Victoria Thompson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Victoria Thompson is an author of historical fiction best known for writing the Gaslight Mystery series. Victoria has been steeped in writing and fiction, in particular, for a very long time. It comes as no surprise that she has a Master of Fine Arts Degree in Writing Popular Fiction.

Order of Counterfeit Lady Series

1City of Lies 2017Description / Buy
2City of Secrets 2018Description / Buy
3City of Scoundrels 2019Description / Buy
4City of Schemes 2020Description / Buy
5City of Shadows 2021Description / Buy

Order of Gaslight Mystery Series

1Murder on Astor Place 1999Description / Buy
2Murder on St. Mark's Place 2000Description / Buy
3Murder on Gramercy Park 2001Description / Buy
4Murder on Washington Square 2002Description / Buy
5Murder on Mulberry Bend 2003Description / Buy
6Murder on Marble Row 2004Description / Buy
7Murder on Lenox Hill 2005Description / Buy
8Murder in Little Italy 2006Description / Buy
9Murder in Chinatown 2007Description / Buy
10Murder on Bank Street 2008Description / Buy
11Murder on Waverly Place 2009Description / Buy
12Murder on Lexington Avenue 2010Description / Buy
13Murder on Sisters' Row 2011Description / Buy
14Murder on Fifth Avenue 2012Description / Buy
15Murder in Chelsea 2013Description / Buy
16Murder in Murray Hill 2014Description / Buy
17Murder on Amsterdam Avenue 2015Description / Buy
18Murder on St. Nicholas Avenue 2015Description / Buy
19Murder in Morningside Heights 2016Description / Buy
20Murder in the Bowery 2017Description / Buy
21Murder on Union Square 2018Description / Buy
22Murder on Trinity Place 2019Description / Buy
23Murder on Pleasant Avenue 2020Description / Buy
24Murder on Wall Street 2021Description / Buy

Order of Lady and the Cowboy Romance Series

1Texas Treasure 1985Description / Buy
2Texas Triumph 1987Description / Buy
3Texas Blonde 1987Description / Buy
4Bold Texas Embrace 1989Description / Buy

Order of Lady and the Scoundrel Series

1Texas Vixen 1986Description / Buy
2Rogue's Lady 1988Description / Buy
3Fortune's Lady 1989Description / Buy

Order of The Hired Gunslinger Series Series

1Texas Angel / Angel Heart 1988Description / Buy
2Wild Texas Promise 1990Description / Buy
3Sweet Texas Surrender 1991Description / Buy
4Blazing Texas Nights 1992Description / Buy

Order of The Tates of Texas Series

1Wild Texas Wind 1992Description / Buy
2Winds of Promise 1993Description / Buy
3Winds of Destiny 1994Description / Buy
4Winds of Fortune 1995Description / Buy

Order of Victoria Thompson Standalone Novels

1Beloved Outcast 1989Description / Buy
2Playing with Fire 1990Description / Buy
3Cry Wolf 1995Description / Buy
4Wings of Morning 1996Description / Buy
5From This Day Forward 1997Description / Buy

Order of Victoria Thompson Non-Fiction Books

1Losing Alexandria 1998Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She earned the certification from Seton Hill University in 2012. She had been lecturing at the university for quite a few years before finally taking the next step and earning her Master of Fine Arts Degree.

Victoria’s Gaslight Mysteries, for which she is best-known, feature a midwife known as Sarah Brandt who works to solve mysteries in New York City at the turn of the century. Besides accumulating awards for her work, Victoria’s efforts in the literary arena have proven difficult to ignore.

For one thing, she founded an organization of published Fiction Writers called Novelists, Inc. Some people might also know of the role Victoria played in the founding of PENNWRITERS, a statewide Pennsylvania-based writer’s organization.

Along with leading and serving on the boards of various other Writers Associations and Organizations, the writing and publishing industry has a central role in Victoria’s life and she has continued to participate in the arena outside of her efforts as an author.

Victoria has a husband, children, grandchildren and a very spoiled little dog. She contributed to the Sherlock Holmes in America Anthology as well as the writing of a textbook called Many Genres/One Craft.

Victoria Thompson Awards

RT Magazine awarded Victoria the Career Achievement Award in Mystery writing in 2012. She has also been nominated for various other notable awards, this including Agatha Awards and Edgar Allen Poe Awards

Best Victoria Thompson Books

Victoria Thompson’s passion for historical fiction shows in every one of the many Gaslight Mystery novels she has written, with some of the best books in the series including the following:

Murder on Lenox Hill: Sarah Brandt, summoned by the affluent Lintons of Lenox Hill, cannot help but give them bad news after examining their daughter. The teenage girl is definitely pregnant. The fact that the girl is never left on her own raises questions about the pregnancy.

Everyone within the Lintons’ immediate vicinity becomes a suspect, this including the Reverend Oliver Upchurch, their beloved minister. Sarah and Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy understand just how delicate the situation is, so they proceed with caution, even when their investigation is complicated by the sudden death of the Reverend.

With a murderer to catch and a pregnancy mystery to resolve, Sarah and Frank have a lot on their plate.

This book, one of the Gaslight Mystery books, tells a story set in the 1890s. A teenage girl has been raped and a minister has been poisoned. There is also the cold case surrounding Sarah’s deceased husband.

These three investigations take center stage. And while they aren’t exactly related, Victoria Thompson does a decent job of exploring all them at the same time without complicating the overall plot.

The story she tells is surprisingly seamless and not nearly as messy as it could have been. Frank and Sarah’s relationship is highlighted. Frank has been hired to investigate the death of Sarah’s husband by a party Frank believes was involved in his murder. Frank suspects that his investigation could ruin the name of Sarah’s husband. He also knows that Sarah wouldn’t stand for it. However, he chooses to proceed.

Murder on Bank Street: Sarah Brandt is an Angel of Mercy, at least as far as those living in the tenements of New York at the turn of the century are concerned; it has been four years since Sarah’s husband died, and she has made effective use of her life by bringing hope to the downtrodden.

Detective Sergeant Frank Malloy is in a difficult position. He has been hired to investigate Doctor Tom Brandt’s murder. However, he fears that the secrets about Tom that his investigations will unearth could destroy his hopes for a future with Sarah.

Sarah Brandt is a secondary character in this book. Frank takes center stage. His romance with Sarah has been developing for a number of books, and at a pace that some people might accuse of being a little too slow.

Victoria’s approach to solving the mystery of this novel will most likely irritate some people because it is far more complicated that it deserves to be.

When Does The Next Victoria Thompson book come out?

The next book by Victoria Thompson is City of Shadows and will be released on December, 7th 2021. It is the newest book in the Counterfeit Lady Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *