A Supper Club Mystery Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James Henry, alias “Professor Puff”, is the featured protagonist in the heptalogy called Supper Club Mystery series authored by J. B. Stanley; incidentally, J. B. Stanley is one of the pen names of an American woman of letters who is popularly known as Ellery Adams. The first book portraying Henry James was originally produced in 2006, named Carbs and Cadavers; and this book series is shelved under the mystery (cozy mystery sub-genre) and fiction genres.

Get notified when Ellery Adams releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Supper Club Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Carbs & Cadavers ( By: Ellery Adams) 2006 Description / Buy
2 Fit to Die ( By: Ellery Adams) 2007 Description / Buy
3 Chili Con Corpses ( By: Ellery Adams) 2008 Description / Buy
4 Stiffs and Swine ( By: Ellery Adams) 2008 Description / Buy
5 The Battered Body ( By: Ellery Adams) 2009 Description / Buy
6 Black Beans and Vice ( By: Ellery Adams) 2010 Description / Buy
7 Pasta Mortem ( By: Ellery Adams) 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Meet James Henry. In the Supper Club Mystery series, Henry served as an English Literature professor at the Willamsburg-based College of William and Mary. Then there is a plethora of problems. First, Henry has since quit the teaching post. Secondly, he is a divorcee; his beloved wife dumped him for a lawyer. Third, Henry does not have friends but for two male library workers and a waitress. Fourth, he has weight problems. The stamp of approval is his soft spot for corn curls which, by the way, inspired the nickname “Professor Puff”. James Henry, who is a timid bibliophile, resorts to snacking and reading voraciously to tone down his personal problems.

The turning point in the first book in the Supper Club Mystery series, Carbs and Cadavers, is the sudden and unexpected death of James Henry’s mother. Prompted by the death and angling for caring for his father–an old, wretched, and grouchy man– Henry resolves to return to Quincy’s Gap upon Virginia, the place where he spent his formative years. The town is small and scarcely populated, with its inhabitants totaling several thousands.

James Henry has always disliked Quincy’s Gap and lacked friends over there. By a stroke of lucky, James Henry learns about a supper club–it is an establishment serving suppers and doubles up as a social club. The club comprises of five people, all hoping to lose weight, who call aptly themselves the Flab Five. These members or, better yet, dieters, meet weekly for a supper with low carbohydrates and for mutual encouragement purposes. Incidentally, the series of books gets its name from the supper club. Henry and another member of the club, who is a kindred spirit, called Lucy have romantic feelings towards one another.

The mandate of the supper club takes a new turn upon the sudden death of a local bully and the authorities have fingered a youthful woman. Among the members of the supper club are Bennett and Lucy, a postal carrier and sheriff’s department employee, respectively. And thus with insider information, the supper club members resolve to conduct an independent investigation. The ensuing story in this light-heartened whodunit will whet your appetite for more.

Best Supper Club Mystery Series Books

The following are the best books in the Supper Club Mystery series.

Carbs and Cadavers: The first one is Carbs and Cadavers that has already been mentioned.

Fit to Die This is the second book in that series and was originally published in 2007. It has been over half an year since the supper club began and the members are looking for new challenges. Luckily, there is a new fitness center in town, some that the club desperately need. An arson incident leaves one person dead and, as is the norm, the club starts investigating but they soon realize it is not what they had bargained for.

Chili Con Corpses: This is the third book in the series and was originally published in 2008. Hereby, Lindy, one of the supper club members, prompts the rest to join a cooking class. Things take a gory turn after a series of deaths with the evidence implicating Lindy.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the Supper Club Mystery Series also liked the following series of books. The first one is named “Memphis BBQ Mystery” series and is written by Riley Adams. The featured protagonist is Lulu Taylor who operates a Memphis-based barbecue joint called Aunt Pat’s. The second one is named “Minivan Mom Mystery” series and is penned by Jim Bronyaur. The protagonist is a typical housewife called Eve Bailey. She is a witness in a case involving murder and drugs.

The third one is named “Deadly Deli Mystery” series and is authored by Delia Rosen. The proprietors of Murray’s Pastrami Swami, a family-run restaurant, are seeking to distance the facility from any connection with a series of murders that it has been associated with.

What Is The Next Book in The Supper Club Mystery Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Supper Club Mystery Series. The newest book is Pasta Mortem and was released on March, 8th 2019.


1 thought on “A Supper Club Mystery”

  1. Perhaps the most enjoyable thing about The Supper Club mysteries is that the time spent with the characters often outweighs the mysteries. There have been books where I didn’t care for the mystery aspect whatsoever, but was instead interested in what Lucy, James and the rest of the gang are up to. Sometimes I don’t like the portrayal of the “flab five” as the author sometimes veers into fat shaming them in the descriptions.

    That said, they are all quite lovable and these books are definitely feel cozy and easy to read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *