Aloha Reef Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Aloha Reef is a series of Christian Suspense novels with elements of romance written by Colleen Coble. Colleen is most prominently known for her romance novels. However, the Aloha Reef series tends to treat romance as secondary.

Get notified when Colleen Coble releases a new book at

Order of Aloha Reef Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Distant Echoes ( By: Colleen Coble) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Black Sands ( By: Colleen Coble) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Dangerous Depths ( By: Colleen Coble) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Midnight Sea ( By: Colleen Coble) 2007 Description / Buy
5 Holy Night ( By: Colleen Coble) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Distant Echoes, the first novel, takes readers to Hawaii, the primary setting of the series. Readers are introduced to a Dolphin Researcher called Kaia Oana who is called upon to participate in the resolution of a mystery after an accident downs a tourist boat.

Kaia has a pessimistic opinion of human beings and considers them to be far less humane than dolphins with which she typically interacts. Her opinions are challenged when she meets and works closely with Lieutenant Commander Jesse Mathews to solve a mystery.

All the Aloha Reef books feature a male and female protagonist. More often than not, the heroine is a powerful woman with a successful career and a strong connection to animal life.

In some cases, she merely operates in close proximity to animals. In other cases, she has an animal for a pet. In both situations, the animal acts as the heroine’s partner, assisting her in her efforts to solve the mystery at hand.

The hero is a strong man whose efforts to solve the mystery of the book bring him into contact with the heroine. Sometimes, the hero and the heroine have a sordid past. More often than not, though, they are relative strangers that must strive to overcome the barriers around one another’s hearts.

The typical contemporary romance novel will use its mysteries to bring its hero and heroine together. And the Aloha Reef books technically play out in the same manner. However, Colleen Coble has a tendency to elevate the importance of the mystery above the romance.

It is for this reason that the Aloha Reef series is categorized as Christian suspense rather than Christian romance. Colleen’s mysteries are designed to be the driving factors of her stories. The romance that eventually develops is merely a bonus.

It should be noted, though, that the romance always develops. Colleen’s heroes and heroines always fall for one another. But this only happens after they learn to overcome the personal weaknesses and past failures that haunt them, an undertaking that allows the author to delve into aspects of the Christian faith, this including having her characters read the Bible.

The Aloha Reef books have been praised for their breakneck pace and intense atmosphere.

Aloha Reef Awards

Dangerous Depths, the third book in the Aloha Reef series, won the Carol Award in 2007.

Best Aloha Reef Series

Colleen Coble has garnered a reputation for producing hard-hitting romance and suspense novels with a strong Christian message, with some of the best novels in her Aloha Reef series including:

Black Sands: Annie Tagama practically worshiped her brother and sister. And the volcanologist was happy to stay in their shadow, content to work quietly with her father on his research projects.

Sorrow struck when her brother died. Annie always had a crush on Mano Ohana. However, that devotion took a sour turn when Annie learned that Mano had a hand in her beloved brother’s death.

Annie has since tried and failed to find forgiveness in her heart for her former crush.

Mano Ohana has never forgotten the mistake that cost his best friend his life. And he has never forgiven himself.

A chance at redemption comes Mano’s way when he learns that Tomi Tagama is actually alive and that if Mano doesn’t do something soon, he might not stay that way.

Midnight Sea: Lani Tagama is blind. She lost her eyesight during a random shooting. She must learn to rely on an ex-cop and a guide dog with poor training if she is to maneuver the dark world she now inhabits.

Lani’s attempts at attaining a new form of independence are upended when she realizes that she has become the target of a dangerous foe.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Atlanta Justice” Series by Rachel Dylan. These books are Christian Legal Fiction. They follow the exploits of female lawyers as they try to do the right thing and suffer near fatal consequences as a result. They must learn to depend on the men who have promised to protect them as they pursue justice.

Fans also enjoy the “Logan Point” Series by Patricia Bradley. These books explore the town of Logan Point, the crimes that it attracts and the men and women who keep trying to solve them even as they strive against various personal and romantic barriers.

What Is The Next Book in The Aloha Reef Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Aloha Reef Series. The newest book is Holy Night and was released on November, 19th 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *