Benny Imura Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Benny Imura is the lead character of the “Benny Imura” otherwise known as the “Rot and Ruin” series of novels by Jonathan Maberry. The first novel of the series was the 2010 published title “Rot & Ruin” a post zombie apocalypse novel that gained critical acclaim and much commercial success.

Get notified when Jonathan Maberry releases a new book at

Order of Benny Imura Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rot & Ruin ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2010 Description / Buy
2 In The Land Of The Dead (By: Jonathan Maberry) 2011 Description / Buy
3 Dust & Decay ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2011 Description / Buy
4 First Night Memories (By: Jonathan Maberry) 2012 Description / Buy
5 Flesh & Bone ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2012 Description / Buy
6 Fire & Ash ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2013 Description / Buy
7 Bits & Pieces ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Benny Imura Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Dead & Gone (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Tooth & Nail (Short Story) ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Benny Imura Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales of the Rot & Ruin ( By: Jonathan Maberry) 2012 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The “Benny Imura” series are set several years after a zombie outbreak at a time when most of the human population was decimated. The remaining populations are living in small encampments and barely making a living from the land. The events of the novels take place in the Sierra Nevada Mountains where zombies roam the mountains killing, maiming, and eating whoever they can find. Most of the settlements are fenced in to keep out the zombies, which means very little contact with the outside world or other enclaves. For many of the survivors, the enclave is the only thing they have left except for the younger members of the community that want more.

In “Rot & Ruin” the first novel of the series, Benny Imura is a teenager who lives in a post-apocalyptic United States that is infested by zombies. Just like every teenager in the US, Imura needs to find a job on his fifteenth birthday or get his rations halved. He is now deemed old enough to become apprentice zombie hunter to Tom his boring elder brother though if he had a choice he would never become one.

He gets into it expecting tedious days spent killing zombies for money only to find that it is vocation that teaches him the values of being human. “Rot & Ruin” is an evocative thriller of a novel that showcases the storytelling skills of Jonathan Maberry that won him Bram Stoker Award.


The “Benny Imura” series of novels have won several prestigious awards over the years. “Rot & Ruin” the first novel of the series won a Best Novel at the 2010 Bram Stoker Award, Best Young Adult Novel at the 2011 Bram Stoker for the novel Dust and Decay and a Bram Stoker in 2012 for Flesh & bone that won the Best Young Adult Novel Award.


The “Benny Imura” books are currently in development and are set to be made into a film.


Fire & Ash: The last novel of the Benny Imura series is one of the best novels of the series with one of the best story lines. Benny Imura and his friends have found a Sanctuary and a jet. However, they are not what the friends thought they would be. The soldiers that flew the craft are not experts but are rather bureaucrat that seem to have lost hope about the future of humanity and the Sanctuary is a hospice.

With one of his best friends clinging to life, Benny learns that a cure for the zombie plague may just have been discovered by an obscure scientist. The friends are now on the search for the cure but the reapers have also heard the news and are on the hunt too. But for the reapers their mission is to use the cure to rejuvenate the zombies making them into shock troops that would threaten the very existence of humanity.

Dust & Decay: The second novel of the series is set six months from the battle of “Rot & Ruin”. Nix Riley and Benny Imura had their lives change when they saw something bizarre in the air. They are now rigorously trained zombie hunters who are ready to leave the safety of the settlement to go find a better future for themselves. They are taking with them Lou Chong who is Benny’s best friend and the Lost Girl Lilah. Everything seems to be going according to plan until the well laid plans go wrong.

Bits & Pieces: The fifth novel of the series is another great novel that sees Benny Imura and Nix tell of their journey through Rot and Ruin, where they survive all manner of hardships. It is a great novel that shows the side of the characters that have not been so evident in previous novels.


Many fans of the “Benny Imura” series of novels love the “Newsflesh Trilogy” by Mira Grant. The novels are post-apocalyptic zombie thrillers that incorporates horror fiction with politics, betrayal, espionage, and medical science. Fans of the “Benny Imura” series also like the “Arisen” series of novels by Glynn James. The series of novels is about Fortress Britain, the last bastion of humanity left standing after the rest of the world was overtaken by a zombie apocalypse.

What Is The Next Book in The Benny Imura Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Benny Imura Series. The newest book is Bits & Pieces and was released on September, 12th 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *