Bishop / Special Crimes Unit Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Bishop/Special Crimes Unit is a series of paranormal mystery novels written by Kay Hooper. Kay Hooper started writing and publishing novels in the early 1980s.

Get notified when Kay Hooper releases a new book at

Order of Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stealing Shadows ( By: Kay Hooper) 2000 Description / Buy
2 Hiding in the Shadows ( By: Kay Hooper) 2000 Description / Buy
3 Out of the Shadows ( By: Kay Hooper) 2000 Description / Buy
4 Touching Evil ( By: Kay Hooper) 2001 Description / Buy
5 Whisper of Evil ( By: Kay Hooper) 2002 Description / Buy
6 Sense of Evil ( By: Kay Hooper) 2003 Description / Buy
7 Hunting Fear ( By: Kay Hooper) 2004 Description / Buy
8 Chill of Fear ( By: Kay Hooper) 2005 Description / Buy
9 Sleeping with Fear ( By: Kay Hooper) 2006 Description / Buy
10 Blood Dreams ( By: Kay Hooper) 2007 Description / Buy
11 Blood Sins ( By: Kay Hooper) 2008 Description / Buy
12 Blood Ties ( By: Kay Hooper) 2010 Description / Buy
13 Haven ( By: Kay Hooper) 2012 Description / Buy
14 Hostage ( By: Kay Hooper) 2013 Description / Buy
15 Haunted ( By: Kay Hooper) 2014 Description / Buy
16 Fear the Dark ( By: Kay Hooper) 2015 Description / Buy
17 Wait for Dark ( By: Kay Hooper) 2017 Description / Buy
18 Hold Back the Dark ( By: Kay Hooper) 2018 Description / Buy
19 Hidden Salem (By: Kay Hooper) 2020 Description / Buy
20 Curse of Salem (By: Kay Hooper) 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Bishop Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The First Prophet ( By: Kay Hooper) 2012 Description / Buy
2 A Deadly Web ( By: Kay Hooper) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Final Shadows ( By: Kay Hooper) 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in California in 1958 to an employee of the Air Force, Hooper was born on an Air Force base. Though, the family eventually moved to North Carolina. The author’s first book was The Lady Thief, published in 1981.

Hooper wrote numerous other novels following its release but it wasn’t until the year 2000 that she finally scored her first New York Times Bestseller with Stealing Shadows.

The first novel in the Bishop/Special Crimes Unit series, Stealing Shadows tells the story of Cassie Neil, a psychic who once helped the police in Los Angeles catch murderers.

Cassie was pretty good at her job. But then she made a mistake and an innocent life paid the deadly consequences. By the time Stealing Shadows starts, Cassie is living in a small town in North Carolina, having fled into self-imposed exile, determined to put her powers behind her.

Cassie is forced to confront her past when a killer descends upon her new home. Readers follow her around as she digs deep to find the courage necessary to face a demented killer despite the guilt that plagues her.

Like Cassie, Noah Bishop is a psychic. He can see things that other people can’t. Not only does he use these powers to stop bad guys but Bishop has created an entire unit of agents with special powers.

Their purpose in life is to investigate paranormal cases and, hopefully, keep innocent lives safe.

Each new novel takes readers to a small town that is under the thrall of a dangerous criminal, typically a serial killer. The Bishop/Special Crimes Unit books are primarily mysteries.

The characters at the center of each story, new and old, must investigate crime scenes, collect clues, interview suspects and unravel conspiracies in the hopes of finding whatever killer is haunting their small town.

Besides the killer, each new town is always accompanied by some sort of paranormal phenomena, typically a character with psychic powers that Noah Bishop and his agents must assist, protect or recruit.

The Bishop/Special Crimes Unit books can get pretty dark, especially when they delve into the minds of Kay Hooper’s disturbing killers and the creative approaches they take to committing murder.

That being said, romance is always an essential aspect of each novel.

Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Awards

Kay Hooper has won RT Reviewer’s Choice Awards for Stealing Shadows and Whisper of Evil.

Best Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Books

The Bishop/Special Crimes Unit books have a tendency to sideline Noah Bishop, their main character, in favor new characters, with some of the best books in the series including:

Hiding in the Shadows: Faith Parker was in an accident that put her in a coma. Doctors said she would never recover. But then she actually woke up. Now Faith must try and make sense of a life that she cannot remember.

This is in light of a strange mystery. Dinah Leighton is a journalist who visited Faith in the hospital every day when she was unconscious. But now Dinah has disappeared and Faith keeps having vivid dreams of a boyfriend people say she never had, not to mention visions of tortuous violence.

If Faith wants to make sense of her dreams and possibly even help the police find Dinah, she must learn to trust Noah Bishop, a man that sees things no one else can.

Out of the Shadows: Sheriff Miranda Knight came to Gladstone to find solace after her disastrous encounter with FBI agent Noah Bishop. She allowed Noah into her life, told him about her unique powers and things ended poorly.

Miranda was determined to keep Noah in her past. But then a killer came to Gladstone. Now Miranda must call upon Noah once more. Only with his help can she keep the people of Gladstone safe.

Other Book Series You May Like

Be sure to check out the “Clay Edison” Series by Jonathan and Jesse Kellerman. In this one, Clay Edison is Alameda County’s deputy sheriff. Clay works for the coroner’s office. His role involves visiting crime scenes, collecting evidence and, sometimes, visiting the family members of the deceased.

Chasing down bad guys and solving mysteries isn’t Clay’s responsibility, and yet unexpected circumstances keep dragging him out of his comfort zone.

Another great read is the “Aimee Leduc” Series by Cara Black. Aimee Leduc is a female private investigator of French descent. These books, which are grounded in historical reality, follow her exploits as she investigates crimes and mysteries situated in those lesser known areas of Paris.

What Is The Next Book in The Bishop/special Crimes Unit Series?

There doesn't seem to be an upcoming book in The Bishop/special Crimes Unit Series. The newest book is Curse of Salem and was released on April, 13th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *