Lawrence Block Books

Lawrence Block is an author best known for writing novels of the crime and mystery and other fiction novels for over 50 years. He has written over 100 books. The first time his name appeared in print was on the short story “You Can’t Lose,” which was published in February of 1958 in the magazine, Manhunt.

He has written several series of books each based on a specific character. One of them featured the Matthew Scudder (a cop-turned-private detective). Another featured a suave gentleman burglar named Bernie Rhodenbarr. He has published under several pseudonyms as well as his own name; these pen names include Jill Emerson, John Warren Wells, Lesley Evans, and Anne Campbell Clarke.

Order of Bernie Rhodenbarr Series

Order of Chip Harrison Series

Order of Evan Tanner Series

Order of John Keller Series

Order of Kit Tolliver Series

Order of Lawrence Block Non-Fiction Books

Order of Lawrence Block Short Story Collections

Order of Lawrence Block Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Grifter's Game 1961
2 A Diet of Treacle 1961
3 Coward's Kiss / Death Pulls a Doublecross 1961
4 $20 Lust / Cinderella Sims 1961
5 Borderline 1962
6 You Could Call it Murder 1962
7 Strange Embrace 1962
8 Lucky at Cards 1964
9 The Girl with the Long Green Heart 1965
10 Deadly Honeymoon 1967
11 After the First Death 1969
12 The Specialists 1969
13 After the First Death 1969
14 Ronald Rabbit is a Dirty Old Man 1971
15 Ariel 1979
16 Code of Arms 1981
17 Random Walk 1988
18 The Lost Cases of Ed London 2001
19 Small Town 2002
20 Getting Off 2011
21 Catch and Release (Short Story) 2011
22 Nothing Short of Highway Robbery (Short Story) 2013
23 I Know How to Pick 'Em (Short Story) 2014
24 The Crime of Our Lives 2015
25 The Girl With the Deep Blue Eyes 2015
26 Sinner Man 2016
27 Resume Speed (Short Story) 2016

Order of Manhattan Noir Series

# Read Title Published
1 Manhattan Noir 2006
2 Manhattan Noir 2: The Classics 2008

Order of Matthew Scudder Series

Order of Matthew Scudder Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published
1 One Night Stands and Lost Weekends 1999
2 The Night and the Music 2011

Order of Paul Kavanagh Series

# Read Title Published
1 Such Men Are Dangerous 1969
2 The Triumph of Evil 1972
3 Not Comin' Home to You 1974

Order of The Seven Deadly Sins Series


Print: Print PDF

Lawrence Block Awards:

Over his long career, Block has earned many awards for his work. He won four Edgar and Shamus awards, and two Japanese Maltese Falcon awards. Some of the other ones he has received include the Nero Wolfe and Phillip Marlow awards, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Private Eye Writers of America. He got another Lifetime Achievement Award from the Crime Writers Association, which is in the United Kingdom. Mystery Ink magazine gave him the Gumshoe Lifetime Achievement Award. He also got the Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer Lifetime Achievement award in the short story category. He has also been featured in several mystery writing festivals.

Lawrence Block Books Into Movies:

Many of Block’s stories have been turned into movies. The first one was an adaptation of his novel, Campus Tramp, this was made into the movie The Antioch Adventure in 1967. In 1974, his book, Nightmare Honeymoon, was made into a movie. In 1985, one of his short stories was used on an episode of a series called Tales of the Unexpected; the episode was called “Nothin’ Short of Highway Robbery. His novel, 8 Million Ways To Die, was adapted into a movie in 1986. One of his stories was used in an episode of the short-lived series Alfred Hitchcock Presents in 1987; the episode was called “When This Man Dies.” One of his series of books was made into a movie in 1987 called The Burglar. In 2003, a story called Bradford in My Dreams was made into an episode of the series Spine Chillers. Block wrote a couple episodes of the series Tilt in 2005. He wrote a screenplay for a movie called My Blueberry Nights in 2007. Most recently, his novel A Walk Among the Tombstones was made into a movie in 2014.

Best Lawrence Block Books:

These books provide the introductions for each of Lawrence Block’s most successful series.

The Sins Of The Father: This is the first book in the Matthew Scudder series. This book revolves around the alleged murder of a young prostitute. The suspect is a minister’s son, and he hanged himself in his jail cell. The victim’s father comes to Scudder for answers about his daughter’s death.

Burglars Can’ Be Choosers: This book is an introduction into Block’s Benie Rhodenbarr series. Rhodenbarr is a good neighbor and friend and poker player. and professional burglar. He is a modern-day Robin Hood stealing from the rich well-to-do people of New York City. The reason he only robs rich people is because the poor don’t have anything to steal. In the introduction to this series, he gets himself in a huge heap of trouble when he goes to steal from someone and he finds their bloody corpse. The cops arrive and see him in the apartment, so this starts Rhodenbarr on a journey to find the real killer while avoiding jail.

Keller: This book is the introduction for the series of the same name. Keller is a stereotypical urban lonely guy. He works for decent pay, and he lives in a nice apartment. He also takes a little trip and kills someone in another country. He starts having doubts about his life, and he goes to a therapist. Then he decides to get a dog and a girlfriend.

Evan Tanner: This book begins the Evan Tanner series. Tanner hasn’t gotten any sleep in a decade. This started after a piece of shrapnel got embedded in his skull while he was on the battlefield. He finds very interesting ways to occupy his never ending waking hours. He joins many odd organizations such as the Flat Earth Society.