The Stormlight Archive Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The Stormlight Archive is a series of epic fantasy novels written by Brandon Sanderson. The books take place on Roshar, a world with three moons that is frequently assaulted by massively violent storms which sweep from east to west.

Get notified when Brandon Sanderson releases a new book at

Order of The Stormlight Archive Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Way of Kings ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Words of Radiance ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2014 Description / Buy
3 Edgedancer ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Oathbringer ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2017 Description / Buy
5 Dawnshard (By: Brandon Sanderson) 2020 Description / Buy
6 Rhythm of War ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2020 Description / Buy
7 Wind and Truth (By: Brandon Sanderson) 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Because of these so-called high storms, a considerable portion of the planet has been stripped of its vegetation and is largely bare rock from which a select few alien organisms sprout.

Roshar is home to Spren, spirits that are created and governed by certain conditions or emotions. It is from the power of these spren that gifts such as surgebinding and soulcasting can be manifested.

A very long time ago, the Knights Radiant, a special set of ten consecrated orders, was granted the power of surgebinding, armed with special weapons and suits of armor called Shardblades and Shardplate and charged with defending the world against an unstoppable foe.

Their war against this enemy raged for generations. According to ancient lore, a time came when the Knights would no longer fight for the cause of mankind. They betrayed their positions, cast their weapons aside and abandoned Roshar to its fate.

This is the story they tell in The Way of Kings, the first novel in the Stormlight Archive series.

The world has been greatly changed since the days of the Knights Radiant. Civilizations and even the ecology of the planet have evolved to survive Roshar’s many storms.

On the continent of Roshar, nothing is more precious than the Shardplate and the Shardblade, the weapons of the Knights Radiant, each so rare yet so powerful that they have the capacity to turn any ordinary man into an invincible warrior.

In a world where entire kingdoms have been traded for Shardblades and plates because of their ability to definitively settle wars, Kaladin is a young man just struggling to survive as a slave.

Kaladin was once a bright student looking to make his mark in the medical field. Then the war against Roshar’s great enemy ignited and Kaladin decided that he was better off going to the front line and defending his home, a decision he eventually regretted.

The first book emphasizes the importance of Kaladin to the future of Roshar. A gifted young man with a knack for the lost powers of surgebinding, Kaladin becomes the key to achieving victory in a conflict that Roshar hasn’t begun to fight.

Along the way, Kaladin meets Dalinar, a nobleman whose life changed when he began to receive visions from God and realized that it was his destiny to recreate the Order of the Knights Radiant and recruit surgebinders like Kaladin and Shallan to his cause.

The Stormlight Archive series is a sprawling tale. Each book brings new players to the table and explains how they will fit into the larger conflict.

Stormlight Archive Awards

For his efforts in writing the Stormlight Archive Series, Brandon Sanderson has won Whitney Awards and David Gemmell Legend Awards.

Best Stormlight Archive Books

The Stormlight Archive novels are considered by many to be Brandon Sanderson’s greatest achievement, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Way of Kings: A long time ago, the Knights Radiant protected the world of Roshar, a planet of stone and storms. But they abandoned their posts and left Roshar to fend for itself. They left behind their shardplate and shardplades, weapons of great power capable of turning the most ordinary of men into great warriors.

Kaladin once had a bright future. But then he threw his medical apprenticeship aside in favor of taking up the spear and fighting in a war he knew little about. Kaladin’s only goal was to go to the front lines and do his part to protect his homeland.

The young man finally has his wish fulfilled. He has been brought to the shattered plains, the place upon which the world’s most significant battle is being fought. However, Kaladin is now a slave, and rather than fighting in the war, he must strive to survive the rigors of life on a rocky plain that is seemingly designed to kill him.

Words of Radiance: Once a slave of little standing, Kaladin now stands as captain of the King’s bodyguard. The war at the shattered plains still rages. But it isn’t the Pashendi that Kaladin fears but rather the assassin in white who is currently traversing Roshar, killing any and all monarchs of note.

If the rumors are to be believed, then it won’t be long before Kaladin faces the seemingly unstoppable foe on the Shattered Plains, this as Roshar prepares to host a particularly violent storm.

Other Book Series You May Like

Many readers also enjoy the “Shattered Sea” Series by Joe Abercrombie. Yarvi was born with a crippled hand. And even as the youngest son of a King, that marked him as unclean and unworthy. Unable to take up the sword, Yarvi must complete his initiation into the Ministry and prove to his father and the world that he has something of worth to offer.

Be sure to check out the “Heritage of Power” series for another great read. Dragons have returned to the world after a thousand years. And while some of them seem ready to ally with man, the majority only seek conquest. Trip is a boy with a special gift that he must learn to utilize before the dragon threat ends his world.

What Is The Next Book in The Stormlight Archive Series?

The next book in the The Stormlight Archive Series by Brandon Sanderson is Wind and Truth and will be released on December, 6th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *