Anita Blake Books

Anita Blake is a set of urban fantasy books, comic books and short stories written by a best-selling American author of fantasy and romance books Laurell. Hamilton. The series is told from the first person perspective of Anita Blake working in St. Louis, Missouri. She is a professional vampire executioner, a zombie raiser and a consultant for the police department. The early novels in the series mainly focus on action and crime solving and the next one focus on Anita’s sexual and personal powers and relationships.

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Guilty Pleasures 1993 Description / Buy
2 The Laughing Corpse 1994 Description / Buy
3 Circus of the Damned 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Lunatic Cafe 1996 Description / Buy
5 Bloody Bones 1996 Description / Buy
6 The Killing Dance 1997 Description / Buy
7 Burnt Offerings 1998 Description / Buy
8 Blue Moon 1998 Description / Buy
9 Obsidian Butterfly 2000 Description / Buy
10 Narcissus in Chains 2001 Description / Buy
11 Cerulean Sins 2003 Description / Buy
12 Incubus Dreams 2004 Description / Buy
13 Bite 2004 Description / Buy
14 Micah 2006 Description / Buy
15 Danse Macabre 2006 Description / Buy
16 The Harlequin 2007 Description / Buy
17 Blood Noir 2007 Description / Buy
18 Skin Trade 2009 Description / Buy
19 Flirt 2009 Description / Buy
20 Bullet 2010 Description / Buy
21 Hit List 2011 Description / Buy
22 Beauty (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
23 Kiss the Dead 2012 Description / Buy
24 Affliction 2013 Description / Buy
25 Dancing (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
26 Jason 2014 Description / Buy
27 Dead Ice 2015 Description / Buy
28 Crimson Death 2016 Description / Buy
29 Wounded (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
30 Serpentine 2018 Description / Buy
31 Sucker Punch 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: The Laughing Corpse Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Animator (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
2 Executioner (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Necromancer (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Circus of the Damned Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Charmer 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Ingenue 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Scoundrel 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The First Death 2007 Description / Buy
2 Guilty Pleasures 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Laughing Corpse 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Strange Candy 2006 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The series takes place in a parallel universe where powers and supernatural creatures are real, and their presence is known to the public. Being a supernatural being, you are considered to have more rights than the ordinary humans. These books follow a licensed vampire hunter Anita confronting with the supernatural beings as she tries to solve various mysteries, discovers her abilities, and navigates complex puzzles of political and romantic relationship. As the series deepens Anita’s view on the supernatural being changes; at first she see’s supernatural beings as monsters with intentions of harming people, but she later grows to accept them and sees them as good being which should be protected.


In 2006, Dabel Brothers Productions and Marvel Comics began the development on a graphic book adaptation of three novels starting with Guilty Pleasures. The author worked with Stacie Ritchie on the scripts and Brett Booth illustrated the series up to year 2008. The first adaptation received positive acclaims with The Laughing Corpse listed on New York Times list in the graphic novel category. Unfortunately, the interest in this series decline but Marvel finalized its agreement for the first three adaptations in 2012.

In 2009, news sources cited that the author had agreed on a contract with IFC to adapt the books into a movie and also a potential tv show. Shortly later Hamilton confirmed that the rumors were true and that the books had officially been considered for adaptation. However, despite extensive planning, the author confirmed that the intentions for the television series were cancelled.


These are two best books written by Hamilton, Guilty Pleasures and The Laughing Corpse.

Guilty Pleasures: This is the first novel in Anita Blake, series; it is an engaging series opener. If you love Kinsey Millhone, V.I Warshawski and other female gumshoes and you also fancy some fantasy; you will definitely love this series. There is a rational world, an ordinary woman and there are vampires, and other supernatural creatures and some have rights to live and coexist with humans more or less peacefully.

The main character is a 5’2” necromancer, and her day job is raising the dead for a company that specializes in raising the dead so that queries such as wills can be settled peacefully once and for all. She is also a vampire hunter, and this makes her a federal marshal, and at this point, she views the monsters as bad while the humans are real. But that view about the monsters will later transform how Anita sees the monsters and the humans. What happens when monsters make an effort to rescue you from people who want to kill you? Then what would you expect when the scariest thing in your world is a human and not a monster? What would happen when a monster asks you for a date because he/she thinks you are kind of cute?

The Laughing Corpse: Book two in Anita Blake series, Vampire Hunter series. In this installment, Anita receives an offer to bring back to life a 280-year-old Zombie. However, such a bring back to life would require a human sacrifice and instead Anita does not accept the offer. Dolph then summons her to a scene of a grisly crime- the remains of a family, and now Anita must find the serial killer before anyone else dies.


If you like Anita Blake series you will find “Crimson Moon” Series by L.A Banks a good ideal series for you. The series combines fantasy, horror and passion and some bits of paranormals which the government would like to keep a secret. “Blue Bloods” written by Melissa de la Cruz is also an ideal series for you. The series is a spin-off of Wolf Pact and Witches of East End.

What Is The Next Book in The Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series. The newest book is Sucker Punch and was released on August, 4th 2020.