Alcatraz Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Alcatraz is a series of children’s novels written by Brandon Sanderson. The books follow the exploits of a boy who must face off against a cult of evil librarians.

Get notified when Brandon Sanderson releases a new book at

Order of Alcatraz Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Alcatraz Versus the Scrivener's Bones ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Alcatraz Versus the Knights of Crystallia ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Alcatraz Versus the Shattered Lens ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Dark Talent ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2016 Description / Buy
6 Bastille vs. the Evil Librarians (By: Brandon Sanderson, Janci Patterson) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Brandon Sanderson has garnered a reputation for producing massive tomes that constitute fantasy tales of the most epic nature. And books like the Way of Kings and the Well of Ascension normally feature larger than life characters using complex magical systems to save the world.

The Alcatraz series is definitely fantasy, and Brandon Sanderson’s hero is fighting to save the world using his own brand of magic, but these books are unlike anything that the author has ever produced.

The series is written with middle –grade children in mind, though, as is often the case with Sanderson’s work, the novels have a far wider appeal. The concept is so lighthearted it could be accused of being silly.

And the author emphasizes the humor above any of the action and character development.

Alcatraz Smedry takes center stage as a little boy with a grand destiny. Alcatraz never thought he was anything special. He thought he was just another orphan trying to survive life with his foster parents.

But then he turned thirteen and everything changed. Alcatraz learned that the world was divided between the Hushlands and the Free Kingdoms.

The Hushlands constitute the United States, Canada, England, and every other country that lies under the control of the Librarians, an evil cult that is determined to control the world.

In the Hushlands, the librarians exert their control by monitoring and manipulating information.

The Free Kingdoms live outside the confines of the librarians’ control. They know the truth about the nature of the world and its ten continents. They share information freely and take every opportunity that comes their way to fight back against the evil librarians.

Alcatraz is drawn into the Hushlands/Free Kingdoms conflict when he receives a bag of sand for his thirteenth birthday. When the evil librarians steal it from him, Alcatraz learns that he must get it back before it is used to take over the world.

The Evil Librarians have convinced the Hushlands that sand is just another innocuous substance. And Alcatraz believed them because he was born in the Hushlands. Once his eyes are opened to the truth, the boy joins the fight to save the world.

Alcatraz is aided in his efforts by a special gift that allows him to break things. With this power in tow, Alcatraz begins to traverse the Hushlands and the Free Kingdoms, learning the true nature of his heritage and doing his part to safeguard mankind.

The Alcatraz series is written in the first person from the perspective of Alcatraz. Alcatraz is presented as the writer of the books. It is mentioned on numerous occasions that the hero isn’t exactly an honest narrator and that his account of events shouldn’t be trusted.

These novels have been praised for their hero’s self-deprecating humor and penchant for breaking the fourth wall.

Best Alcatraz Books

The Alcatraz novels were written with children in mind but they have a very wide appeal and are just as likely to find a home on the shelf of an adult, with some of the best books in the series including:

Alcatraz VS the Scrivener’s Bones: The Hushlands were told that the Library of Alexandria was destroyed. But, like everything the evil librarians say, that is a lie. The library is very much in existence and it has a dark secret.

Alcatraz is forced to infiltrate Alexandria to rescue his father and grandfather. He encounters many adventures along the way and learns that if he takes a book from the Library of Alexandria, he will lose his soul.

Alcatraz VS the Knights of Crystallia: When Alcatraz arrives in the Free Kingdom City of Crystallia, he is shocked to learn that he is a legend. Not only was he stolen by evil librarians as a baby but his mother is a member of their ranks.

When the City comes under siege, only Alcatraz has the power and the wits to save it.

Other Book Series You May Like

Check out “The Rithmatist” Series by Brandon Sanderson for a good read. Rithmatists are warriors who use special geometric lines to perform magic. They protect mankind against an evil force. Joel is a teenage boy who wants to become a rithmatist despite having no affinity for the gift.

You may also enjoy “The Reckoners” Series by Brandon Sanderson. An object appears and gives random people special powers. These people abuse those powers and use them to enslave mankind. One young man makes it his goal to resist their tyranny despite poor odds.

What Is The Next Book in The Alcatraz Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Alcatraz Series. The newest book is Bastille vs. the Evil Librarians and was released on September, 20th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *