The Rune Trilogy Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Rune Trilogy is a series of crime fiction novels by American novelists Jeffery Deaver. The lead in the series is the title character Rune, a young streetwise woman living in New York City. Rune makes her first appearance in the first novel in the series “Manhattan Is My Beat” that was published in 1988.

Get notified when Jeffery Deaver releases a new book at

Order of Rune Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Manhattan Is My Beat ( By: Jeffery Deaver) 1988 Description / Buy
2 Death of a Blue Movie Star ( By: Jeffery Deaver) 1990 Description / Buy
3 Hard News ( By: Jeffery Deaver) 1991 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When we are first introduced to Rune, she is an aspiring filmmaker that just moved to New York City. Rune spends most of her time watching movies, but often finds herself embroiled in a range of crime and murder mysteries. Curious and driven by her love for film making, her investigations with her camera puts her in danger while having the potential to make her career.

“Manhattan Is My Beat”, the first novel in the series introduces Rune as a twenty-year-old, five foot two woman with poetic imagination, near purple hair, and a slick repartee that just arrived in Manhattan. Despite being new in the city, she just found herself an empty Tribeca loft, where she squats to feed her passion for old movies that she grabs from a nearby video store. She shares a passion for one old flick titled “Manhattan is My Beat” with a lonely old neighbor known as Mr. Kelly. The movie is a classic noir about an unresolved bank heist that earned the robbers a million dollars.

She is leading her humbug life when she walks into Mr. Kelly’s shabby apartment to discover the man shot to death with his TV still playing his favorite flick. The police believe it was a robbery gone wrong, but Rune thinks the movie may have had something to do with the murder. What follows is an incredible thriller of a story as Rune hits the streets of the Big Apple, looking to find answers to one of the most chilling of mysteries. “Manhattan Is My Beat” is an excellent narrative that shows just why Deaver is a multiple award-winning novelist.


The series of novels has won several awards and made the shortlist for several others over the years. The first novel in the series “Manhattan Is My Beat” made the shortlist for the 1990 Edgar Allan Poe Award.


Manhattan Is My Beat: The award-winning first novel in the series is one of the most brilliant novels in the Rune Trilogy series. What makes the novel so brilliant is that it combines the aspect of crime movies and a crime mystery in real life, effortlessly blending the two in an explosive story. It has a gripping story line, a likable protagonist and one of the best of the 1988 classic real life bank heist stories, which would make any crime mystery fan salivate.

Death Of A Blue Movie Star: This is one of the most highly regarded titles in the Rune Trilogy series of novels. Rune is walking down the street when a bomb goes off outside a porn theater. She escapes death by a whisker and sees the happening as a perfect opportunity to make a film as seen from the perspective of Shelly Lowe, a porn star. But a second bomb takes out her star leaving her wondering about the motivation of the bomber. Her investigations soon lead her into one of the darkest of mysteries that portends danger. Nonetheless, in the pursuit for truth and her film, she will not relent even in the face of personal danger.

Hard News: The last novel in the trilogy is another remarkable novel in the series that sees Rune push the limits of her experience on capabilities. Rune is working as a camera operator for one of the major television stations, when she gets a letter from a prisoner on death row. After initial investigations, she believes the man is innocent and proceeds to make a story documenting his innocence on the program Network Current Events.


Many Rune Trilogy fans are also fans of the “Alex Delaware” series of novels by Jonathan Kellerman. The novels are psychological thrillers about child psychologist Alex Delaware who solves a range of criminal mysteries using clinical psychology.

Rune Trilogy fans also love the “Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus” Series by Faye Kellerman. The series features LAPD lieutenant Peter Drucker who solves crimes while assisted by Rina Lazarus his Orthodox Jewish wife.

What Is The Next Book in The Rune Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Rune Series. The newest book is Hard News and was released on January, 1st 1991.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *