Archie Sheridan and Gretchen Lowell Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Chelsea Cain is the renowned New York Times Bestselling author of the Gretchen Lowell/Archie Sheridan thrillers. Cain was born in the year 1972 in Iowa to Larry Schmidt and Mary Cain. For the most of her childhood, Cain spent her time on a hippie commune, which is located just right outside Iowa City. Cain’s father managed to resist the Vietnam draft; thus her parents had to live underground for quite some time. In the year 1978, Cain moved together with her mother to Bellingham, Washington, while at Bellingham, Cain attended the Lowell Elementary school before moving to Fairhaven middle school and finally to Sehome High school. During the school year, Cain lived with her mother, and during the summers, she usually traveled to Florida to live with her father, stepbrother, and stepmother.

Get notified when Chelsea Cain releases a new book at

Order of Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heartsick ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2007 Description / Buy
2 Sweetheart ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2008 Description / Buy
3 Evil At Heart ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2009 Description / Buy
4 The Night Season ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2011 Description / Buy
5 Kill You Twice ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Let Me Go ( By: Chelsea Cain) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Archie Sheridan Awards

None of the books in this series has been nominated for any major literary award.

Archie Sheridan Books into Movies

The Archie Sheridan book series are in the development stages as a drama series for the critically acclaimed cable Chanel FX. All the books in series are to be adapted into the television series.

Best Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Books

Heartsick: The first installment in the Archie Sheridan book series and is also one of the best performing books in this series. This installment opens up as Detective Archie Sheridan realizes that he has fallen into the clutches of a serial killer, the charming sociopath, Gretchen Lowell. Gretchen has not only tortured but also killed 199 people and is currently planning to add Archie to this list. First, she begins by drugging Archie and then restrains him. After restraining Archie, she begins a vicious and flinches-worthy torture regimen. At this point, Archie knows that Gretchen is not going to stop until he is dead. Thus, he begins counting the days, hoping that he would be found before he succumbs to death.

A few years later, we get to learn that Archie did survive the ordeal, after Gretchen decided to call the local police and turn herself in. However, after all the things that he went through, did he survive? Archie is not only addicted to painkillers at this point, but his life is in shambles. Upon returning to work, he is a completely different man. He breaks his hiatus after it is evident that there is a new serial killer in town and this time around, the serial killer is targeting sophomore girls. Since Gretchen Lowell was arrested, she was convicted and placed in a maximum-security prison. However, each Sunday, Archie Sheridan goes to visit her since the two maintain a sick and symbiotic relationship. From time to time, during the visits, Gretchen did reveal the locations where she had disposed of bodies while at the same time torturing Archie Sheridan mentally.

As the investigation continues, the team that was assigned to look into the new killings, Archie gives a young reporter the chance of not only shadowing him but also the chance to write a series of exclusives about the hero cop, who has finally returned. With that being said, the main focus of this story is mainly about two characters, however, along with the way, the author introduces scenes which feature lesser characters. The story was exceedingly engaging, and there was plenty of detail and suspense to grab the reader’s attention.

Sweetheart: This is the second installment in the Archie Sheridan book series. The book begins a few months after the end of the first installment. Archie has already stopped visiting Gretchen at the Maximum Security Prison; however, he is still obsessed with Gretchen.

Despite the fact that he stopped visiting Gretchen, he still continues to his day to day work, as this time around he tries to get to the bottom of a case, which involved a body which was found in a local park. Susan on the other had was following keenly a story, which involved one of the local senators who was involved sexually with a 14-year-old babysitter. However, a few days before the story was printed, the senator is killed together with one a journalist and the source that Susan relied on, disappeared. The great thing about this installment is that it is a story that is filled with anti-heroes. Irrespective of the fact that Lowell is a murderer, she is a fascinating and compelling one. Archie, on the other hand, is not only self- absorbed but is also driven to self-destruction. Susan is secretly in love with the protagonist and tries all she can to pursue a big story which could have unwanted consequences.

What Is The Next Book in The Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Archie Sheridan & Gretchen Lowell Series. The newest book is Let Me Go and was released on August, 13th 2013.

2 thoughts on “Archie Sheridan and Gretchen Lowell”

  1. I read online that Chelsea Cain switched to a different publisher and that might mean the end of this series? I hope not! These are great reads and Cain constantly finds a way to bring the two characters back together as the story is seemingly resolved at the end of each book. I really hope the corporations find a way to get along and let the writer write so that the readers can read!

    1. I’m very interested in the next Archie Sheridan and Gretchen Lowell audiobook. I read a couple of months ago that it was in progress but not yet has been published. It would be a shame if it never got finished !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *