Stephen White Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Stephen White is a well-established author who is widely known for the New York best-selling books, which feature the protagonist Allan Gregory. In these books, the author uses the experience he gained while working as a psychologist to deliver complex and believable characters and exceedingly intriguing plots. Born in the year 1951 in Long Island, Stephen grew up in Southern California, New Jersey, and New York City. White attended the well-known University of California, where he was a creative writing major student. However, he lasted for only three weeks in the University. He eventually moved to Berkley and managed to graduate in the year 1972. After completing his university education, White learned how to fly planes and worked as a Universal Studio’s tour guide.

Get notified when Stephen White releases a new book at

Order of Alan Gregory Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Privileged Information 1991 Description / Buy
2 Private Practices 1993 Description / Buy
3 Higher Authority 1994 Description / Buy
4 Harm's Way 1996 Description / Buy
5 Remote Control 1997 Description / Buy
6 Critical Conditions 1998 Description / Buy
7 Manner of Death 1999 Description / Buy
8 Cold Case 2000 Description / Buy
9 The Program 2001 Description / Buy
10 Warning Signs 2002 Description / Buy
11 The Best Revenge 2003 Description / Buy
12 Blinded 2004 Description / Buy
13 Missing Persons 2005 Description / Buy
14 Kill Me 2006 Description / Buy
15 Dry Ice 2007 Description / Buy
16 Dead Time 2008 Description / Buy
17 The Siege 2009 Description / Buy
18 The Last Lie 2010 Description / Buy
19 Line of Fire 2012 Description / Buy
20 Compound Fractures 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He also worked as a cook/waiter at the Chez Panisse, which is located in Berkeley. Stephen White received his doctorate at the University of Colorado in the year 1979. Due to the research that he conducted while working on his Ph.D., Stephen White became one of the most renowned names in clinical psychology and in the study of the psychological effects that marital disruption has on men. Stephen White’s research was featured in Psychological Bulletin and many other professional books and journals. After receiving his doctorate, Stephen White worked in a private clinic and for the University of Colorado. Later on, he worked as a staff psychologist at the Children’s Hospital, Denver. During these years, Stephen became acquainted with Jonathan Kellerman, who also worked as a pediatric psychologist. At that point, it was only White and Kellerman and a few psychologists, throughout the United States who were working in pediatric oncology.

Stephen White Awards

Stephen White is yet to receive any major literary award.

Stephen White Books into Movies

None of the books by Stephen White is yet to be adapted into a screenplay.

Best Stephen White Books

Privileged Information: The first installment in the Allan Gregory series by Stephen White. Being the first installment, Privileged information introduces the reader to the protagonist, Allan Gregory. It is a very light, quick and entertaining read which will the reader hooked from the very first page to the last. As the book begins, the author highlights a challenge that Gregory, who is a trained psychologist face. Gregory has been having a tough time keeping his patients alive. Furthermore, he has been accused on more than one occasion of sexual misconduct. Thus, Gregory is more than determined to not only, clear his name but to also, establish, what is happening with his patients and if a common denominator exists in all the cases.

Since Allan is emotionally detached from his wife, he becomes attracted to one Lauren, who is currently the district attorney in Colorado. With that said, the book is set entirely in Colorado. The novel’s storyline is plausible and despite the fact that this is a mystery read it is not gruesome. Another excellent read in this series is Private Practices, which is the second installment. The storyline begins as Detective Sam is trying to establish as to why two witnesses who had been expected to appear in front of the grand jury had been killed before they gave out their testimony. During the first pages of the book, an agitated husband who is out to seek revenge against his wife, who had made a decision to divorce him, invades Gregory’s office. Gregory and Detective Sam try to make sense of the exceedingly complex puzzle.

Apart from Detective Sam, another pivotal character in this book is a seventeen-year-old boy, Randy Navens, who has been in psychotherapy ever since he survived a crash which claimed his sisters and parents. He is currently living with his lovely aunt and uncle and is not only haunted by suicidal impulses but also nightmares. Overall, this is an excellent read, which will keep you entertained.

Kill Me: This is the fourteenth installment in the Allan Gregory book series. In this chapter, the author introduces the reader to Antonio, who is not only a daredevil but also an adventurer and a risk taker.

There is no single challenge that Antonio is afraid of. Together with his friends, Antonio and his friends head for a skiing vacation in the Canadian Rockies. However, while standing on a shelf of snow, it crumbles down, and he rolls at full speed into the mountains. Luckily enough, he avoids certain death, with a small injury on his left arm. Kill me is a brilliantly written mystery that has lots of twists and turns.

When Does The Next Stephen White book come out?

Stephen White doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Compound Fractures and was released on August, 6th 2013. It is the newest book in the Alan Gregory Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *