Terry Brooks Books

Terry Brooks is American author who writes fantasy fiction novels. More than 20 of his books have been featured in New York Times bestsellers and over twenty-one million copies of his novels in print. He is one of the best-selling living fantasy writers. He was born in Sterling, Illinois and spent most of his life there. He went to Hamilton College where he earned his Bachelor of Arts degree in Literature in 1966. He later joined Washington and Lee University where he obtained a law degree. Before becoming a full-time writer, Brooks served as an attorney.

Order of Original Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sword of Shannara 1977 Description / Buy
2 The Elfstones of Shannara 1982 Description / Buy
3 The Wishsong of Shannara 1985 Description / Buy
4 First King of Shannara 1996 Description / Buy
5 Indomitable (Short Story) 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Star Wars: Novelizations Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Star Wars - Episode I 1999 Description / Buy

Order of Dark Legacy Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wards of Faerie 2012 Description / Buy
2 Bloodfire Quest 2012 Description / Buy
3 Witch Wraith 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Legends Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bearers of the Black Staff 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Measure of the Magic 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Sword of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Secret of the Sword 1977 Description / Buy
2 The Druids' Keep 1977 Description / Buy
3 In the Shadow of the Warlock Lord 1977 Description / Buy

Order of Word & Void Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Running with the Demon 1997 Description / Buy
2 A Knight of the Word 1998 Description / Buy
3 Angel Fire East 1999 Description / Buy
4 Imaginary Friends (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Warrior (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of High Druid Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jarka Ruus 2003 Description / Buy
2 Tanequil 2004 Description / Buy
3 Straken 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Voyage Of The Jerl Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ilse Witch 2000 Description / Buy
2 Antrax 2001 Description / Buy
3 Morgawr 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Magic Kingdom of Landover Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Magic Kingdom for Sale—Sold! 1986 Description / Buy
2 The Black Unicorn 1987 Description / Buy
3 Wizard at Large 1987 Description / Buy
4 The Tangle Box 1994 Description / Buy
5 Witches' Brew 1995 Description / Buy
6 A Princess of Landover 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Genesis Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Armageddon's Children 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Elves of Cintra 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Gypsy Morph 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Heritage Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Scions of Shannara 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Druid of Shannara 1991 Description / Buy
3 The Elf Queen of Shannara 1992 Description / Buy
4 The Talismans of Shannara 1993 Description / Buy

Order of The Fall of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Black Elfstone 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Skaar Invasion 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Defenders Of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The High Druid's Blade 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Darkling Child 2015 Description / Buy
3 The Sorcerer's Daughter 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Paladins of Shannara Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Allanon's Quest (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Paladins of Shannara (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Weapons Master's Choice (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Shannara Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dark Wraith of Shannara 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Terry Brooks Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Revelation (Short Story) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Hook 1991 Description / Buy
3 Star Wars, Episode I 1999 Description / Buy
4 Street Freaks 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Terry Brooks Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Myths & Magic 1999 Description / Buy
2 Sometimes the Magic Works 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The author had been a writer since he was in high school mainly writing, fiction, western, and science fiction and nonfiction genres. During his college life, he was given a book copy of The Lord of the Rings which inspired Brooks to write in one genre. Immediately after finishing the two sequels to The Sword of Shannara, the author started writing a new series which would later be known as Landover novels. He then wrote four book series titled The Heritage of Shannara. For the next one decade and four years, the author wrote more Landover books and then went ahead to write The Word and Void trilogy. Brooks lives in northwest Oregon with his loving wife, Judine.


Bloodfire Quest appeared in 2013 Booklist Starred Review while The Wards of Faerie was featured in 2012 Publishers Weekly starred review.


The Shannara works by Terry Brooks have been adapted into American fantasy drama TV series titled The Shannara Chronicles. The series feature Poppy Drayton, Austin Butler, Manu Bennett, and Ivana Baquero.


These are two best books authored by the American bestselling author of epic fantasy novels Terry Brooks. The Sword of Shannara and Running with the Demon.

The Sword of Shannara: Very long time ago, the war between the ancient Evil destroyed the world and forced humanity to compete with other races such as trolls, gnomes, elves, and dwarfs. In the peaceful Shady Vale, a half- elfin Shea knows little of trouble until when a giant Avalon with mysterious Druidic powers reveals some plots to destroy the world.

The only weapon that can fight against this Power of Darkness is the Sword of Shannara and can only be used by a true heir of Shannara. On Shea, is the last of the bloodline, and the only hope for all the races. Moments later, a Skull Bearers, flies into the Vale to terminate Shea. However, to save Vale, Shea flees thus drawing the Skull Bearer after him.

The first series installment The Sword of Shannara is an interesting book to read. The characters, Shea Balinor and all the other supporting characters are beautiful and well crafted. They are strong, brave and real at the same time. They had fears, doubts and yet pushed through to try and do whatever needed to be done.

Running with the Demon: One of the hottest days of July, two men arrive in Hopewell, Illinois, the site of a lengthy and bitter steel strike. One of the men is a demon, a servant of the Void, who is determined to use the frustration and the anger of the society to achieve some secret mission.

The other man is John Ross, a warrior of the Word, a man whom if he fails in his mission life on earth would become a living hell. He possesses the ability to see the future, but does he have the power to change the future that he can predict?

Now hanging in the balance is the life of a 14-year-old girl who is mysteriously linked to both men, and the lives of the residents of Hopewell, the future of the country. Moreover, the fourth of the hot month of July, while families and friends picnic in Sinnissippi Park while fireworks explode in the jubilation of freedom and independence, the fate of the human will indeed be decided.

Running…..the Demon, the debut novel in Word & Void series and the author neatly weaves together fading innocence, family drama, Enlightenment, cataclysm and the entire plot will change the way you think about fantasy novels. As imaginative as it is believable, as frightening as it is wondrous, this fantasy tale is exquisitely written to be put down after the last page is turned.

When Does The Next Terry Brooks book come out?

Terry Brooks doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Street Freaks and was released on October, 2nd 2018.