Aurelio Zen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Dibdin was a highly critically acclaimed crimes series fiction novelist best known for his Aurelio Zen book series. He was born in Wolverhampton, England. He grew up in Lisburn, Northern Ireland, from age seven and attended the Friends’ School. Michael attended Sussex University, graduated with an English degree, and later studied for his Master’s degree at Alberta University in Edmonton Canada. He also taught English at the same institution before moving on to Italy to pursue his teaching career at a university in Perugia.

Order of Aurelio Zen Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ratking ( By: Michael Dibdin) 1988 Description / Buy
2 Vendetta (By: Michael Dibdin) 1990 Description / Buy
3 Cabal (By: Michael Dibdin) 1992 Description / Buy
4 Dead Lagoon ( By: Michael Dibdin) 1994 Description / Buy
5 Così Fan Tutti ( By: Michael Dibdin) 1996 Description / Buy
6 A Long Finish ( By: Michael Dibdin) 1998 Description / Buy
7 Blood Rain ( By: Michael Dibdin) 1999 Description / Buy
8 And Then You Die (By: Michael Dibdin) 2002 Description / Buy
9 Medusa (By: Michael Dibdin) 2003 Description / Buy
10 Back to Bologna ( By: Michael Dibdin) 2003 Description / Buy
11 End Games ( By: Michael Dibdin) 2007 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Dibdin published his first book titled a Sherlock Holmes pastiche, while in Canada. His most successful literary work was the infamous Aurelio Zen mysteries, set in Perugia, Italy. This series was centered on the detective in-depth analysis of the intricate silent crimes that took place in Italy during his days. It also portrayed the Italian commissario’s world detailing their way of life love, crime, religion their joys and pain.

The initial books of the series describe a simple touch to life, which gradually grows darker. Zen books have a lightness of touch that gradually becomes much darker. Dibdin also wrote several independent detective works set in England and the US. He was married to his third wife who is also a novel writer K. K. Beck. Michael Dibdin died in Seattle after a short illness, on 30 March 2007.

Aurelio Zen Awards

Michael received a Macallan Crime Writer’s Gold Dagger award for his first book in the Zen Series, Ratking, in 1988. Another notable book in the Zen series is Cabal, released in 1992; it fetched him a Grand Prix du Roman Policier.

Aurelio Zen Books into Movies

Aurelio Zen series shown on PBS in America and BBC in the UK.

Best Aurelio Zen books

Ratking: In the book’s opening Didbin expresses his satirical view of the local town, when Zen casually looks on when a robbery takes place on a train en-route to Rome as his acquaintances in the passenger compartment rebuke him for his ineffectiveness. Rather than take offense, Zen shrugs off and calls the local police to deal with the train goons. Is our hero crooked or incompetent? The answer is seemingly complicated; Aurelio Zen is not an active cop because of a botched kidnapping investigation some years back.

He’s also an outcast, a Venetian to be precise. He sits on the wrong side of the federal government’s fence. What’s more insulting to Italians than to date an American girl! Therefore, when Police Commissioner Zen is picked to run a fresh case in Perugia, apparently, someone played a hand in this for Zen’s selection for this particular role.

Inspector Zen is tasked to go and investigate into the abduction of a wealthy businessperson Ruggiero Miletti. The case proves difficult to penetrate, as the local authorities do not support him. They see him as an inconsequential interloper. Zen is also used as a pawn to manipulate the stakes against the Miletti’s for their political mileage. The bereaved family does not seem too concerned with their missing father, and therefore, they do not cooperate with the police. They all appear to hold dark secrets and would rather let their father die in the hands of the kidnappers. Zen finds this intriguing. He’s not letting this one slide.

Medusa: This is a recent book in the Zen series. A decomposed body is found in a deserted military tunnel. Inspector Aurelio Zen journeys to the Italian Alps to probe into the case. The death looks like an accident. However, Zen finds a tattoo hat uncovers the whole mystery. He becomes even more suspicious when the body disappears from the morgue. As Zen tries to discover the secrets of an undercover military Association named Medusa, he must be careful not to tread into the deadly world of the shifty Italians wrongfully.

Medusa explores into the dark tales of post-war Italy and a current tourism exploration that Zen prefers to call the “Italia Lite.” This latest book from Michael Dublin delves deep into the wicked ways of the Italian mafia deeply engrained into every fiber of the people’s culture and government operations. The book drips with conspiracy and a crime story so gratifying to the reader.

Other Book Series You May Like

Dibdin’s additional books include “Dirty Tricks” and “The Dying of the Light” among many other notable books.

What Is The Next Book in The Aurelio Zen Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Aurelio Zen Series. The newest book is End Games and was released on January, 1st 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *