Acorna Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The first two novels in the series were written by Anne McCaffrey and Margaret Ball; starting with the third novel, Elizabeth Ann Scarbourough co-wrote the series with McCaffrey. The series is made up of ten novels, with the first seven known as “Acorna” with the final three “Acorna’s Children”. The series is from the science fiction genre and features the orphaned Unicorn-girl (Acorna) as the main character. She has a single horn between her brow and forehead, and if dressed right can look like a tall young lady full of grace. It is only on further inspection that reveals her to not be human. She has a flowing silvery mane down her back, and has similar ones growing on her calves. She has equine hooves, like unicorn. She belongs to a race of humanoid creatures called Linyaari, who are a peaceful people whose home planet Vhiliinyar (Home of the People) was invaded by Khleevi (an insect like race) that forced them to move to another planet. They have the ability to heal wounds, purify substances, they are beautiful, tall, and graceful. They can even use telepathy to communicate with other people.

Order of Acorna Series By: Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough, Margaret Ball

# Read Title Published Details
1 Acorna: The Unicorn Girl 1997 Description / Buy
2 Acorna's Quest 1998 Description / Buy
3 Acorna's People 1999 Description / Buy
4 Acorna's World 1999 Description / Buy
5 Acorna's Search 2001 Description / Buy
6 Acorna's Rebels 2003 Description / Buy
7 Acorna's Triumph 2004 Description / Buy
8 First Warning: Acorna's Children 2005 Description / Buy
9 Second Wave: Acorna's Children 2006 Description / Buy
10 Third Watch: Acorna's Children 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Acorna's Children Series By: Anne McCaffrey, Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

# Read Title Published Details
1 First Warning: Acorna's Children 2005 Description / Buy
2 Second Wave: Acorna's Children 2006 Description / Buy
3 Third Watch: Acorna's Children 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The first novel introduces Acorna as a youngling and shows her journey of trying to comprehend herself as an individual. She is found by three galactic miners (Gill, Calum, and Rafik) in an unusual escape pod. She is raised by these unlikely fathers, and matures close to adulthood in three years. They find that she has magical powers and picks up things very quickly, and she is highly sought out by people for different reasons (either so they can study her, have sex with her, or collect rare items). Her dads protect her as best as they can as they travel throughout the galaxy to evade pursuers.


Acorna: The Unicorn Girl: This is the first novel in the “Acorna” series that was released in 1997. When Gill, Rafik, Acorna, and Calum all go to a new planet that thrives on child slavery that is not legal, Acorna decides that she will free every single child on the planet. This novel charts her progress as she goes from being with her parents, to their death, to her being found by her new parents, and their travels throughout the galaxy from planet to planet.

Acorna’s Quest: This is the second novel in the “Acorna” series that was released in 1998. Acorna is now a young woman, she still has her horn, everything that makes her a unicorn. She is having strange dreams of gentle folk who mind-talk by touching their horns together. She goes, with her Uncle Calum to go and find her people. After she goes, an odd craft shows up that is piloted by Linyaari (who is a gentle race made up of telepathic people). They are going around telling people about the Khleev (an extremely deadly people) and they are looking for a great little girl that they lost a long time ago.

Acorna’s People: This is the third novel in the “Acorna” series that was released in 1999. Acorna is finally reunited with her people (the Linyaari) and has gone to their new home world called Narhii-Vhiliinyar to learn about her culture. Acorna is very different from her people because of how she was raised and most do not accept her as one of their own. She does not fit in. That being said, however, her aunt Neeva and her shipmates, a young girl (who is named Maati), Grandam Naadiina are the only ones that befriend her. All of the sailors on the Balakiire are called into action on her first day there. They go away so that they can look into why there is no communication with some of the off-world Linyaari colonies. It soon spreads. More ships go out, but they all are lost. The lost’s fate are in the hands of Acorna herself. She has a big job ahead of her if she would like to make sure they stay alive.


Earth’s Children” series by Jean M. Auel: This series takes place thirty thousand years ago and features culture, sex, and invention. It tells Ayla’s story, who is a Cro-Magnon girl that has been orphaned and adopted by a tribe made up of Neanderthals. She lives to go find her own kind (the Others) and meets Jondalar, who is her romantic interest and co-protagonist.

Dragonriders of Pern” series by Anne McCaffrey: Earthlings made a journey, that took many decades to complete, to a new planet (which they come to call Pern), there is a threat that comes from outside of Pern called Thread and a volcano erupts that makes the colonists that went to this planet go into caves in the northern hemisphere, leaving their technology behind.

What Is The Next Book in The Acorna Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Acorna Series. The newest book is Third Watch: Acorna's Children and was released on July, 31st 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *