Tui T Sutherland Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Tui T Sutherland is a Venezuelan-American author that writes children’s fiction. She collaborated with various authors to write the Seekers and Warriors series under the ‘Erin Hunter‘ pen name. She won $46,000 in 2009 after appearing on ‘Jeopardy!’.

Order of Avatars Series

1So This is How it Ends 2006Description / Buy
2Shadow Falling 2007Description / Buy
3Kingdom of Twilight 2008Description / Buy

Order of Menagerie Series

1The Menagerie 2013Description / Buy
2Dragon on Trial 2014Description / Buy
3Krakens and Lies 2015Description / Buy

Order of Pet Trouble Series

1Runaway Retriever 2009Description / Buy
2Loudest Beagle on the Block 2009Description / Buy
3Mud-Puddle Poodle 2009Description / Buy
4Bulldog Won't Budge 2009Description / Buy
5Oh No, Newf! 2010Description / Buy
6Smarty-Pants Sheltie 2010Description / Buy
7Bad To The Bone Boxer 2010Description / Buy
8Dachshund Disaster 2010Description / Buy

Order of Spirit Animals Series

1Hunted ( By: Maggie Stiefvater) 2014Description / Buy
2Fire and Ice ( By: Shannon Hale) 2014Description / Buy
3Against the Tide 2014Description / Buy
4Rise and Fall ( By: Eliot Schrefer) 2014Description / Buy
5The Evertree ( By: Marie Lu) 2015Description / Buy

Order of Wings of Fire Series

1The Dragonet Prophecy 2012Description / Buy
2The Lost Heir 2013Description / Buy
3The Hidden Kingdom 2013Description / Buy
4The Dark Secret 2013Description / Buy
5The Brightest Night 2014Description / Buy
6Moon Rising 2015Description / Buy
7Winter Turning 2015Description / Buy
8Escaping Peril 2016Description / Buy
9Talons of Power 2016Description / Buy
10Darkness of Dragons 2017Description / Buy
11The Lost Continent 2018Description / Buy
12The Hive Queen 2018Description / Buy
13The Poison Jungle 2019Description / Buy
14The Dangerous Gift 2020Description / Buy

Order of Wings of Fire: Legends Series

1Darkstalker 2016Description / Buy
2Dragonslayer 2020Description / Buy

Order of Wings of Fire: Winglets Series

1Prisoners (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
2Assassin (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
3Deserter (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy
4Runaway (Short Story) 2016Description / Buy

Order of Wings of Fire Graphic Novels

1The Dragonet Prophecy 2018Description / Buy
2The Lost Heir 2019Description / Buy
3The Hidden Kingdom 2019Description / Buy
4The Dark Secret 2020Description / Buy

Order of Tui T Sutherland Standalone Novels

1This Must Be Love 2004Description / Buy

Order of Tui T Sutherland Non-Fiction Books

1Who Was Harry Houdini? (Short Story) 2002Description / Buy

Order of Tui T Sutherland Picture Books

1Jewel Sticker Stories (Short Story) 2000Description / Buy
2Funny Bunnies 2001Description / Buy
3Meet Mo and Ella (Short Story) 2001Description / Buy
4Hide and Go Peep! 2001Description / Buy
5Fun with Mo and Ella (Short Story) 2002Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

As a child, Sutherland was obsessed with the written word. She grew up reading stories about girls that wanted to tell stories of their own. She was also drawn to novels with female characters that were determined to carve out a place for themselves in the world. ‘Anne of Green Gables’ was one of her favorites.

As a writer, she was always drawn to children’s fiction. To Sutherland, children were simply the most interesting audience in the world and she enjoyed the challenge of finding new ways to entertain them.

She also found that her fondest reading memories were connected to the books she read between the ages of 10 and 14. The stories she encountered in that period went on to shape her entire life. Her objective is to write hopeful and joyful novels.

She isn’t afraid to tackle darker ideas. But every journey her characters start, no matter how dreary, eventually reaches a peaceful and encouraging destination. She wants children to realize that it is within their power to control their destinies regardless of the restrictions life has have placed upon them.

Born in Caracas, Venezuela in 1978, her mother was a New Zealand woman who named her after the Tui, a New Zealand bird. Life eventually took her to places like Asuncion, Paraguay, and Miami, not to mention the Dominican Republic and Santo Domingo.

She attended high school in New Jersey. It was during those years that she got involved with the theater, though she mostly worked backstage. This did not leave her quite as much time to write. She was just as busy in college.

After graduating from Williams College in 1998, the author found that she did not know what to do with the rest of her life. She considered going to art history graduate school. It also occurred to her that she might have a future as a stage manager in theater.

Numerous other ideas flitted through her head during this period. But none of them gave her peace. So she packed her things and went back home, hoping to use the change of pace to find her footing.

But it only took a week for her mother to start hinting that it might be time for her to move out again. So Sutherland packed her things once more. But this time she fled to New Zealand; she had no idea what to expect from her six-month trip.

The author found an uncle with whom she could stay. She took that opportunity to attend the University of Auckland. While she tried her hand at a number of classes, the children’s literature course left a lasting impression.

She also found that she had a hunger to write. And after attending the children’s literature class, she concluded that children’s books were her passion. So, she started pursuing this new dream. The author’s journey was far from straightforward.

She started out by interviewing for an editorial assistant position at Penguin. In the years that followed, she did quite a bit of editing, using the experience to gain an in-depth understanding of storytelling

Finally, she struck out on her own, making a name for herself as a solo author, not to mention all the work she did under the ‘Erin Hunter’ umbrella.

Tui T. Sutherland Awards

Sutherland was nominated for Colorado, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, and North Carolina Children’s Book Awards. She also received a nomination for the Nene Award.

Best Tui T. Sutherland Books

Sutherland writes for children because she knows that her stories have the power to influence them drastically at that young age, with some of the best books in her bibliography including:

Dragonet Prophecy: Five dragonets have been chosen to bring peace to the seven dragon tribes that have been at war for generations. The Talons of Peace have entrusted them with a prophecy that promises an eventual end to the fighting.

But the dragonets don’t care about destiny, which is why they have chosen to run away.

The Lost Heir: Tsunami was stolen from her home when she was an egg. Now she is finally returning to the SeaWing Kingdom. Tsunami hopes to reunite with her mother, the Queen. But she is also wary of the assassin that has been killing Queen Coral’s heirs.

When Does The Next Tui T Sutherland book come out?

Tui T Sutherland doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Dark Secret and was released on December, 29th 2020. It is the newest book in the Wings of Fire Graphic Novels.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *