Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls is a series of novels from Meg Cabot which tell the story of Allie Finkle, a nine-year-old girl who must come to terms with her rapidly changing life.

Get notified when Meg Cabot releases a new book at

Order of Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Moving Day ( By: Meg Cabot) 2008 Description / Buy
2 The New Girl (By: Meg Cabot) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Best Friends and Drama Queens ( By: Meg Cabot) 2009 Description / Buy
4 Stage Fright ( By: Meg Cabot) 2009 Description / Buy
5 Glitter Girls and the Great Fake-Out / Glitter Girls ( By: Meg Cabot) 2010 Description / Buy
6 Blast from the Past ( By: Meg Cabot) 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Meg Cabot is best known for writing books about teens and for teens. The Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls series stands out from her bibliography because it is written with middle-grade kids in mind.

In fact, the books are categorized as juvenile fiction that is designed to appeal to so-called Tweens.

Allie Finkle, the protagonist of the novels, is introduced to readers in Moving Day, the first novel in the series.

Allie just abandoned everything she knows to start over in a new town. That means settling into a new school, maneuvering the new crowd at her new school and making sense of her relationships with her old friends.

Most adults would brush these worries off but Allie is just nine. So every new bump in her road is a much bigger deal.

Fortunately for the girl, she’s quite strong-willed and sturdy of heart, and she takes every obstacle in stride.

The heroine acts as the narrator of Meg Cabot’s stories. She has a notebook in which she chronicles every situation she encounters. Over time, every challenge that she comes upon becomes an important tip that she believes other young girls will appreciate and utilize.

These novels work because Meg Cabot accurately captures her protagonist’s voice. Allie Finkle is a nine-year-old girl who sounds her age. She faces all the problems that plague other tweens.

And the author fights the temptation to trivialize those issues. Cabot seems to appreciate the fact that for tweens, problems always seem far bigger than they actually are.

Through Allie’s experiences, Cabot provides young girls with the guidance they need to traverse the muddy waters of school and home life at that tender age.

Allie spends her days making new friends, fighting off bullies, learning to communicate politely with adults, tackling difficult school assignments and so on and so forth.

Each installment in the series has a particular theme attached to a particular message that will help young readers grow.

Even though these novels deal with tweens, they have plenty of adult characters, including Allie’s beautiful teacher who she admires. These grownup men and women are strong, positive role models for Allie to emulate.

Best Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls Books

These novels are written specifically for middle-grade readers who will appreciate them for their strong messages and relatable stories, with some of the best books in the series including:

Stage Fright: Allie’s class will be putting on a play for their open house in a few days. Allie can’t wait. She’s looking forward to playing the part of Princess Penelope.

Her excitement starts to wane when she’s walking home one day and one of her friends suggests that her other friend would be perfect for the princess part.

Allie agrees because she wants to keep the peace. But once she gets home, all she wants to do is cry. Things only get worse when Allie auditions for the Princess role and then gets cast as the evil queen.

Glitter Girls: Allie is being ripped into two. On the one hand, Erica’s big sister Missy is participating in the regional baton competition and Erica has every intention of bringing all her best friends along for the fun, including Allie.

On the other hand, Brittany Hauser is preparing to throw the birthday party of the year, and she also wants Allie to come along. Technically speaking, Allie doesn’t like Brittany. She thinks the girl is too much of a snob.

But Brittany is promising a ride in a stretch limo and a night at an expensive hotel, and all that sounds so appealing to Allie.

The girl must find a way to do what she wants without hurting anyone’s feelings.

Other Book Series You May Like

You may also like the “Gems Spies” Series by Doug Solter. These books tell the stories of an all-girls team of spies who work with an organization called The Authority to fight evil and keep the world safe.

Another great series is “The Enchanted Kitchen” Series by Dianna Sanchez. Millie is a witch but she can’t do magic, not the kind that her mother wants. Along with her friend Petunia, Millie must figure out who she is, what she was made for, and why all her spellwork keeps going wrong.

What Is The Next Book in The Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Allie Finkle's Rules For Girls Series. The newest book is Blast from the Past and was released on September, 3rd 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *