Agatha Raisin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Agatha Raisin is a detective that was created by Marion Chesney. Chesney uses the pseudonym M.C. Beaton to write these books. Agatha Raisin is an English woman who worked in the field of public relations and eventually saved enough money to start her own investigation firm.

Agatha runs Raisin Investigations, a detective agency located in the English countryside. She often works alongside Bill Wong, a police officer who is in the same village her agency is based out of. She also has had a bit of a relationship with James Lacey, a neighbor of hers.

Order of Agatha Raisin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Quiche of Death ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1992 Description / Buy
2 The Vicious Vet ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1993 Description / Buy
3 The Potted Gardener ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1994 Description / Buy
4 The Walkers of Dembley ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1995 Description / Buy
5 The Murderous Marriage ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1996 Description / Buy
6 The Terrible Tourist ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1997 Description / Buy
7 The Wellspring of Death ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1998 Description / Buy
8 The Wizard of Evesham ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1999 Description / Buy
9 The Witch of Wyckhadden ( By: M.C. Beaton) 1999 Description / Buy
10 The Fairies of Fryfam ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2000 Description / Buy
11 The Love from Hell ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2001 Description / Buy
12 The Day the Floods Came ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2002 Description / Buy
13 The Case of the Curious Curate ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2003 Description / Buy
14 The Haunted House ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2003 Description / Buy
15 The Deadly Dance ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2004 Description / Buy
16 The Perfect Paragon ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2005 Description / Buy
17 Love, Lies and Liquor ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2006 Description / Buy
18 Kissing Christmas Goodbye ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2007 Description / Buy
19 A Spoonful of Poison ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2008 Description / Buy
20 There Goes the Bride ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2009 Description / Buy
21 Busy Body ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2010 Description / Buy
22 As The Pig Turns ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2011 Description / Buy
23 Hiss and Hers ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2012 Description / Buy
24 Christmas Crumble (Short Story) ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2012 Description / Buy
25 Something Borrowed, Someone Dead ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2013 Description / Buy
26 Hell's Bells (Short Story) (By: M.C. Beaton) 2013 Description / Buy
27 The Blood of an Englishman ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2014 Description / Buy
28 Agatha's First Case (Short Story) ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2015 Description / Buy
29 Dishing the Dirt ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2015 Description / Buy
30 Pushing up Daisies ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2016 Description / Buy
31 The Witches' Tree ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2017 Description / Buy
32 The Dead Ringer ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2018 Description / Buy
33 Beating about the Bush ( By: M.C. Beaton) 2019 Description / Buy
34 Hot to Trot (By: M.C. Beaton, R.W. Green) 2020 Description / Buy
35 Down the Hatch (By: M.C. Beaton, R.W. Green) 2021 Description / Buy
36 Devil’s Delight (By: M.C. Beaton, R.W. Green) 2022 Description / Buy
37 Dead on Target (By: M.C. Beaton, R.W. Green) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Agatha Raisin Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Agatha Raisin Companion (By: M.C. Beaton) 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Raisin first appeared in 1992 in the novel Agatha Raising and the Quiche of Death. She has since appeared in more than twenty books. She is beloved by her fans for being a character whom is powerful and independent but also knows that she is not perfect. Her stories have even been made into a short-run television series in the United Kingdom.

Agatha Raisin Books Into Movies/TV/Media

The Agatha Raisin series of books has been made into a radio series that has aired in the United Kingdom on BBC Radio 4. Raisin had been played by Penelope Keith. There were five different full-cast radio dramatizations of various Raisin stories that had been broadcast by the BBC.

A few Agatha Raisin books were also adapted into a brief television series that aired in the UK on Sky 1. In 2014, the book Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death was adapted into a full-length television movie. An eight-part series was then created in 2016 with such novels as the Walkers of Dembley, the Potted Gardener and the Murderous Marriage among the stories that were adapted in the series. Ashley Jensen appeared on the show as Agatha Raisin.

Best Agatha Raisin Books

The 1992 novel Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death is one of the most popular books in her series. This book shows Agatha as she retires from her public relations job in London and moves out to the Cotswolds, a country village. While in town, she brings a quiche that she bought in London to a baking content. However, that quiche ended up killing a judge at the event. This leads Agatha to investigate the death of the judge to see who could have poisoned the quiche. This comes amid concerns in the village that Agatha herself could have been the one that poisoned it.

The 1999 book Agatha Raisin and the Witch of Wyckhadden is another entertaining book to read. This is where Agatha struggles with bald patches on her head and goes to a resort town to meet with a witch to help her get her hair back. The hair tonic that the witch gives her worked but soon after the witch is murdered. Agatha then looks into the case to see who could have murdered the witch.

The Deadly Dance is a 2005 story where Agatha goes from investigating boring cases relating to lost cats to a case of a woman who was nearly attacked before a wedding. The father of the groom soon dies, thus bringing Agatha into a web of mystery and confusion. She even goes all the way to Paris to try and find clues but soon gets into trouble with the French police while trying to find answers.

Other Book Series You May Like

Cleo Coyle wrote the “Coffeehouse” series is a good option to look into when finding a great similar book series. This entails a coffeehouse owner in New York who has a strong relationship with the local police station. She uses her work with the police to unravel all sorts of mysterious cases.

The “Aunt Dimity” series from Nancy Atherton is another choice to see. In this series, a woman inherits a beautiful country cottage and a journal that is possessed by a friendly ghost. This ghost helps her to find all kinds of criminals and to resolve a number of difficult cases.

Alice Kimberly’s “Haunted Bookshop” is another great series for fans to look forward to. This is about an owner of a Rhode Island bookstore who is haunted by an old private investigator from the Depression. The series of popular for mixing modern mystery with classic literature, particularly older detective noir work as the bookshop owner works with the ghost to resolve a number of intriguing cases all around the area.

What Is The Next Book in The Agatha Raisin Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Agatha Raisin Series. The newest book is Dead on Target and was released on September, 19th 2023.

2 thoughts on “Agatha Raisin”

  1. The Agatha Raisin series always delivers as the books are fun and easy to read. While there are a few hits and misses (As The Pig Turns was not for me) as there are in every series, M.C. Beaton mostly stays true to the character and style that hooked readers early on. I often find myself not even caring “who done it” as I just enjoy the descriptions of the characters, their interactions and musings about one another.

    Agatha as a character is utterly fascinating as well. She can be dumb at times, bold at others, tough when needed but most of all soft on the inside. Just a great character and a good series to read on the beach.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *