Mistborn Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mistborn is a series of epic fantasy novels that follow the exploits of a young girl who has been charged with saving the world. The books were written by Brandon Sanderson. Even though the author was active before 2006—the year the first Mistborn novel was published—it wasn’t until Sanderson wrote the Mistborn books that his star exploded.

Get notified when Brandon Sanderson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Mistborn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mistborn: The Final Empire ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Well of Ascension ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Hero of Ages ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2008 Description / Buy
4 The Alloy of Law ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Shadows of Self ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2015 Description / Buy
6 The Bands of Mourning ( By: Brandon Sanderson) 2016 Description / Buy
7 Secret History (By: Brandon Sanderson) 2022 Description / Buy
8 The Lost Metal (By: Brandon Sanderson) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The Final Empire, the first novel in the series, initially took readers to a place called the Final Empire on Scadrial, an alien world. The book introduced readers to the Lord Ruler, a dictator that came to power a thousand years ago when he gained access to immense power, supposedly saved mankind from a horrific threat and then used his new found strength to rule the population of Scadrial.

In order to govern his vast empire, the Lord Ruler created a special art called Allomancy with whose power the nobles of his kingdom were able to keep Scadrial under his grasp. In the thousand years since the Lord Ruler came to power, the number of Allomantic users has grown, the result of the nobles procreating with their peasant servants over the centuries.

The Final Empire is in a state of disrepair. While the Godlike powers of the Lord Ruler have allowed him to remain unchallenged, signs of rebellion have begun to emerge.

Vin is only a poor thieving girl when readers first meet her. She knows that she isn’t like other people but she has yet to discover the true nature of her Allomantic powers.

After a lifetime spent in misery and poverty and hunger, Vin’s life changes when she meets Kelsier. A legendary thief, Kelsier’s name was made when he escaped a brutal prison camp and began to act out against the Final Empire using his Mistborn powers.

Mistborn are just like normal Allomancers, except that they have access to a far wider range of powers. They are also extremely rare. Kelsier brings Vin into his crew of thieves when he realizes that she is a Mistborn.

Together, they initiate a rebellion that will bring the Final Empire to its knees.

The Mistborn series initially ran for three books. The trilogy was brought to a close by The Hero of Ages which was published in 2008.

But then, to the surprise of all his fans, Brandon Sanderson launched a whole new series set several centuries after the events of The Hero of Ages. Tentatively titled Wax and Wayne, the second series explored the world of Scadrial as it embraced the industrial age.

Mistborn Awards

The Mistborn books have been nominated for a DGLA Award, a Whitney Award (Best Speculative Fiction), and RT Choice Best Book Awards.

Mistborn Books into Movies

Rumors of the Mistborn books receiving live-action adaptations have been rife for several years, first when Paloppa Pictures LLC optioned the rights in 2010 and then when that option ran out and DMG Entertainment took up the cause of bringing Mistborn to the big screen in 2017.

Best Mistborn Books

The Mistborn books have been praised for their precise narrative and addictive storytelling, with some of the best titles in the series including:

The Final Empire: Scadrial is a dystopian world. The people are poor and the plant life is brown, the result of a constant downpour of ash. A thousand years ago, a threat called the Deepness threatened to destroy the world. A hero arose, took a hold of a great power and saved mankind.

But then he turned around and used that same power to control mankind, becoming the so-called Lord Ruler.

A thousand years later, a thief called Kelsier brings together a unit of criminals to rob the Lord Ruler of his most precious prize.

:The Well of Ascension: Once upon a time, Vin was just another street urchin. Then she discovered her special power and became the most powerful force in the kingdom. Elend Venture was just another idealistic nobleman with grand ideas of changing society.

The two must join forces to keep Scadrial safe from an ancient legend.

Other Book Series You May Like

Many readers enjoy the “Lightbringer” Series by Brent Weeks. Guile, the prism, is the most powerful being in existence. But he knows that his time is soon coming to an end. But just as Guile begins to accept his fate, he learns that he has a son.

Be sure to check out “The Licanius Trilogy” by James Islington. A long time ago, a powerful dictatorial group was overthrown in a war after their powers failed them. Not only where they all killed off but the gifted men and women under them were forced to submit to a restrictive new power.

Two decades later, Davian is one such gifted individual that must come to terms with the hate and loathing with which people view him because of a war that started and ended before he was even born.

What Is The Next Book in The Mistborn Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Mistborn Series. The newest book is The Lost Metal and was released on November, 15th 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *