Benjamin Pratt Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

The name Benjamin Pratt refers to a series of children’s books written by Andrew Clements. The full title of the series is Benjamin Pratt and the Keepers of the School. That title is a far more accurate description of Andrew Clements’ series.

Order of Benjamin Pratt Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 We the Children ( By: Andrew Clements) 2010 Description / Buy
2 Fear Itself ( By: Andrew Clements) 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Whites of Their Eyes ( By: Andrew Clements) 2011 Description / Buy
4 In Harm's Way ( By: Andrew Clements) 2013 Description / Buy
5 We Hold These Truths ( By: Andrew Clements) 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

We the Children, the first book in the series, introduces readers to Benjamin Pratt. A bright but anxious boy, Benjamin hates change. If he had one flaw, that would be it. And while the idea of having an amusement park in the middle of town would excite any other child, Benjamin is too busy worrying about all the traffic that will likely ensue, not to mention the hike in Pizza prices.

Benjamin’s only escape from the stresses of life comes in the form of his school, an institution with a rich history and an amazing view. Benjamin loves his school and, as such, he is less than enthused when he learns that there are plans to sell and demolish the school in favor of installing more financially lucrative structures.

Benjamin Pratt thinks that all hope is lost and that he can do little more than watch as the foundations of the institution he so dearly loves are torn out of the earth. Then the school Janitor gets injured and before his departure, he gives Benjamin a coin that changes his entire view of the world.

It turns out that the school was built by a Revolutionary War figure called Captain Oakes. Oakes intended to see the school stay in place indefinitely. And to ensure its longevity, the Captain entrusted the institution into the keeping of a successive line of Janitors.

Mr. Keane, the current janitor, is well aware of the dangers facing the school. He knows that the amusement company in question used underhanded tricks to acquire possession of the school. But he is unable to do play his role as Keeper of the school.

So he enlists Benjamin in the battle against the amusement park company. For all his angst about the destruction of the school, it doesn’t take the protagonist long to realize that he cannot fight Mr. Keane’s battle on his own.

So he enlists the help of Jill, the smartest girl in school. As the new Keepers of the school, Jill and Ben spend the rest of the series investigating the mysteries of the school, using the clues Captain Oakes left behind to find those secrets that are essential to preventing the school’s demise.

A crucial enemy of Jill and Ben is Lyman, a new janitor who, unlike the janitors that came before, works for the Amusement Park Company and has been hired to stop Jill and Ben.

Benjamin Pratt Awards

The first book in the Benjamin Pratt series was nominated for a Great Stone Face Book Award (2011), a Nene Award (2012), a Louisiana Young Readers’ Choice Award (2013) and a Massachusetts Children’s Book Award (2013).

Best Benjamin Pratt Books

The Benjamin Pratt books are short mystery novels written with pre-teens in mind, though they are just as likely to appeal to adult audiences, with some of the best books in the series including:

The Whites of Their Eyes: Benjamin Pratt loves Oakes School. So he isn’t too pleased to learn of plans to demolish the institution and replace it with an amusement park. Of course, unlike most of the kids in his school, Ben has no intention of letting his school fall.

With his friend Jill, Ben is determined to take up the cause of their previous Janitor Mr. Keane and protect the Oakes School. But Ben’s every move is watched by Lyman, a new evil janitor who has been charged with stopping the school keepers.

But Lyman will find it hard to stop Ben and Jill now that that they have a secret weapon.

In Harm’s Way: Nothing will stop Benjamin Pratt, Jill and Robert from taking their school out of the clutches of a company determined to see it destroyed, or so they think. Just when Ben and crew begin to make headway in their mission, Lyman, the janitor and their biggest enemy, calls in reinforcements.

There are now two evil janitors walking the halls and Lyman’s new partner seems even worse than Lyman. Ben wants to believe that their secret fund of millions of dollars is enough to stop Lyman. But the janitors are far more tenacious than Ben and his friends realized.

Other Book Series you May Like

The “Welcome to Wonderland” series by Chris Grabenstein is another great read. P.T. Wilkie is an 11-year-old boy staying at the Wonderland Motel, the best motel in the world. Because the Wonderland Motel doesn’t have enough customers to stay in business, P.T. makes it his goal to improve the Motel’s prospects.

You may also enjoy the “Daniel Corrigan” Series by Matthew Cody. Daniel Corrigan is a 12-year-old kid who moves to a new town and learns that all his friends have superpowers.

What Is The Next Book in The Benjamin Pratt Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Benjamin Pratt Series. The newest book is We Hold These Truths and was released on November, 12th 2013.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *