Robert Fate Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Robert Fate was born with the full name of Robert Fate Bealmear in the year 1935 in Oklahoma City. His middle name Fate comes from a relative on his mother’s side being Marquis de Lafayette; something that his father used to joke about and say that the only truthful part about the whole thing was that his mother’s family could not even spell Lafayette. He joined the United States Marine Corps after finishing high school, and used his G.I. Bill to get educated in both Paris and schools throughout the United States.

Get notified when Robert Fate releases a new book at

Order of Baby Shark Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Baby Shark 2006 Description / Buy
2 Baby Shark's Beaumont Blues 2007 Description / Buy
3 Baby Shark's High Plains Redemption 2008 Description / Buy
4 Baby Shark's Jugglers at the Border 2009 Description / Buy
5 Baby Shark's Showdown at Chigger Flats 2012 Description / Buy
6 Baby Shark's Grass Widow Legacy 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before he became a writer, he worked in various fields (one of which was working in the modeling game for almost four years) and won an Oscar in 1984 for his work in special effects. Before writing novels, he wrote a lot of different kinds of things like magazine articles, screenplays, journals, television scripts, short stories, poetry, and stage plays. He says that he should have always been writing novels, but is glad that he finally got into writing them. Fate has a wife and daughter.

He is best known for writing the “Baby Shark” series of novels. The series is made up of mystery novels and stars Kristin Van Dijk, a girl who may look all nice and innocent but is a pool hustler that packs a nasty punch.


Besides winning an Oscar for his work in special effects, Fate has also been a finalist for some awards. Two novels in the “Baby Shark” series were finalists for Anthony Awards’s Best Paperback Original in back to back years. Fate has been a finalist for Editor’s Choice Award by Allbooks Review and Book of the Year finalist from Foreword Magazine.


For those looking to get into Robert Fate’s work, this next section will help with that. Each of the novels in the series are quite unique. It will look at the novels: “Baby Shark”, “Baby Shark’s Beaumont Blues”, and “Baby Shark’s High Plains Redemption”.

Baby Shark: This is the first novel in the “Baby Shark”series that was released in 2006. The series is set in the fifties. This novel starts outside of a pool hall on the roadside west of Abilene. A young woman named Kristin Van Dijk, currently seventeen, is made to watch as four thugs kill three people. One of which is her pool hustler father. She is beaten and left to die, until a Chinese immigrant named Henry Chin comes to her rescue. Henry’s grown up son was one of the men that was killed, and he helps Kristin recover from her wounds in secret. Henry gets a private investigator to find out who attacked four people and killed three of them; this is due to the police not being very interested in figuring things out. He hires two veterans to help teach Kristin how to protect herself. Kristin develops her pool skills and her ability to protect herself. She hustles pool and hunts for the thugs in West Texas; she soon gets the nickname of Baby Shark.

Baby Shark’s Beaumont Blues: This is the second novel in the “Baby Shark”series that was released in 2007. This novel is set about three years after book one, as Kristin is now twenty-one years old. In this one, she does not have much time to play pool for money. She accepts someone’s offer to join a private investigator firm, but things go bad pretty quick for her. She is now being hunted down by mobsters. It all started when her and her partner, Otis Millett, accept a job to find a girl who has been kidnapped, and it turns into something a lot tougher than either one thought it would be. The girl was about to become rich when her late father’s will was to be read right as she turned eighteen.

Baby Shark’s High Plains Redemption: This is the third novel in the “Baby Shark”series that was released in 2008. Kristin is about to turn twenty-two soon in May of 1957. For almost three years, she has worked as Otis Millett’s partner as a private investigator at his firm Millett Agency. She lives above a pool hall, where she hustles and she has a dog named Jim, who is a German shepherd. They are hired to deliver the ransom for a red haired woman named Savannah Smike, who is a piano player and is dating a bootlegger in Oklahoma. Otis and Kristin must figure out who wanted Savannah so badly they killed some people to do it.

When Does The Next Robert Fate book come out?

Robert Fate doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Baby Shark's Grass Widow Legacy and was released on October, 31st 2013. It is the newest book in the Baby Shark Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *