Wheel of Time Books

Wheel of Time is a high fantasy series of novels written by Robert Jordan. Jordan wrote the first eleven books in the series before his death in 2007. It was eventually determined that Brandon Sanderson, a renowned fantasy author would pick up where Jordan left off.

Order of The Wheel of Time Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 From The Two Rivers 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Eye of the World 1990 Description / Buy
3 The Great Hunt 1990 Description / Buy
4 The Dragon Reborn 1991 Description / Buy
5 The Shadow Rising 1992 Description / Buy
6 The Fires of Heaven 1993 Description / Buy
7 Lord of Chaos 1994 Description / Buy
8 A Crown of Swords 1996 Description / Buy
9 The World of Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time 1997 Description / Buy
10 The Path of Daggers 1998 Description / Buy
11 Winter's Heart 2000 Description / Buy
12 The Gathering Storm 2000 Description / Buy
13 Crossroads of Twilight 2003 Description / Buy
14 New Spring 2004 Description / Buy
15 Knife of Dreams 2005 Description / Buy
16 The Gathering Storm 2009 Description / Buy
17 Towers of Midnight 2010 Description / Buy
18 A Memory of Light 2012 Description / Buy
19 The Wheel of Time Companion 2015 Description / Buy
20 To the Blight 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of The Wheel of Time - Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 New Spring 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Eye of the World, Volume 1 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Eye of the World, Volume 2 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Eye of the World, Volume 3 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Eye of the World, Volume 4 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Eye of the World, Volume 5 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Eye of the World, Volume 6 2015 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

At the time of his death, Jordan was writing the 12th and final book in the series. However, after looking through Jordan’s extensive notes, Sanderson concluded that it wouldn’t be possible to fulfill Jordan’s vision of the finale in just one volume, not without making the book too large to publish.

So it was decided that the final chapter in the Wheel of Time series would be published in three volumes which were eventually released between 2009 and 2013.

Utilizing elements of Hinduism, Asian Mythology, and Buddhism, Robert Jordan created a world where a deity made the Wheel of Time, an entity that not only administers existence but whose spokes represent periods and phases of time in history.

The heroes in Jordan’s universe have the ability to tap into a source of energy called the One Power and with it protect reality as it stands. They wage war against Shai’tan, the enemy of the deity that created the world and reality.

The first book in the series (The Eye of the World) takes readers to the town of Two Rivers. Moraine, an Aes Sedai, a member of the foremost organization in the series that utilizes the One Power, and her servant are in search of a young man that rumors say is highly sought after by those that follow Shai’tan.

Of all the residents of Two Rivers, three youths –Matrim, Rand, and Perrin—catch her eye. Moiraine believes that one of these young men is an entity known as the Dragon Reborn. To keep them safe from the disciples of the enemy, Moiraine takes the three youths out of their village.

Her intention is to sequester them in Tar Valon, the Aes Sedai City. There she hopes to learn the truth of their origins. Along the way, Rand and his friends learn of the true threat facing the world.

They realize that saving the world is a little more complicated than simply finding the bad guys and sticking a sword through them. They have to learn to maneuver the politics of the many powerful factions that control the world, not to mention surviving long enough to achieve their ultimate destinies.

Wheel of Time Awards

Lord of Chaos, the sixth book in the series, was nominated for a Locus Award in 1995. The whole series received a Hugo Award nomination following its completion.

Best Wheel of Time Books

The Wheel of Time has become a cultural phenomenon whose significance is comparable to that of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Dragon Reborn: Rand al’Thor is the Dragon Reborn. The prophecies hail him as a savior with the power to defeat the Dark One. Yet, with no one to teach him how to control his powers, he stands the risk of running mad, killing all those he loves and, ultimately, destroying the world.

Yet he cannot run from his destiny. He must find the Dark One, touch the One Power and bring the struggle to an end.

Meanwhile, Perrin Aybara is grappling with decisions that could see him lose his humanity, this as Egwene, Elayne and Nynaeve learn that the rumored Black Ajah is all too real.

The Shadow Rising: The world is at a precipice. With the seals of Shayol Ghul breaking, the Dark One has the power to send his shadow out against mankind.

The Dragon Reborn and the man with yellow eyes continue to flee from the assault of the Whitecloaks in Two Rivers.

Tar Valon is facing a threat that Min doesn’t believe the White Tower will survive.

The Lord Dragon has a plan that will leave Elayne, Egwene and even the Black Ajah at a loss.

Other Book Series You May Like

The Dark Tower” Series by Stephen King is a really great series to check out. There is a mysterious tower that stands at the center of all things. A great evil seeks to destroy it and, in turn, bring the universe to ruin. The only thing standing in its way is the gunslinger, a warrior of great strength.

You will also enjoy “The First Law” Series by Joe Abercrombie. In a world at war with itself, a disparate collection of characters come together to undertake a journey that will see them capture the one tool they need to stop a supernatural threat.

What Is The Next Book in The Wheel Of Time Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Wheel Of Time Series. The newest book is To the Blight and was released on October, 22nd 2019.