A Journey of the Heart Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

“A Journey of the Heart” is a historical series of novels that used to be called the “Wyoming” series. The series is set in the military forts of the former Arizona and Wyoming territories in the period after the Civil War, when the Indian Wars were the most intense. The first novel of the series was “Where Leads the Heart” that was first published in 1997.

Get notified when Colleen Coble releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Journey of the Heart Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Heart's Disguise ( By: Colleen Coble) 1997 Description / Buy
2 A Heart's Obsession ( By: Colleen Coble) 1999 Description / Buy
3 A Heart's Danger ( By: Colleen Coble) 1999 Description / Buy
4 A Heart's Betrayal ( By: Colleen Coble) 1999 Description / Buy
5 A Heart's Promise ( By: Colleen Coble) 1999 Description / Buy
6 A Heart's Home ( By: Colleen Coble) 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series of novels is a combination of romance and history novels featuring Sarah Montgomery as the lead. Sarah is a woman living in the forts of the frontier country who struggles with romance and a host of rivalries and secrets. She also has to deal with the potential loss of an opportunity for love as other beautiful women of the fort compete for the men she loves.

“Where Leads the Heart” is the first novel of the series that introduces the chief protagonist Sarah. Sarah just lost Rand Campbell her fiancé to the Civil War leaving her devastated. But after she is engaged to another man, she realizes that her fiancé may not be dead after all. Her new fiancé Ben had the information that Rand had been alive all along but had kept it from everyone. Rand comes into town a few days to the wedding complicating everything for Sarah.

What follows is an enchanting story of lost love which is regained. Set against the historical Fort Laramie during the dangerous Sioux Indian Wars, it a great story that shows just why Colleen Coble has won so many awards over the years.


A Heart’s Promise: The fifth novel of the series is one of the best novels in the series. Emmie has been having a good time with a budding romance with one of Fort Laramie’s most eligible bachelors. But things start to go bad after a rival appears on the scene.

Meanwhile, Isaac Liddle remains determined to win the heart of Emmie Coftner though her condition complicates everything about their courtship. Over time Emmie has grown to care for him and even shows open jealousy when Jessica Dubois shows an interest in him. When her rival learns that she is pregnant she attempts blackmail. Given the dangerous situation with the ongoing Sioux Wars, Emmie cannot afford to lose her man. But will he still love her when he finds out about the child?

A Heart’s Home: The sixth novel of the series is one of its most popular. The holidays are approaching but in a delicious twist of fate, hope, and healing comes to Fort Laramie as a result of a tragic loss. Emmie Croftner is shaken to the core when her best friend loses her life while giving birth at the fort. The very real dangers of childbirth come to the fore for the expectant mother who knows that it is only a matter of time before everyone knows she is pregnant.

She lives in terror of the day when the handsome Isaac Liddle the man she lives for will discover her well-kept secret. The father of the baby offers what he thinks is the best solution; Emmie should get married to him and they can become a family. With the war raging outside the walls of the Fort maybe a family is what Emmie and her infant need. But is she ready to give up what her heart wants and knows is good for her?

A Heart’s Danger: The third novel of the series is a great story of a woman that decides to risk everything to save the man she loves. The Sioux Wars are at their height with tensions between the natives and the soldiers the highest they have ever been. Emmie is still pining for Rand whose heart belongs to Sarah Montgomery.

Meanwhile, Sarah is torn between the responsible Rand who has promised to marry her and Croftner the man that has lied and cost her much more than she can afford.


Most fans of the “A Journey of the Heart” series of novels also like the Lyremouth Chronicles series of novels by Jane Fletcher. The lead in the series is a master sorcerer named Jemeryl who thinks she will have a life committed to her coven until she meets Tevi who drives her crazy.

Many fans of the “A Journey of Heart” series also like the Garoul series of novels by Gill McKnight. The Garoul novels are a combination of romance and paranormal series featuring the half human half wolf members of the Garoul family and their romantic adventures.

What Is The Next Book in The Journey Of The Heart Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Journey Of The Heart Series. The newest book is A Heart's Home and was released on August, 4th 1999.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *