Rick Yancey Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Richard “Rick” Yancey was born on November 4, 1962 in Miami, Florida. He wrote his first story while he was in the seventh grade for an assignment for his English class. He wrote it in longhand, and his mother (who worked as a legal secretary) typed it up for him. Rick would get an A on the story. It was then that he got the idea to try out writing fiction for a living. He would graduate from Roosevelt University with a B. A. in English.

Get notified when Rick Yancey releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Alfred Kropp Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp 2005 Description / Buy
2 The Seal of Solomon 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Thirteenth Skull 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Fifth Wave Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The 5th Wave 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Infinite Sea 2014 Description / Buy
3 The Last Star 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Teddy Ruzak Series as Richard Yancey

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Highly Effective Detective 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Highly Effective Detective Goes to the Dogs 2008 Description / Buy
3 The Highly Effective Detective Plays the Fool 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Highly Effective Detective Crosses the Line 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Monstrumologist Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Monstrumologist 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Curse of the Wendigo 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Isle of Blood 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Final Descent 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Rick Yancey Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Burning in Homeland 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Rick Yancey Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Confessions of a Tax Collector 2004 Description / Buy

Rick Yancey Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 All Good Things Come to an End 2011 Description / Buy
2 Sherlock Holmes: A Year of Mystery 1883 2022 Description / Buy
3 Sherlock Holmes: A Year of Mystery — 1882 2023 Description / Buy
4 Sherlock Holmes: A Year of Mystery 1884 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Instead of going to law school, he decided to work teaching English, and acting and directing in the community theaters in his town. In the year 1991, he would start working for the Internal Revenue Service, a job he had for twelve years. While working here, he met his wife, with whom he would start a family. In his free time, he wrote screenplays. His wife and collaborator suggested he publish one of his screenplays, which he did, and it became his first professionally published book. He quit his job in the year 2004 so that he could work as a writer full time; this was due to the success of “A Burning in Homeland”. He has published a non-fiction book (which is called “Confessions of a Tax Collector”) that chronicles his time at the IRS.

He has written different series, for different age groups, that include: “The Highly Effective Detective” series, “The Fifth Wave” series, “The Monstrumologist”, and “Alfred Kropp”.


“The Monstrumologist” won the Michael L. Printz Honor in the year 2010.


A film was made of the novel “The Fifth Wave” in 2016. It starred Chloe Grace Moretz, Maika Monroe, Maggie Siff, and Alex Roe.


For those readers looking to get into novels by Rick Yancey, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “The Fifth Wave”, “The Infinite Sea”, and “The Last Star”.

The Fifth Wave: This is the first novel in the “The Fifth Wave” series and was released in the year 2013. The first wave left darkness, and the second made it so that only the lucky made it out alive. The third wave saw the unlucky escape, and with the fourth wave, one rule applied: trust no one. The fifth wave has just begun, and Cassie runs away from Them on a stretch of highway that is quite lonely. “Them” are beings that only look human, they go around the countryside and kill anyone they come across.

Staying alone helps you stay alive, that is what Cassie Walker believes right up until she meets Evan Walker. He is both mysterious and beguiling, but he might just be the only hope that Cassie has for rescuing her brother or saving her own life. Cassie has to make a choice: either trust or despair, defiance or surrender, life or death. She either has get up or give up.

The Infinite Sea: This is the second novel in the “The Fifth Wave” series and was released in the year 2014. How do you get rid of the seven billion humans on Earth? Rid them of their humanity, that is how. It was pretty impossible to survive the first four waves.

Cassie now finds herself in a brand new world, one where there is no trust. The fifth wave rolls on, across the landscape; Ringer, Ben, and Cassie must confront the Others’ main goal: the extermination of the entire human race.

Cassie and her friends have not even seen how far the Others will sink, but the Others have not seen how high humanity can rise up, in this battle of love and hate, hope and despair, life and death.

The Last Star: This is the third novel in the “The Fifth Wave” series and was released in the year 2016. The Others came to save the Earth and the humans, but they chose to exterminate humans to save them. Beneath all the riddles is one fact: someone has betrayed Cassie. Ringer has been too, and Nugget, and Zombie. All the seven and a half billion people on Earth, those that used to live on the planet. First, they were betrayed by the Others, then by humans themselves.

These are the last days, and Earth’s last survivors will have to decide what is more important. They can either save themselves or save the thing that makes us human in the first place.

When Does The Next Rick Yancey book come out?

Rick Yancey doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Last Star and was released on May, 24th 2016. It is the newest book in the Fifth Wave Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *