1-800-Where-R-You Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

1-800-Where-R-You is a series of Young Adult novels written by Meg Cabot. The books tell the stories of a young girl who uses her psychic abilities to find missing people.

Get notified when Jenny Carroll releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of 1-800-Where-R-You Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 When Lightning Strikes (By: Jenny Carroll) 2001 Description / Buy
2 Code Name Cassandra (By: Jenny Carroll) 2001 Description / Buy
3 Safe House (By: Jenny Carroll) 2002 Description / Buy
4 Sanctuary (By: Jenny Carroll) 2002 Description / Buy
5 Missing You ( As: Meg Cabot) 2006 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Jess Mastriani used to be normal. Introduced in When Lightning Strikes, the first novel in the series, Jess was hardly the picture of a perfect teen.

Her mother would have preferred it if she conformed to expectations; if she made friends and became the prom queen with the good grades. But Jess was too stubborn. She was causing trouble, letting her mouth run wild, getting into fistfights.

And yet even with her troubled school life, the girl was pretty normal. But then she got detention one random day, got trapped under the bleachers in a storm and eventually took a direct hit from a lightning bolt.

The experience was a little harrowing but Jess was unharmed, or so she thought. It took the girl a little while to realize the truth. The lightning had shaken something loose in her.

All of a sudden, the heroine could determine the location of missing people by simply looking at their pictures.

The ability blew Jess’ mind. At first, she wasn’t quite sure how she would utilize it. But then she began to follow her visions, and after solving quite a few missing persons’ cases, the protagonist realized that she was ready to use her gift for the good of others.

The 1-800-Where-R-You series chronicles the adventures that begin to haunt Jess in the wake of her paranormal discovery.

Each installment in the series pits the character against a new obstacle. She always has a new missing person to find. Sometimes, she actively seeks her cases out. Other times, people with lost loved ones will look for the heroine.

In the beginning, Jess is able to temporarily pursue her paranormal exploits in secret. But over time, it becomes all but impossible for her to keep a lid on her powers, with the revelation eventually threatening to turn girl’s life upside down.

At first, all she has to deal with the curious reporters that keep probing her life. But then, over time, the FBI takes an interest in her extracurricular activities. They see her as a potential recruit, one whose talents they can use to further their goals.

A crucial aspect of Jess’ life is Rob, the bad boy she meets in detention whose affections she is determined to capture. Rob becomes the rock that Jess learns to lean on when things get difficult.

The protagonist is also aided in her efforts by Ruth, her best friend. This is on top of the active role her family plays in the goings-on of her life.

1-800-Where-R-You Books into Movies

The 1-800-Where-R-You series was turned into a TV show called Missing by a Canadian production company. The show eventually premiered on Lifetime in the US.

Best 1-800-Where-R-You Books

These novels have a lot of fans who appreciate their fast pace, twists and turns, and the strong, witty, charming heroine, with some of the best books in the series including:

Safe House: When Amber goes missing and then turns up dead, people blame Jess for failing her. Jess didn’t even know that Amber was missing. But when a second cheerleader goes missing, the psychic is determined to redeem her reputation by finding the victim before she shares Amber’s fate.

Missing You: Everyone knows about Jess’ ability to find the location of anyone, regardless of whether or not they are alive.

When she finally gave into the government’s demands for her to join their ranks, she never expected their work to take such a toll on her. By the time she resurfaces months later, Jess just wants to start over in a new city where no one knows her.

It isn’t until Rob finds her that she is forced to face her past. Rob needs her help. He doesn’t know that Jess’s powers are gone.

Other Book Series You May Like

Another series you may enjoy is the “Haret Chronicles” Series by Laurel Chase. These books tell the story of a girl with a strange ability that allows her to manipulate people. The Underbelly Circus, a dreadful place, is determined to claim her.

Fortunately for the girl, she has powerful friends in the form of a dragon, a vampire, a merman, and a mage.

You may also enjoy “The Prometheus Wars” Series by Luke Romyn. Doctor Talbot thought everything the Ancient Greeks taught was a myth. But then his brother died and he learned that only one man could stop mythological beasts from destroying the world.

What Is The Next Book in The 1-800-where-r-you Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The 1-800-where-r-you Series. The newest book is Missing You and was released on December, 26th 2006.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *