Matthew Scudder Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Matthew Scudder commonly referred to as Matt is a literary character and most loved creation by all-time American crime author Lawrence Block. The character first appeared in Sins of the Fathers in the 70’s- in which he is described as an alcoholic retired cop who had resigned from his job from the NYPD after accidentally killing a young lady. He lives in a hotel in Hell’s Kitchen and earns his daily living working as a private detective or either working some favors for his friends. The early entries of the series mostly focus on the scenes in which Matthew Scudder is mostly seen being alone and mostly in churches tithing and lighting taper for to honor the dead and mostly for the soul of the girl he had accidentally killed.

Get notified when Lawrence Block releases a new book at

Order of Matthew Scudder Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sins of the Fathers (By: Lawrence Block) 1976 Description / Buy
2 Time to Murder and Create ( By: Lawrence Block) 1976 Description / Buy
3 In the Midst of Death ( By: Lawrence Block) 1976 Description / Buy
4 A Stab in the Dark ( By: Lawrence Block) 1981 Description / Buy
5 Eight Million Ways to Die ( By: Lawrence Block) 1982 Description / Buy
6 When the Sacred Ginmill Closes (By: Lawrence Block) 1986 Description / Buy
7 Out on the Cutting Edge (By: Lawrence Block) 1989 Description / Buy
8 A Ticket to the Boneyard (By: Lawrence Block) 1990 Description / Buy
9 A Dance at the Slaughterhouse ( By: Lawrence Block) 1991 Description / Buy
10 A Walk Among the Tombstones ( By: Lawrence Block) 1992 Description / Buy
11 The Devil Knows You're Dead (By: Lawrence Block) 1993 Description / Buy
12 A Long Line of Dead Men (By: Lawrence Block) 1994 Description / Buy
13 Even the Wicked ( By: Lawrence Block) 1996 Description / Buy
14 Out the Window (Short Story) ( By: Lawrence Block) 1997 Description / Buy
15 Everybody Dies ( By: Lawrence Block) 1998 Description / Buy
16 Hope to Die ( By: Lawrence Block) 2001 Description / Buy
17 A Moment of Wrong Thinking (Short Story) ( By: Lawrence Block) 2002 Description / Buy
18 All the Flowers are Dying ( By: Lawrence Block) 2005 Description / Buy
19 A Drop of the Hard Stuff (By: Lawrence Block) 2011 Description / Buy
20 Let's Get Lost (Short Story) ( By: Lawrence Block) 2011 Description / Buy
21 A Candle for the Bag Lady (Short Story) ( By: Lawrence Block) 2012 Description / Buy
22 A Time to Scatter Stones ( By: Lawrence Block) 2018 Description / Buy
23 The Autobiography of Matthew Scudder ( By: Lawrence Block) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Get notified when Lawrence Block releases a new book at

Order of Matthew Scudder Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 One Night Stands and Lost Weekends ( By: Lawrence Block) 1999 Description / Buy
2 The Night and the Music ( By: Lawrence Block) 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

It is until in the early 1980’s in the Eight Million Ways to Die when Scudder makes a significant move when visits Alcoholic Anonymous meeting. The author had planned to conclude the series, but a promised he had made to an editor pal resulted in the publication of the series epilog By the Dawn’s Early Light- a story written detailing Scudder’s alcoholic days but from recoverer point of view.


Mathew Scudder series by Lawrence Block has been nominated and also won various awards. For instance, the book Eight Million Ways to Die was a nominated for 1983 Edgar Awards for Best Novel category while By Dawns Early Light won the 1985 Edgar Award for the Best Short Story category. When the Sacred Ginmill Closes was nominated for the 1987 Antony Awards under the Best Novel category, the same book was nominated for the Shamus Award in the same year. Out on the Cutting Edge was nominated for the 1990 Shamus Awards for the Best Category novel. Lawrence Block won the 2009 Shamus Award for the Best Character Award, Matt Scudder.


8 Million Ways to Die was adapted to an American Crime Film which premiered in 1986. The film was directed by Hal Ashby. Robert Towne wrote the screenplay while Jeff Bridges, Andy Garcia, and Rosanna Arquette starring in the movie, with Andy Garcia playing the leading role.


These are best of the books of Matt Scudder series by Lawrence Block:

Eight Million Ways to Die: Kim Dakkinen a professional and highly valued prostitute wants to quit her job. She hires Matthew Scudder, a private investigator to face her boss, Chance indicating that chance will not let her quit if she faced him.

Finding Chance himself seems an impossible task, but when Matt finally meets him, Chance informs Matt that Kim wasted her money and that he cannot hold any lady against her will. To prove this Chance has six women whom he provides them with food, clothing and their necessities.

After collecting his fee and a bonus, he heads to the Alcoholics Anonymous meeting – the next morning he learns from the news that a call girl was brutally murdered and turns out to be Kim.

Matt is confident that Chance was indeed involved in the death of Kim, but a dilemma arises when Chance hires him to prove that he is innocent. The only lead that Matt has is Kim’s expensive coat and a ring which Chance claims he did not buy her the items. A young hooligan then attacks Matt but fortunately, manages to fight him- he is later warned to stay out of the case by a Man who finds out about the assault by the hooligan.

While doing investigations, he tries to be sober. Sunny one of Chance call girls commits suicide; then a transsexual hooker is killed in a Queens motel- the wounds on the body of the deceased are similar to that of Kim. Matt must use the clues available to figure out the crazed serial killer as well fight to survive when he learn that he might be the next victim.

The Sins of the Fathers: When a young hooker is murdered in Greenwich Apartment, the girl’s father asks Matt Scudder- a private investigator to intervene. The prime suspect in the killing- a minister son is also dead, apparently committed suicide. With his investigations, Matt will soon find out the evils that exist and murderous lust where sons and daughters die for the sins of their parents.


If you love Matt Scudder series, you will love these two book series. Parker series by Richard Stark, a story of a master thief named Parker Lew Archer series by Ross Macdonald a story about Lew Archer a retired cop and a private detective based in Los Angeles.

What Is The Next Book in The Matthew Scudder Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Matthew Scudder Series. The newest book is The Autobiography of Matthew Scudder and was released on June, 24th 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *