Robert Rankin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Robert Rankin was born in July of 1949 in Parsons Green, London, and is a prolific author of humorous fantasy fiction. There is also science fiction, metafiction, steampunk, urban legends, running gags, outrageous characters and the occult to be found in his work. In the late seventies, he started writing fiction and in the late nineties, he was able to crack the bestseller lists. This is after his previous books sold about a million copies combined. He never takes himself too seriously and goes on tour to sign fans’s books, do some stand-up, do a song with his air ukulele. Rankin also gives a question and answer session that is sure to entertain anyone who watches it. Rankin also draws the covers for all of his novels. He held a position as Brentford’s Writer in Residence at their Watermans Arts Centre in the eighties and put together a regular poetry event that Rankin says was the biggest in Britain and performed with some of the bands on the stage.

Get notified when Robert Rankin releases a new book at

Order of Brentford Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Antipope 1981 Description / Buy
2 The Brentford Triangle 1982 Description / Buy
3 East of Ealing 1984 Description / Buy
4 The Sprouts of Wrath 1988 Description / Buy
5 The Brentford Chainstore Massacre 1997 Description / Buy
6 Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls 1999 Description / Buy
7 Knees Up Mother Earth 2004 Description / Buy
8 The Brightonomicon 2005 Description / Buy
9 The Lord of the Ring Roads 2017 Description / Buy
10 The Chronicles of Banarnia 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Armageddon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Armageddon: The Musical 1990 Description / Buy
2 They Came and Ate Us 1991 Description / Buy
3 The Suburban Book of the Dead 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Barking Mad Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sprout Mask Replica 1997 Description / Buy
2 The Dance of the Voodoo Handbag 1998 Description / Buy
3 Waiting For Godalming 2000 Description / Buy

Order of Cornelius Murphy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Book of Ultimate Truths 1993 Description / Buy
2 Raiders of the Lost Carpark 1994 Description / Buy
3 The Greatest Show Off Earth 1994 Description / Buy
4 The Most Amazing Man Who Ever Lived 1995 Description / Buy

Order of Eddie Bear Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Toyminator 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Japanese Devil Fish Girl Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Japanese Devil Fish Girl and Other Unnatural Attractions 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Mechanical Messiah and Other Marvels of the Modern Age 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the World 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Chickens of Atlantis and Other Foul and Filthy Fiends 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Robert Rankin Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Garden of Unearthly Delights 1995 Description / Buy
2 A Dog Called Demolition 1996 Description / Buy
3 Nostradamus Ate My Hamster 1996 Description / Buy
4 Apocalypso 1998 Description / Buy
5 Snuff Fiction 1999 Description / Buy
6 The Fandom of the Operator 2001 Description / Buy
7 Web Site Story 2001 Description / Buy
8 The Witches of Chiswick 2003 Description / Buy
9 The Da Da De Da Da Code 2007 Description / Buy
10 Necrophenia 2008 Description / Buy
11 Retromancer 2009 Description / Buy
12 The Abominable Showman 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rankin considers himself the master of Far Fetched Fiction, which is a term that he coined in an attempt to get book stories to give him his own section, at least according to his joke biographies that can be found in the jackets to his work. He writes the “Cornelius Murphy” series, “The Witches” trilogy, “The Trilogy that Dare Not Speak Its Name”, the “Brentford” trilogy, and the “Armageddon” series. Rankin has also written some stand alone novels as well as some short stories and has illustrated some works for other writers.


“The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse” won SFX Best Novel Award in the year 2003. “The Brightonomicon” won The Hub Best Comedy Audio Award. He is a Fellow of The Victorian Steampunk Society. Rankin has been nominated for some other awards as well for his work.


“The Brightonomicon” was made into a thirteen part audio drama that involved a full cast. “The Antipope” was made for audio as well.


For those looking to get into Robert Rankin’s work, this next section will help with that. It will look at the novels: “The Antipope”, “The Book of Ultimate Truths”, and “Armageddon: The Musical”.

The Antipope: The first book in the “Brentford“ trilogy that was released in the year 1981. Jim Pooley and John Omally live in Brentford, a London borough, and spend a lot of time in Flying Swan where they drink a lot, womanize, gambling, and behaving in a feckless manner. Archroy’s wife sells his much cherished Morris Minor for only five magic beans and that is when the problems begin. Pope Alexander VI shows up, and the beans grow hideously to serve their lord the Antipope.

The Book of Ultimate Truths: The first book in the “Cornelius Murphy” series that was released in the year 1993. Cornelius Murphy gets hired by a mysterious man named Arthur Kobold, who says that he represents a publishing company that wants to print a complete version of “The Book of Ultimate Truths” which is a set of great secrets that were found out by Hugo Rune. The book had not been published before because it was suppressed by some unknown factors. Cornelius and his friend from school Tuppe have to go and find the book, which they set out to do. Campbell, an evil man, is also out looking for the book so that he can go to the Forbidden Zones (which are forbidden from humanity, unless you are a London cab driver, of course).

Armageddon: The Musical: The first book in the “Armageddon” series that was released in the year 1988. It is 2050 and “The Earthers”, which is a popular soap opera, is raking in big bucks in intergalactic ratings. Alien TV executives have just the thing to make their off-world audience happy, and that is an Armageddon type finale. Aliens love Earth, they find that it is an entertaining place to watch, but right now, this reality show’s ratings are down. The Alien executives plan on meddling with time and go back and change Elvis Presley in such a way so that some of the old shows would have a twist to them. There is a war going on Earth between different religions, who each value good ratings for different reasons. The good guys in the novel are Elvis Aaron Presley, Rex Mundi (King of the World), and Barry the loquacious sprout.

When Does The Next Robert Rankin book come out?

Robert Rankin doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Chronicles of Banarnia and was released on May, 28th 2019. It is the newest book in the Brentford Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *