Antiques and Collectibles Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Appleby is the portrayed protagonist in the Antiques and Collectibles series authored by American penwoman Ellery Adams. The first book portraying protagonist Molly Appleby was initially published in 2006, titled A Killer Collection; and the series of books is shelved under the fiction genre and cozy mystery sub-genre.

Get notified when Ellery Adams releases a new book at

Order of Antiques & Collectibles Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Killer Collection ( By: Ellery Adams) 2006 Description / Buy
2 A Fatal Appraisal ( By: Ellery Adams) 2006 Description / Buy
3 A Deadly Dealer ( By: Ellery Adams) 2011 Description / Buy
4 A Treacherous Trader ( By: Ellery Adams) 2015 Description / Buy
5 A Devious Lot ( By: Ellery Adams) 2016 Description / Buy
6 A Killer Keepsake ( By: Ellery Adams) 2017 Description / Buy
7 A Bidder End ( By: Ellery Adams) 2019 Description / Buy
8 A Fatal Fabergé ( By: Ellery Adams) 2020 Description / Buy
9 Mint Condition Murder (By: Ellery Adams, Parker Riggs) 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Meet Molly Appleby. Appleby is a plumb woman who is in her thirties. She is domiciled in Durham upon North Carolina though her job requires her to travel extensively to Virginia and places like South Carolina in her quest for information for her articles on antique shops and antique collectors. She previously served as a teacher at an elementary school. Her mother, Clare is a pottery expert and collector. She operated an antique shop previously, but now runs an auction house alongside a family friend; this stands Appleby’s occupation in good stead. Basically, Appleby is a staff writer for a magazine called Collector’s Weekly. Appleby is a past master at antiques and suchlike collectibles, and thus, her niche at the publication is especially matters relating to auctions and antique shows.

The launching pad in the first book in the Antiques and Collectibles series, A Killer Collection, is a suspicious incident during a kiln opening at an auction house in North Carolina.This book and series in general revolves around antiques, pottery lovers and collectors, and suchlike collectibles. For starters, kiln openings are places where potters exhibit their newly-made items and pottery collectors acquire them at pocket-friendly prices.

Appleby accompanies Clara to the kiln openings for the first time. The proceedings are cut-throat, at least for a particular prolific pottery collector named George-Bradley Staunton. Staunton is a ‘go-getter’, impolite, arrogant, and self-centered. Perhaps this is highlighted by the fact that he assaulted a female collector at a kiln opening, breaking her leg in the haste. These traits make Staunton loathsome.

As such there is little pity for Staunton when he passes out then passes away during the kiln opening. There are many persons of interest ranging from his spouse Bunny, a mistress, hateful potters, and fellow collectors whom he had double-crossed. Interestingly, the authorities brush it aside, claiming it was accidental but facts show Staunton died as a result of insulin overdose, something that was done deliberately. Appleby, who is also juggling romantic feelings towards a workmate, starts sleuthing. Appleby’s sleuthing opens a can of worms, making it an entertaining and informative cozy mystery.

Best Antiques and Collectibles series Books

The following are the best books in the Antiques and Collectibles series.

A Killer Collection: We described the heart of this story in the previous section.

A Fatal Appraisal: The second one is A Fatal Appraisal; this is the second book in the series and was first published in 2006. Hereby, Appleby’s new occupation as the host of a TV show, Hidden Treasures, takes her to Richmond upon Virginia. She brings in the show’s appraiser to look over an 18th century desk with hidden compartments, but soon finds him dead. The desk seems to hold the key to who committed the crime and it’s up to Molly to find the clues and solve the murder of the appraiser.

A Deadly Dealer: The third one in the series was first published in 2007. This book sends Molly Appleby off to Nashville with her mother to cover the world famous Heart of Dixie auction. Molly is sent here to write an article for Collector’s Weekly. When a murder happens to a friend of her mothers and she finds the body in the hotels’ conservatory, she springs back in to action as the amateur sleuth we love from this series. This time it’s a missing antique cane that seemingly holds the key to solving the crime, but Molly finds herself stumped with the police not wanting any help from her. This book really showcases Molly’s mom, Clara and just how funny of a character she is. For this reason, it is beloved by fans of the series.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked the Antique and Collectibles series also liked the following series of books. The first one is titled “Portrait of Crime Mystery” series authored by Sharon Pape. The featured protagonist in this tetralogy is called Rory McCain. McCain, who previously served as a composite sketch artist, becomes a private detective after his uncle’s sudden death. A deceased Federal Marshal’s ghost, which doubles up as his housemate, intervenes in his detective operations.

The second one is called “Pet Boutique” penned by Annie Knox. The featured protagonist in this quadrilogy is Sunny Meadows; Meadows, who is a fortune teller, is based in New York.

The third one is titled “Fortune Teller Mystery” authored by Kari Lee Townsend. Izzy McHale is the featured protagonist in this whodunit trilogy. McHale operates a pet boutique and is looking forward to an eventful grand opening. Unfortunately, a regional activist named Sherry Harper throws spanner in the works and dies shortly thereafter; McHale’s bosom friend, Rena Hamilton, is fingered for the murder, prompting McHale to team up with her kith and kin to investigate the murder, hoping to save Rena from prosecution.

What Is The Next Book in The Antiques & Collectibles Mysteries Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Antiques & Collectibles Mysteries Series. The newest book is Mint Condition Murder and was released on April, 20th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *