Abram’s Daughters Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Abram’s Daughters is a series of Christian romance novels written by Beverly Lewis. The books take place against the backdrop of post-WWII in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.

Get notified when Beverly Lewis releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Abram's Daughters Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Covenant ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2002 Description / Buy
2 The Betrayal ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2003 Description / Buy
3 The Sacrifice ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2004 Description / Buy
4 The Prodigal ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2004 Description / Buy
5 The Revelation ( By: Beverly Lewis) 2005 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

In The Covenant, the first book in the series, readers are introduced to the Ebersol family which lives in Gobbler’s Knob. Abram and Ida Ebersol have four daughters who are either approaching or well into their courting days.

Sadie, the oldest daughter at 16 has already initiated her rumschpringe, an Amish tradition that sees the youth permitted to go wild, experiment with the ways of the world and live life to the fullest before finally returning home and making their vows to their church.

Sadie’s rumschpringe takes a turn when she meets a handsome English boy and their torrid love affair bears the wrong kind of fruit. Sadie has no one to confide in beside her younger sister Leah.

Leah is set in the ways of her small community. And all she wants out of life is to marry Jonas Mast, have children and serve the church. But when Leah allows Sadie to drag her into her problems, her life transforms.

Abram’s Daughters is supposed to focus on the lives and loves of Abram’s four daughters. But the first stories emphasize the adventures of Sadie and Leah. Leah is especially prominent. She struggles to maintain a close relationship with her sister.

Leah wants to support Sadie. But she is also frightened that Sadie’s misdeeds will ruin her reputation and that of the family. And as the series progresses, Leah is forced to deal with numerous hardships because of Sadie.

Over the course of the series, Hannah and Mary Ruth, the other daughters, begin to shine, with each book expanding on their role in the Ebersol family. A central theme of this series is the difficult struggle between the Amish and English lifestyles that often threatens to pull Beverly Lewis’ characters apart.

Abram Ebersol is constantly afraid that his children will give in to the temptations offered by the English world. And he fears that it is the inappropriate boys courting his daughters that are likely to pull them away from the faith.

And while Abram does everything in his power to ensure that his kids find the right sort of love, even if it means hurting them, his actions rarely produce the intended results.

Best Abram’s Daughters Books

The strength of this series is Beverly Lewis’ uncanny ability to immerse readers into the traditional ways of the Amish, with some of the best books in this series including:

The Covenant: Abram and Ida Ebersol are trying to raise their children the best way they know how in the traditional community of Gobbler’s Knob, Pennsylvania. Abram expects his 16-year-old daughter Sadie to sow her wild oats when she goes on her rumspringa.

But he is unprepared for the consequences of Sadie falling for an English boy and engaging in a sordid affair. And it is Leah who must deal with Sadie’s drama when her older sister decides to turn to her as a confidant.

Leah just wants to live a normal Amish life. She wants to join the church, marry the love of her life and have children. In trying to give Sadie the support system she needs during a trying time, Leah will find her limits tested.

She will begin to wonder how far she is willing to go to show sisterly love to someone who seems determined to torpedo their life.

The Betrayal: Leah and Jonas Mast were ready to get married. They had even set a wedding date. Then an internship took Jonas out of the state. Jonas should have only been gone for a few months.

And Leah was sure their love would remain strong. Leah did not know that her father had set up the internship for Jonas and that he not only disapproved of their relationship but he intended to open the way for Gid, a man nursing a crush for Leah, to make his move.

Other Book Series You May Like

You will also enjoy the “Annie’s People” Series by Beverly Lewis. Annie Zook is the daughter of an Amish preacher. Annie is fond of her home and its ways. But she also desires to return to her forbidden art and to pursue a relationship with an Englisher that her father forbade her to ever see. She is caught between two worlds.

Another great series is “The Courtship of Nellie Fisher” Series by Beverly Lewis. Nellie Fisher is part of a family that seems determined to break away from their church district. And that is a problem for Nellie. Whether she stays with her family or stands with the church, Nellie must be prepared to either lose her dear family or forever separate from her beloved Caleb.

What Is The Next Book in The Abram's Daughters Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Abram's Daughters Series. The newest book is The Revelation and was released on June, 1st 2005.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *