Reed Farrel Coleman Books

Reed Farrel Coleman is the youngest of three boys and was raised in Sheepshead County. One day while walking from school, he had a shot and later on, saw a man lying flat on the ground, with a lethal wound on his stomach. This was the point in his life when he realized that people do get hurt. Upon joining high school, Coleman ventured into writing. Throughout his years, Coleman has worked at different jobs such as a car lease agent, baby food sales, restaurants as a cook and finally delivering home cooking oil. While attending The New School, Coleman met his wife to be Rosanne. Currently, they have two children, Dylan and Kaitlyn. Coleman never had at one point considered taking writing as a full-time career, until one day when he was attending a detective fiction class.

Order of Dylan Klein Series

# Read Title Published
1 Life Goes Sleeping 1991
2 Little Easter 1993
3 They Don't Play Stickball in Milwaukee 1997

Order of Gulliver Dowd Series

# Read Title Published
1 Dirty Work 2013
2 Valentino Pier 2013
3 The Boardwalk 2015
4 Love and Fear 2016

Order of Gus Murphy Series

# Read Title Published
1 Where It Hurts 2016
2 What You Break 2017

Order of Jack Kenny Series

# Read Title Published
1 Bronx Requiem 2012

Order of Jesse Stone Series (by Reed Farrel Coleman)

# Read Title Published
1 Blind Spot 2014
2 The Devil Wins 2015
3 Debt to Pay 2016

Order of Joe Serpe Series

# Read Title Published
1 Hose Monkey 2006
2 The Fourth Victim 2011

Order of Moe Prager Series

# Read Title Published
1 Walking the Perfect Square 2002
2 Redemption Street 2004
3 The James Deans 2005
4 Soul Patch 2007
5 Empty Ever After 2007
6 Innocent Monster 2010
7 Hurt Machine 2011
8 Onion Street 2013
9 The Hollow Girl 2014

Order of Reed Farrel Coleman Standalone Novels


# Read Title Published
1 PULP INK 2011
2 Unloaded 2016
Print: Print PDF

Some of the works that Coleman is known for include the Moe Prager Series, and other book series, which feature the protagonists, Dylan Klein, Gulliver Dowd and Joe Serpe. The Gulliver Dowd character is mainly based on an e-police officer whom he had met before. The Joe Serpe book series were previously written under the pseudonym of Tony Spinosa, however, at the moment, they are available under the Reed Farrel Coleman titles. He has penned down numerous standalone characters books such as The Tower with Ken Bruen, Gun Church, and John Roe of the New York Police Department. He has also penned down numerous essays, short stories, and poems. Coleman considers several critically acclaimed authors has his early influences; they include Lawrence Block, William Blake, Wallace Stevens, Raymond Chandler, T.S Elliot and Dashiell Hamlet.

Later on, Coleman found significance in the works of colleagues, Ken Bruen, S.J Rozan, Peter Spiegelman and Peter Blauner. Currently, Coleman is on a four-year book contract and is expected to take over the writing of Jesse Stone series by Robert B. Parker. He also has a 2-year deal which features the retired Suffolk County police officer turned Private Investigator, Gus Murphy. He is a former executive Mystery Writers of America Vice President and also one of the founding members of the Mystery writers of America.

Reed Farrel Coleman Awards

Coleman is the recipient of numerous literary awards especially with the Moe Prager book series. He has also been awarded an Anthony Award, Barry Award, Shamus Award and a Macavity Award. Furthermore, his stories and books have also been nominated for various awards such as the Edgar Awards ad Gumshoe Awards.

Reed Farrel Coleman Books into Movies

Reed Farrel Coleman’s book the Tower has been selected for an onscreen adaptation. Currently, the project is its development phase.

Best Reed Farrel Books

Walking the Perfect Square: This is the first book in the Moe Pager book series. In this installment, Coleman introduces the reader to Moe Prager, an ex-cop, who is waiting to call his daughter during her 18th birthday. In the middle of an exceedingly ugly family meltdown, Moe Prager is exceedingly desperate to find a viable way to come to terms with what made his happy family implode. However, as he is waiting, Moe Pager receives a call, which will not only solve a case, which has continuously haunted him and his wife but will also supply him with the glue that will be used to patch up his family. On December 8th, one Patrick Maloney, who is a purportedly popular college student decides to walk out from a Manhattan nightspot and into oblivion. It is no wonder that Patrick Maloney’s sudden disappearance registers on the radar screen.

However, it does not take long before the son of Sam strikes, and Elvis is pronounced dead. Is is the BeeGees vs. the Sex Pistols, the Dirt Lounge and Studio 54. Moe Pager is an ex-cop who was forced into early retirement due to an injury that he sustained while serving in the police force. Despite the fact that Patrick Malone had disappeared many years ago, Moe Pager had not noticed any of this. However, when Prager ex-partner asks for an offer to work on the new case, Moe Prager full of doubt over his career, agrees to the deal. With that being said, Walking the Perfect Square is a great introduction to a highly entertaining series. It is clear to see why Coleman is the recipient of numerous awards, especially in the Moe Pager book series.