. Their client list has more ordinary but desperate souls looking for a lucky break in a difficult town than it does celebrities.

What Is The Next Book in The Mike Bowditch Series?

The next book in the The Mike Bowditch Series by Paul Doiron is Hatchet Island and will be released on June, 28th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *