Brandon Sanderson Books

Brandon Sanderson is American science fiction and fantasy writer. He is commonly known for Mistborn series which have won various awards and his epic work in concluding Robert Jordan fantasy series, The Wheel of Time. The author was born in Lincoln, Nebraska in 1975. He attended Brigham Young University majoring in English after completing a two-year missionary (LDS) mission in Seoul, South Korea in 1997.

Order of Mistborn Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Final Empire 2006
2 The Well of Ascension 2007
3 The Hero of Ages 2008
4 The Alloy of Law 2011
5 Shadows of Self 2015
6 The Bands of Mourning 2016

Order of Alcatraz Series

Order of The Stormlight Archive Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Way of Kings 2010
2 Words of Radiance 2014
3 Arcanum Unbounded 2016
4 Oathbringer 2017

Order of Wheel of Time Series

Order of Elantris Series

# Read Title Published
1 Elantris 2005
2 The Emperor's Soul 2012

Order of White Sand Series

# Read Title Published
1 White Sand Volume 1 2016
2 White Sand Volume 2 2017

Order of The Cosmere Series

Order of Legion Series

# Read Title Published
1 Legion 2012
2 Legion and The Emperor's Soul 2013
3 Skin Deep 2014

Order of Infinity Blade Series

# Read Title Published
1 Awakening 2011
2 Redemption 2013

Order of Warbreaker Series

# Read Title Published
1 Warbreaker 2009

Order of Rithmatist Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Rithmatist 2013

Order of Reckoners Series

# Read Title Published
1 Steelheart 2013
2 Mitosis 2013
3 Firefight 2015
4 Calamity 2016

Order of Brandon Sanderson Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Firstborn 2008
2 Warbreaker 2009
3 The Rithmatist 2013
4 Perfect State 2015
5 Snapshot 2017
Print: Print PDF

In 2006 Brandon Sanderson married Emily Bushman, a teacher and a fellow English Major who later became his business CEO. The couple lives in American Fork, Utah.

Elantris is Sanderson first novel published in 2005 by Tor Books and was subject to many positive reviews. It was followed by The Final Empire the first book in Mistborn fantasy trilogy which introduces allomancers- people who have the ability to burn alloys and metals after ingesting them and can also allow control over supernatural forces and enhance senses. The sequel to The Final Empire, The Well of Ascension was published in 2007.

Brandon Sanderson has written Children’s novel such as Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians, which explains about a boy with unique talents who confronts evil librarians who want to rule the world.

In 2009, The Hero of Ages, the final book in Mistborn trilogy was published while the second book in Alcatraz series was also issued later the same year. A year later in 2010, the author wrote another novel, The Way of Kings the first book in a planned ten-book series named The Stormlight Archive. Sanderson has published various novellas, such as Legion (2012), Infinity Blade Awakening (2011) and many other short works.


Brandon Sanderson has won and also been nominated for multiple awards for his outstanding work. Elantris won the Best Epic Fantasy Novel Award and Reviewers Choice Best Book Award in 2005. Later in 2006, Mistborn series was nominated for Reviewers Choice Best Book Award.

Defending Elysium won the 2007 UPC Science Fiction Award. Subsequently, The Hero of Ages won the Reviewers Choice Best Book Award and Reviewers Choice Best Book Award in 2008.

World of Radiance won the 2014 Goodreads Choice Awards for the best fantasy novel of 2014; the same book won David Gemmell Legend Award in 2015. Steelheart won the 2013 Whitney Awards for the Best Young Adult novel.


DMG Entertainment has purchased the rights to Sanderson’s cosmere books, and the production company is already making the adaptation of the first novel in the fantasy epic series; The Way of Kings. Even though the stormlight archive novels are the first in the adaptation and already assigned script writers, the company is also seeking the adaptation of The Final Empire the first book in Mistborn series.


These are two best books by Brandon Sanderson, Elantris & The Final Empire.

Elantris: Elantris was the capital the gigantic Arelon; it was filled with kindhearted beings that used their super magical abilities for the benefit of everyone. Each of every demigod was once an ordinary person until a mysterious power of the Shaod touched them.

Now it has been ten years since the magic they possessed failed. The electricians became powerless creatures, wizened, leper-like and darkness befell Elentris.

Princess Sarene of Teod arrives in the new capital of Arelon for a marriage with Prince Raoden; she instead finds out that his soon to be husband has died and now she is considered a widow. Arelon and Teod are considered as threats by the ruthless religious fanatics of Fjordell.

So Sarene decides to use her newly acquired state to counterattack the efforts of Hrathen, a high priest who has arrived at Kae to transform Arelon and claim it for its god and his empire. However, neither Hrathen nor Sarene knows the truth about Prince Raoden- that his father exiled him and his efforts to help the people trapped in the dark city triggers a series of events that will bring a flick of hope to Arelon and reveal the dark secret of Elantris.

The Final Empire: In a world where mist dominates the night and ash fall from the sky, evil hangs loosely over the land and chokes all life. Future and hope of the empire rest on a trouble maker and his rookie. Working together can they color the world as it was before?